We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed one night in a deluxe one bedroom condo. Check-in was smooth, with garage parking in the basement. Our room was huge, with full kitchen, big living room, big bedroom and huge bathroom, with lovely deck over-looking mountains and trees. The room was spotless, well decorated, and well cared for. Granite, tile stone and quality carpet everywhere. We paid $215 and it was a great bargain. We hated to leave it was so nice.

007

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, comfy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KCJamesBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2008

The Montain Thunder Lodge is in a great location for the Gondola which leaves you at Peak 8. It is only a 5 minute stroll from hotel.
We had a studio room which worked well for us (two adults and six year old). There was a lovely fire place, balcony and kitchen. Being a studio meant pulling out the bed each night which was no problem at all as it was ready made anyway. The rooms and bathroom were spotless.
Only minor complaint would be that there is no on-site breakfast facility .
There is a hotel shuttle available to take you into town but we preferred the walk. It is less than 10minutes walk to Main Street so the only time we used the hotel shuttle was when we picked up our skis and boots in the town. The ski rental shop called the hotel and the shuttle came to pick us up - no problems.
The staff at reception were very helpful and the house keeping staff were excellent.

  • Liked — Ideal location for getting to ski slopes quickly.
  • Disliked — No breakfast room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkigirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We (husband, wife, two 7-year-olds) stayed in a one-bedroom in the main building. Kitchen had everything we needed. Gas fireplace nice touch. Walk right across side street for outdoor heated pool with two hottubs and bathrooms (1 minute walk). Great front desk service. Super free shuttle service anywhere in town (though tips are invited). Great location - ski in, and a five-minute walk to the Gondola to reach the lifts. Very roomy room. Mattress on queen pull-out sofa and king bed in bedroom could be upgraded, but otherwise - top notch, clean and great for families. Front of building one (we had a balcony) was a little noisy - would recommend higher floor or view of back of building for quieter stay.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SkierMomArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

VERY convenient to town and to the gondola, and nice, upscale lobby and rooms. Scenic view of mountains & forest from our windows. However, I had one of the worse nights sleep of my life the first night: a painfully hard foam mattress and pillows like rocks (and I'm not a picky mattress person). The very helpful and friendly front desk staff was able to change us to another 1-bedroom unit which had "upgraded" mattresses -- and it was dramatically better. It's really crazy for such an upscale place to have any units with such bad mattresses. If they work on the mattresses, pillows and throw in nicer linens, it would be hard to beat this place for a terrific and well-located ski trip. Make sure you have breakfast one day at the Daylight Donut shop near the gondola.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WAStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
264 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We spent 4 nights at this beautiful lodge in Breckenridge. The pictures on their website are very accurate. The one-bedroom condo was clean, updated and big. It had a fireplace, full kitchen & balcony. The staff was friendly & helpful and the free shuttle service was very convenient. The only downside was the mattress; it could've been a little softer. We're planning on returning this summer for another long weekend and will definitely stay at Mountain Thunder.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank mjpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

MTL was a solid hotel, above avg but not spectacular. There's a lot to like, but still lacked a little. Some examples:

> The location off the Skiway trail was great, but it's not ski out, which didn't compare to the price we paid per night.
> And yet, vans were nearby every morning to drive you to the base lift of your choice, which was a plus.
> The room was good, but like I've read elsewhere, the bed was a stiff foam mattress cover - odd.
> Hot Tub/Heated Pool was good, but the towels they offered weren't big enough to cover an 8 year old, let alone a grown up. Not good when you're stepping out into 10 degree weather.

So like I said, there's a lot of "yeah, but" to this hotel. It's run like a slightly upscale version of the Village @ Breck, which considering Breck owns both, is an apt description.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glegly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
419 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I just can't say enough about this place!!!! We have been staying here on our last three trips to Breck. Summer and winter, does not make a difference. Service is outstanding!!! The group that runs this place is mature and professional. The room service is exceptional. Our room has the most exceptional view in Breck, however any room there is great! Shuttle is great, when you just don't want to try to find parking place downtown at night and of course they take you to all of the slopes. Our condo was beautiful and we ask for it every year!!!!

  • Liked — Just great!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimietoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing