We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer or Winter Cozy Delights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Summer or Winter Cozy Delights”
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I wish we could have stayed longer! On our summer trip through the Rockie Mountains we spent one delightful night in Breckenridge at Mountain Thunder Lodge. The lodge is everything you would expect to find in the mountains. The rooms were cozy and well-equiped. Everything was clean and the bathrooms were absolutely huge!! plenty of room for all of us. The staff was very helpful and welcoming to their small town. This is not a large town so getting around from the lodge is easy. It was summer so our time was spent at the Alpine Slide. I could see ski runs but am not sure what the access is for winter from the lodge. I cannot wait to return for another mountain visit.

  • Liked — Size and value of the rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
315
175
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2006

We stayed in a one bedroom condo for 6 nights at Mountain Thunder Lodge and had a fantastic stay. The Lodge is centrally located and super clean. Daily maid service was a huge plus! The view from our balcony was very nice, and the fireplace was a nice touch. There's a gondola being constructed across the street which will make the Lodge ever better! We skiied right into the side of the Lodge which was excellent! Reception was warm and very friendly...The underground parking was super convenient. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We stayed here for 5 days over Thanksgiving and we loved it! We have a 2 bedroom condo with 2 teens and we had ample space. The condo was really lovely with great views. The staff was terrific, beds were very comfortable and we were well taken care of during our stay. The location is perfect and it is extremely convenient to everything you will need during your stay!

  • Liked — Comfortable condo and location
  • Disliked — nothing...it was terrific!
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy this friendly town!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ECanitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

We stayed at the Mountain Thunder in September for a business retreat. We stayed in a two-room condo, and were generally happy with the accomodations and layout. Very spacious and comfortable with nice design touches. The entire resort is very nice and cozy and on the higher end.

I don't think there is a restaurant here, however, and there is no room service available. It is close enough to walk (10 minutes) to downtown Breckenridge, and they do have a number of constant van shuttles that will take you anywhere in town you want to go without charge. Its location is, depending on what you want, probably the only downside. It's not quite close enough for some to the restaurants, and it's not slopeside either. But that makes it a little quieter probably, and it is certainly only a couple minutes drive to town or the mountain. The walls are also surprisingly thin.

Overall, it's comfortable and well-appointed. I don't know what the prices would be in high season, but as long as they're competitive this place would be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EveAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Great place. This is a new condo/hotel, so you are staying in someones ski condo. We stayed in a one bedroom on the ground floor 5105, right in front of the pool. The condo was great, gas fireplace, coat rack, patio and kitchen. Easy walk to the slopes, dining, shopping, bus. The City Market is less than a mile away if you need anything. Parking was great as we had a blizzard while we were there, so the underground covered parking was nice. Staff was awesome, they helped us get to Denver another way, while I-70 was closed down.

My only complaint would be not enough closet or drawer space to unpack for even two people. We only stayed two nights, so we didn't unpack, but if we had stayed longer, it would of been a problem.

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Liked — Location, Employee Service, Parking
  • Disliked — Drawer and closet space
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doggiebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We spent 3 nights in a one bedroom condo at Mountain Thunder Lodge in early October, 2006. The condo was very nice, clean, new and well laid out. We especially liked having a lobby and bell desk with an attendant who was friendly, helpful and interested in our having a good time. She made terrific recommendations for restaurants and activities and was interested in giving us just as much information as we wanted. The room was quiet, even though we had neighbors on all sides, with great views of the mountains, hiking opportunities in the immediate area and a very large corner balcony.

The parking was easy and underground. Service was uniformly excellent. We will definitely go back to Mountain Thunder Lodge again.

  • Liked — The ambience and nice new accommodations that met every need.
  • Disliked — only one elevator in our end of the building - wasn't a problem for us at all and the lodge was pretty full, but we wondered if that would be an issue during ski season
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a great time! Talk to Mary at the front desk for lots of really helpful information and positive attitude.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We recently stayed at MTL with our father that was visiting from out of state and we had a wonderful experience. The first night we stayed there, we were hearing a lot of the construction noise from across the street, so the next morning we inquired about moving to another room. Not only did Mary at the front desk immediately give us two other possible rooms to move to, but she apologized and in no way made us feel bad about our request. The room we chose was beautiful, on the top floor, with a great view of the mountains and far away from any noise. When I mentioned to Mary that we were in Breckenridge to go fishing and it was a shame that the weather was bad, she immediately offered us a late check out the next day because the weather was suppose to be better. This was by far the best experience that we've had in all of our travels and we highly recommend Mountain Thunder Lodge.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing