We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bed & Breakfast in Breck”
Review of Abbett Placer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbett Placer Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Breckenridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were welcomed to this B&B at the start of our weeks vacation with friends.

We stayed at The Abbett Placer Inn for 3 nights and it was one of the best places we have stayed in. We are big travelers and have stayed in the world's worst and the world's best places, but this has to rate right up there, especially value for money.

With a free bus to the slopes, a two minute walk to the shops, bars and restaurants, choice of breakfasts in the morning, afternoon tea with homemade cakes and a hot tub on the deck this little B&B has all you require to relax and enjoy your stay in Breckenridge.

The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful to their guests and with the recent renovations and attention to detail they have a hidden gem by the ski slopes. We stayed in the Romantic Nook and although quite small compared to most rooms, it was big enough and very comfortable.

We will definitely be back should we choose to ski in Breck again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYCElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Abbett Placer Inn was the first bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in, and I am hooked! Emma and Niels were so incredible - they showed great attention to detail and concern for us getting to the airport on time with the crazy weather in Denver. They even made us a to-go breakfast the morning we left because we needed to be at the airport so early. We stayed in the Miners Shaft, which is a great and spacious room. They had a great breakfast spread - homemade bread each morning - pancakes, waffles, eggs, bacon, hash browns, fruit. Amazing. The best part after coming back from a long day of skiing was hot chocolate, tea, and cupcakes, gingerbread and carrot cake. I was worried about the hassle of getting to the slopes from the center of town, but the free Breckenridge busses came every twenty minutes right in front of the Inn, and even with all of the stops - Beaver Run was only a 10 minute drive so we were always at the mountain very quickly. We enjoyed our stay and meeting the other guests, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a last minute trip for a long weekend and discovered the Abbett Placer Inn through a recommendation from another BB already booked. Turned out to be one of the best B&B's we've stayed at over the years. They'e done quite a bit in renovations and upgrades, but I would still say the Inn is modest and comfortable, nothing too extravagant. In fact, I wouldn't necessarily rate the rooms as the best we've ever stayed in, but the Inn keepers and their attention to service was by far on the top of the list. Emma and Nils made us feel as though we were right at home with some of the best home cooked breakfast and afternoon deserts ever, combined with engaging and warm conversations throughout our stay. I would strongly recommend this location if you're looking for a comfortable and relaxing environment in a busy little ski town. For the money, the value we received far exceeded any other location in Breckenridge, and we've been going there for over 8 years now.

Room Tip: This is a B&B and no exercise facility (hardly need one with all the surrounding activity). No p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The inn is in a great location, with lovely hosts, and amazing breakfast each morning. The hot tub out back was also great at the end of a long day. Lots of good restaurants in the area and a free shuttle stop to the mountain out front.

The room was slightly small and had a detached bath so just make sure you get specifics when you book on what type/ size you want. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abmeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a great B&B. Every breakfast was amazing and afternoon tea everyday put it over the top. Emma and Niels were very helpful with advice and suggestions for dinners, activities around town and skiing. They even added a personalized touch to our stay by offering food options they realized we liked. We recommend the Abbett Placer to everyone visiting Breckenridge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Miner's Shaft Suite, which wasn't out first choice, but we were pleasantly surprised. Lots of space, comfy king bed and a fireplace made it a comfortable stay. We liked the privacy of the downstairs suite and the private hot tub access. Our only complaints were that there was no view downstairs (obviously - this was no surprise) and the shower is very small.

No detail has been overlooked at the Inn: water pressure is good, blow dryer works great and the toilet paper is even soft! There's even a big basket of extras, including granola bars, toiletries, and a variety of other things

Emma's afternoon tea was the best, and we appreciated the recommendations from Emma and Niels- they really recommended great places downtown for our own personal preferences.

I found the food to be fantastic. I have to eat low-fat and I didn't find it all too difficult to do with Emma's breakfasts, although the cake and sweets in the afternoon were hard to resist! I really appreciated the big bowl of fresh fruit in the morning- delicious! I also drink tons of water and was pleasantly surprised that there is always an ice-cold pitcher of water out. Even the tap water tasted great!

The bus stop directly outside the Inn was great, too. We took the free bus twice to the slopes and it was an easy, quick trip both directions. (Times can be unreliable, so I suggest taking an earlier bus if you're in a hurry- we waited 15-20 minutes once after a bus didn't show up, but that's the most you'll have to wait, as they run every 20 mins.)

Overall, Abbett Placer Inn is a great place and we'll stay again if we make it back to Breckenridge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms over christmas vacation. The house was very clean and comfortable. Neils and Emma are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were amazing. Emma's baking is not to missed. Our favorite part was coming back from skiing or dinner and having hot tea and one of Emma's delicious baked treats. I ate and enjoyed and did not even gain a pound thanks to the daily physical activity. With 5 guests bedrooms the house is very quiet. We also loved meeting Jade their new puppy. When we return to Breckinridge we will not hesitate to stay here again. Great location, so close to tone and shuttle stops.

Room Tip: Bring a light up clock for your bedroom. Also don't forget a swimsuit for hot tub and slippers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank money4mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbett Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbett Placer Inn

Address: 205 S. French St, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Breckenridge
Price Range: $69 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy restored 1897 Victorian B&B located in the heart of Breckenridge, on a quiet street within easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants. All guest rooms have private baths and cable TV. Free wireless internet access and a guest computer, big screen TV and indoor hot tub are just a few of the amenities. We provide a delicious homemade full breakfast and afternoon tea. Free ski area shuttle stops outside the door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing