We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Stay and Great Location”
Review of Abbett Placer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbett Placer Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Breckenridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy Stay and Great Location”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Miner's Shaft Suite, which wasn't out first choice, but we were pleasantly surprised. Lots of space, comfy king bed and a fireplace made it a comfortable stay. We liked the privacy of the downstairs suite and the private hot tub access. Our only complaints were that there was no view downstairs (obviously - this was no surprise) and the shower is very small.

No detail has been overlooked at the Inn: water pressure is good, blow dryer works great and the toilet paper is even soft! There's even a big basket of extras, including granola bars, toiletries, and a variety of other things

Emma's afternoon tea was the best, and we appreciated the recommendations from Emma and Niels- they really recommended great places downtown for our own personal preferences.

I found the food to be fantastic. I have to eat low-fat and I didn't find it all too difficult to do with Emma's breakfasts, although the cake and sweets in the afternoon were hard to resist! I really appreciated the big bowl of fresh fruit in the morning- delicious! I also drink tons of water and was pleasantly surprised that there is always an ice-cold pitcher of water out. Even the tap water tasted great!

The bus stop directly outside the Inn was great, too. We took the free bus twice to the slopes and it was an easy, quick trip both directions. (Times can be unreliable, so I suggest taking an earlier bus if you're in a hurry- we waited 15-20 minutes once after a bus didn't show up, but that's the most you'll have to wait, as they run every 20 mins.)

Overall, Abbett Placer Inn is a great place and we'll stay again if we make it back to Breckenridge!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    23
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
128
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms over christmas vacation. The house was very clean and comfortable. Neils and Emma are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were amazing. Emma's baking is not to missed. Our favorite part was coming back from skiing or dinner and having hot tea and one of Emma's delicious baked treats. I ate and enjoyed and did not even gain a pound thanks to the daily physical activity. With 5 guests bedrooms the house is very quiet. We also loved meeting Jade their new puppy. When we return to Breckinridge we will not hesitate to stay here again. Great location, so close to tone and shuttle stops.

Room Tip: Bring a light up clock for your bedroom. Also don't forget a swimsuit for hot tub and slippers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank money4mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I have no stayed there twice - once in the summer and once in the winter (on our anniversary). We've stayed int he "romantic nook" both times and its such a sweet room. Everything is so clean and quaint, offering us white robes, and slippers too!

They're a great location just outside the door you can pick up the shuttle to the chair lifts, or in the summer you can walk out the door and they're close to hikes. Just 2 short blocks off main street.

The breakfast in the morning was great! They always have 2 choices and are accommodating for vegetarians. Tea time was perfect last time before we got in their hottub to relax with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Emma and nielse were so nice and helpful. The rooms are so cute and welcoming. When I arrived late at night, there was cookies and tea waiting. In the morning I was greeted by the sweetest breakfast.
Hospitality is a given at this wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eitan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sure there are rules but you tell this couple have given a lot of thought to how to make your stay a good one. Eight of us are staying here and occupy the whole house. No drama! Everyone gets there own space with a great common area. Breakfasts are gourmet - I should know owning two restaurants. Seriously good food. Everything is clean. Thanks to the owners for doing it right. I recommend this property for a real bed and breakfast stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in tow and B&Bs on our trip to Colorado and this place blew the other out of the water. Small, perfectly formed and extremely professional. We'd only been there for a couple of hours and we were considering booking for our skiing trip next year.

Room Tip: The Nesting room has a private but separate bathroom. No major problem, but takes a bit of getting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in early June....weather was spectacular in this area during the whole time. Abbett Placer Inn was a great place to locate for two evenings...stayed in the Miner's Shaft and pretty well had the whole lower(est) level to ourselves - nice privacy - although I suspect it their was an active group staying it may get a bit noisy with the breakfast/common area right above. Neils and Emma were very accommodating during our stay - we didn't mind the "remove the shoes" issue, which, in my mind, speaks to the overall cleanliness of the place. We didn't take advantage of the hot tub, but the area where it was located looked well maintained. As for breakfast, we stuck to the bacon and eggs....our comfort foods...the alternate selections sounded good as well....

Room Tip: Liked the Miners Shaft due to privacy and ease of access to back balcony...didn't get a chance t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnMewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.5 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbett Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbett Placer Inn

Property: Abbett Placer Inn
Address: 205 S. French St, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy restored 1897 Victorian B&B located in the heart of Breckenridge, on a quiet street within easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants. All guest rooms have private baths and cable TV. Free wireless internet access and a guest computer, big screen TV and indoor hot tub are just a few of the amenities. We provide a delicious homemade full breakfast and afternoon tea. Free ski area shuttle stops outside the door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing