We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOVED this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review of Mountain Thunder Lodge after I had such an amazing experience there last September. I booked my family last minute for 3 nights. i wasn't sure what to expect. From the moment we drove up, we were in awe. The staff and property is breath taking. We had a 2 bedroom that was huge, clean and comfortable. I have traveled many places, but this was by far the best. I will be returning very soon. HIGHLY recommend. You can't beat the location. It's just a short walk into town. My husband found the best Cigar and novelties shop right down the street called Slopeside Cigars. We bought back some of the most unique gifts and my husband enjoyed fresh Cigars on our patio in the evening. Great place!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinmom717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this place because of high reviews and it didn't disappoint. It is the perfect location if you want easy access to gondola AND Main Street. The shuttle service picked us up within minutes and were always very friendly. We stayed in the townhomes which were great accommodations. Only disappointment was that our view could have been better- it was mostly of the other townhomes and garage. I would definitely read up on altitude sickness before you go to Breckenridge. We had 4 adults and 3 kids and all of us experienced trouble sleeping, headaches and queasiness. 2 of our kids were severely ill for most of the trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreamW3370ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a one bedroom suite. Booking was easy and very helpful. They got me my rental car and lift tickets as well. When we arrived early, they were able to accommodate us immediately and we got in a full day on the slopes. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. On site staff provided excellent service. We would book here again! Two small problems, the rooms are hot with no ability to control temperature except to open window. The sofa bed was un-sleepable. They were able to give us an extra mattress.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saratoga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Awesome. Large apartment-style rooms. Full kitchen with all cooking equipment. Free use of communal washers/dryers. Convenient location close to town and BreckConnect gondola. No A/C which shouldn’t usually be an issue, but we happened to visit during record-breaking high temperatures (in June). Only a short walk to the centre of town. One downside is that there is a mandatory resort fee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Mountain Thunder Lodge in February 2013. We had a one bedroom condo right at the base of Peak 8. From the moment we checked in, the service and quality surpassed our expectations. The room itself was spacious, modern, cozy and clean. The bathroom was huge and the kitchen, living room and fireplace felt very cozy and the decor fit the mountain theme perfectly. We had a fantastic view of the mountain and we were put in a corner unit, giving us a wrap around balcony that gave us great views in two directions.

We used the hot tub each day after skiing and they were great! The hot tub closest to the main lodge reception desk was hardly in use and much of the time we had it to ourselves. One of the best features of this resort is the shuttle transportation. You never had to wait for a shuttle and they were available 24/7. We used them to get to the gondola, to the village and restaurants. So convenient and the drivers very nice. We also had underground heated parking which was a plus.

I can't say enough about the staff and the conditions of the resort. I had somewhat high expectations given some disappointment we experienced at a different ski resort last year and this place exceeded my hopes. The price was very competitive and to ski in right to our condo was really nice at the end of the day. Note that from our location it is not a ski out. You do need to shuttle to one of the lifts or gondola to get started. However, the ski in made the final run of the day very convenient and relaxing. We came back to the condo for lunch on both days and enjoyed snacks and wine by the fire. The shuttles were so quick, we were back on the slopes in no time.

You can easily walk to town (maybe 2-3 blocks) and everything is very accessible. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family and will stay here again if we return to Breckenridge for another ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lodge is located in center of Breck attractions, town/skiing. Room was as advertised and looked like reviewer added pics. Bring your swimming duds. The novelty of swimming and hot tub in the steam and snow is worth it! We didn't have any trouble with either. The heated covered parking is a nice touch. Free internet. Breck connect gondola is within walking distance. Parking at Breck connect is $12, so you may want to consider the shuttle if you have a problem with parking cost or walkig with ski boots .Get to goldola early as long lines form in late morning. Lodge reviews say town is within walking distance but I don't know if I'd want to do it in cold/snow, safety concern. We were able to find parking behind the shops on holiday weekend. Back to the lodge, complete kitchen with pots/pans, coffee maker, micro etc..fireplace with auto ignite and timmer. Bath is suffiecient but not elaborate. No lounge/resturant on site. Not a problem as town is only a minute away. Grocery is very close. Very easy to get to from DIA 70 west to 9 south..that's it!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulfport ms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location was fantastic! We had a rental car and chose to drive to many downtown attractions but could have easily walked. The 1BR condo was spacious enough for our family of 4. The in-room fireplace made each night and morning feel like a special event. The easy access to the Gondola saved us the hassle of taking a shuttle or paying for parking. The pool and hot tubs were easy to access and a welcome amenity at the end of the day.
The front desk staff was friendly and always willing to answer all questions with a knowledgable smile. Jonathan Fillman, general manager, and Bill, nightly housekeeping, were very professional and responsive.
The only downside was that the daily housekeeping service was extremely lacking, failing to provide replacement toiletries, towels and even toilet paper on a daily basis. However, the staff was responsive to our needs each day and prompt in providing replacments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing