We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, be careful to get the right unit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Range View Rentals at Tannhauser
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice location, be careful to get the right unit”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

The location is perfect and the view was pretty nice even though we were on the 1st floor so we didn't want to open the blinds too much at night as there is a lot of foot traffic and other guests parking their cars.

It appears as though the units are in very different condition as they are privately owned so it's a good idea to see the unit you will rent before committing. In our case we did not and the unit (#112) was pretty outdated, the carpet was shabby, the furniture not great, and the kitchen about 10 years past needing a total gut job. to make matters worse the utensils were dirty, and many of the pots nd pans were old , rusty of too beat up to want to actually use. There was only 1 TV and it was a very small dinky one. In fact the unit did not seem to resemble the website photos as all, condition wise. .

On the positive side, the staff seemed pleasant, and again the location is great. to me it did not seem that cheap but it was Christmas week

My advise would be to drive there if your are n the CO. area, (I am not) before committing a week to it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition of unit
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mideast U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

When you book your room it is very much worth your while to ask if you are in Tannhauser I or Tannhauswer II. They are the same property but appear to have orginally been different properties that are now combined. Both share the same hot tubs and check-in office which is fine.

The one bedroom (plus pull-out) unit we rented in Tannhauser II was VERY dated. This place was old and worn-out. BUT, it did have the minimum you needed to keep you warm, dry and fed. And considering we rented in peak holiday season the price wasn't bad and the location is GREAT.

We'd pass the Tannhauswer I units on the way to the hot tubs and they looked to be a bit more modern than the backlot Tann II properties.

I'd still stay in either again if you check prices and find this to still be a better deal than other locations. Next time I'll request the Tann I property to compare. Daily cleaning not provied (wasn't a problem, but worth noting).

Office staff was friendly and accomodating to varying check-out times and luggage storage requests. Office has shower and changing area so you can clean-up after your last day on the slopes if you are checked out of your unit.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — it showed its age
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kitertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights 1st week of Jan, Ex value for money,
and a great location for the Peak nine lift, 5 min walk.

The staff were helpful, and informative. (what a change from the UK)

We will stay here again for sure. All the restaurants are near by (Ridge street for the best meals, NOT MAIN STREET)

  • Liked — Location, and value for money
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheNobsterSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, OK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Tannhauser is in THE perfect location. It would be difficult to find a better one. It is situated so that it is a very easy and short stroll to the lifts but is also right at the mouth of mainstreet. That means you can easily walk to all the best resteraunts and shops from your front door. No fussing with shuttles and such.

It is not the nicest place to stay, but it is still very good, and the location makes up for whatever it may lack in glitz. The accomodations are very cozy though.

During my 5-day stay, I never once had to ride a shuttle or drive anywhere after arriving (except for an emergency trip to the eye doctor in neighboring Frisco, but that's another story...). All the best resteraunts and shops are easily accessed simply by walking out your front door. The Peak 8 (I believe it was) lifts are a very short walk away and if you rent your skis at the shop inside the ski area, you won't have to carry your skis at all, making the stroll from Tannhauser to the lifts all the easier.

In short, I loved Tannhauser and plan to go back again.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Punchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 21, 2005

Great value for your money. The rooms are very basic and can be a little loud if on the first floor. Overall, it is a great place to stay. The location is perfect. Lifts, groceries, bars, dining, all within half a block. Staff was very laid back and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2005

Tannhauser has great location, about 2 minute walk from The Maggie (Peak 9). The condos are spacious, and are located right on Main Street, really close to shops and restaurants.
However, don't expect to get a whole lot more as far as service goes. The staff was rude when we asked for clean towels, they said "We can't give you clean towels, what did you do, drop them on the floor?". Well, as it happens when you go to the hot tub clorine gets on the towels. At any rate, the kitchen is somewhat decent, a lot of appliances are missing. So if you plan to cook, do not rely solely on what they offer.
It does have outstanding location though.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangeviewrentals, Owner at Range View Rentals at Tannhauser, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
these reviews are no longer indicative of Tannhauser. Range View Rentals has taken over the management and you won't find a more dedicated / caring staff for your stay in Breckenridge. Not only is the location of Tannhauser Condominiums the best location in town, the staff is working hard to get this property up to the standard it should be for this prime location. Already, you will see a difference in how clean the property is, the flowers planted, and new linens that are now in for all future reservations. The new staff is dedicated to fulfilling the expectations of all guests and there to listen to your needs. So give Range View Rentals a new look and you will find your expectations fulfilled. Looking forward to your visit. Book now!!!! We are still affordable :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2004

Skiied the 1st week of February at Breckinridge and stayed at Tannhauser Condominiums. They are located on Main St in Breck and convenient to everything. They are located about 1.5 blocks from the base of peak 9, 1 block from a grocery store and easy walking distance to several shops and restaurants. The condo was very comfortable and the staff at Tannhauser was great!! I plan on going back next year as the skiing and town were awesome.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.1 mi away
Park Avenue Lofts
Park Avenue Lofts
#28 of 68 in Breckenridge
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Junction
Main Street Junction
#27 of 68 in Breckenridge
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Breckenridge Place
One Breckenridge Place
#21 of 68 in Breckenridge
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cimarron Condominiums
Cimarron Condominiums
#42 of 68 in Breckenridge
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Range View Rentals at Tannhauser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Range View Rentals at Tannhauser

Property: Range View Rentals at Tannhauser
Address: 420 South Main Street, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Tannhauser Condominium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:2 star — Range View Rentals at Tannhauser 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Range View Rentals offers 20 units centrally located in Downtown Breckenridge Colorado mostly located in the Tannhauser I building. We are within walking distance to the quicksilver lift on Peak 9, 1 block away from a grocery store, post office and liquor store. Many of our units are pet friendly making the dog park 2 blocks up from Tannhauser a wonderful convenience. Our units offer a full kitchen, gas fireplace, cable, free wifi, and the best view in town of the 10-mile range. Walk to almost any restaurant in Downtown Breckenridge and enjoy the best shopping right out your front door. We at Range View Rentals look forward to helping you have the best vacation possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Range View Rentals at Tannhauser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tannhauser Condominium Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing