We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The property really was nice for us as its our first time in a ski lodge. The staff was friendly, and very accommodating to our needs. Shuttle service was prompt and convenient. I have a 9 year old son so we would have liked to see a game room for a place for kids to meet other kids, and play when its too cold to do stuff outside. Also, an on-site cafe or small restaurant was also missed. The kitchen was great size, and the 2 bedroom size was big for 4 adults and one child. The location to main street was great but in hindsight I would have preferred to stay at the peak of a mountain to avoid using the gondola and all the walking in ski boots since it was our first time. If we head back to the area, we would not stay so close to main street and instead stay at a resort with more amenities and easy access to the lift. Overall, the experience was a positive one due to the excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lcozzi714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We rent a house in Breckenridge every summer and generally go out a day or two prior to our kids and grandchildren coming. We always stay at Mountain Thunder and ALWAYS have a wonderful time. The property is expertly maintained and while about ten years old now, still gleams like new. Last year we had our two granddaughters with us and rented the two bedroom suite, which was amazing and unbelievably comfortable. They have free movies to borrow, free underground parking (important in an area with extreme snowfall in the winter and frequent hail in the summer). The staff is wonderful and efficient. The architecture is definitely high country chic.
It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and I feel it is a fair trade. I recommend asking for a room on the backside of the main lodge, as sometimes the front gets a little noisy in the summer, what with the circular driveway, and check in/checkout being right beside or below - and trying to enjoy the pine air with doors and windows open.
They also have private homes for rent on the property which look very nice, but we have not stayed there. Enjoy - you can't go wrong with this winning resort!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the main lodge are quiet and have a great view of pine trees, as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

From the pictures, this place looks really beautiful, especially on the outside, and indeed it is beautiful on the OUTSIDE, but that's where the beauty ends! This place is in need of a MAJOR remodel! Admittedly we are used to staying at 5 star resorts and beautiful hotels, but we were not expecting anything lavish; however, I did think the condo would not be seriously in need of upgrading. The bedspread in the bedroom was so old and gross it made me sick to look at it. The carpet was so old and dirty, the furniture seriously worn, the blankets were so over used, old, and falling apart, and seriously these were the MOST uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on in my life! The entire place just felt "dirty" because it was so outdated. Housekeeping was a joke, they would make the beds and put dishes in the dishwasher and provide towels, but not much else. They never vacuumed or cleaned the kitchen table or counter or inside of the microwave. One day they folded our dirty towels which were on the floor (I had removed my makeup with one the night before and left it on the floor in the bathroom) and they just folded it and put the dirty towel back on the towel rack!

The positives: the unit did have a full kitchen which was nicely stocked, it also had a gas fireplace which really heated up the room quickly, and a large balcony with 2 chairs. The size of the room was comfortable, and the hotel staff and management were very responsive to our requests. The shuttle service was excellent. A call down to the front desk and the shuttle would be ready to take us anywhere we needed to go, and after a night out, we could call and request shuttle service to return to the hotel. The gondola was just across the street, and you could take a shuttle there, but we always had to walk back at the end of a long day skiing, in our ski boots, and next time we decided we would much rather be in a location that was ski in and ski out. You could ski in here, but not out.

Given the current conditions, I would not return to this place or recommend it to family or friends; however, if they completed a major renovation, I would reconsider returning because the price is considerably lower than much nicer, more convenient properties at the base of the peaks such as One Ski Place or Crystal Peak.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent four days at Mountain Thunder Lodge during Thanksgiving, 2013. We rented three condos - a two-bedroom for our son and his family, a two bedroom for our daughter and her family, and a one bedroom for my husband and me. Each condo was spacious, clean, and and well kept and we were so fortunate that we were at the end of a hall, so it was like we had our own house, only with separate quarters for each of us. The lodge is very conveniently located to downtown Breckenridge and there is easy access to the slopes via the gondola. Although there was not a lot of snow, there was enough for us to enjoy and there is no shortage of great restaurants. The shuttle was perfect for us - no worries about loading up in the cars to go out to eat or finding a place to park. All the employees we encountered at Mountain Thunder were helpful and courteous. All in all - we had no problems and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJS240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in a 1 BR condo at Mountain Thunder and it was very comfortable, the kitchen was adequately stocked for the cooking that we did (2 breakfasts, 1 dinner). The bed was very comfortable. We were there in early December and the snow wasn't great yet, so it wasn't packed so parking was easy in the heated underground parking garage, and when we used the hot tub at night, there was no one else around! The changing rooms right by the hot tub is heated, so you don't have to freeze walking back to your condo.
This property is right over the road from the gondola, so super easy ski access, and one block from Main St for shopping dining, what have you.
My one piddly gripe, and it is super piddly, is the towels are quite small (bath and pool) and the bathroom is pretty cold when you get in and out of the shower. Again, such a small complaint, but there you go...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishDoc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Grew up in CO and brought family back from WA state for their 1rst ski trip in the Rockies. Decided on Breck as I had not been there since the 80's. Loved it! Decided on Mountain Thunder as it had great location and condo style rooms. Staff was the best. Really made us all feel like special guests. Lodge unit was perfect and a real short walk to gondola was great way to start the day. Easy walk in to town to grab some food. Shuttle service was nice to have also. After having such a great experience, takes away the having to decide where to stay in Breck our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Title says it all. Great location. Easy walk to Gondola and town but far enough away to be quiet and very peaceful. Were able to ski down four o'clock slope to the unit. Shuttle service is great and staff at the main lodge were very helpful and friendly. Stayed in a 2 BR/2Bath TH upper floor. Units are built well and good design. The unit we stayed in was lacking in a few minor areas for comfort but would stay here again but in a different unit. In my opinion, this really is the best location in Breck.

Room Tip: Stayed in a 2 BR/2Bath upper level townhouse so did not have anyone above us and cathedral ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvlabs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $202 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing