We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Skiway Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgewood Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Hotel(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Timber Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
513
137
32
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
137
32
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condoshuttle servicemain streetthe kitchenin townhot tubend of the daygreat place to stayfree shuttlegrocery storeunderground parkinggas fireplacecar garagedaily housekeepingperfect locationfront desk staffski trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 719 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Mountain Thunder Lodge in February 2013. We had a one bedroom condo right at the base of Peak 8. From the moment we checked in, the service and quality surpassed our expectations. The room itself was spacious, modern, cozy and clean. The bathroom was huge and the kitchen, living room and fireplace felt very cozy and the decor fit the mountain theme perfectly. We had a fantastic view of the mountain and we were put in a corner unit, giving us a wrap around balcony that gave us great views in two directions.

We used the hot tub each day after skiing and they were great! The hot tub closest to the main lodge reception desk was hardly in use and much of the time we had it to ourselves. One of the best features of this resort is the shuttle transportation. You never had to wait for a shuttle and they were available 24/7. We used them to get to the gondola, to the village and restaurants. So convenient and the drivers very nice. We also had underground heated parking which was a plus.

I can't say enough about the staff and the conditions of the resort. I had somewhat high expectations given some disappointment we experienced at a different ski resort last year and this place exceeded my hopes. The price was very competitive and to ski in right to our condo was really nice at the end of the day. Note that from our location it is not a ski out. You do need to shuttle to one of the lifts or gondola to get started. However, the ski in made the final run of the day very convenient and relaxing. We came back to the condo for lunch on both days and enjoyed snacks and wine by the fire. The shuttles were so quick, we were back on the slopes in no time.

You can easily walk to town (maybe 2-3 blocks) and everything is very accessible. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family and will stay here again if we return to Breckenridge for another ski trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lodge is located in center of Breck attractions, town/skiing. Room was as advertised and looked like reviewer added pics. Bring your swimming duds. The novelty of swimming and hot tub in the steam and snow is worth it! We didn't have any trouble with either. The heated covered parking is a nice touch. Free internet. Breck connect gondola is within walking distance. Parking at Breck connect is $12, so you may want to consider the shuttle if you have a problem with parking cost or walkig with ski boots .Get to goldola early as long lines form in late morning. Lodge reviews say town is within walking distance but I don't know if I'd want to do it in cold/snow, safety concern. We were able to find parking behind the shops on holiday weekend. Back to the lodge, complete kitchen with pots/pans, coffee maker, micro etc..fireplace with auto ignite and timmer. Bath is suffiecient but not elaborate. No lounge/resturant on site. Not a problem as town is only a minute away. Grocery is very close. Very easy to get to from DIA 70 west to 9 south..that's it!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location was fantastic! We had a rental car and chose to drive to many downtown attractions but could have easily walked. The 1BR condo was spacious enough for our family of 4. The in-room fireplace made each night and morning feel like a special event. The easy access to the Gondola saved us the hassle of taking a shuttle or paying for parking. The pool and hot tubs were easy to access and a welcome amenity at the end of the day.
The front desk staff was friendly and always willing to answer all questions with a knowledgable smile. Jonathan Fillman, general manager, and Bill, nightly housekeeping, were very professional and responsive.
The only downside was that the daily housekeeping service was extremely lacking, failing to provide replacement toiletries, towels and even toilet paper on a daily basis. However, the staff was responsive to our needs each day and prompt in providing replacments.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. The room, 1BR condo, was spacious, clean, and well equipped (comfy beds with nice linens, everything you need to cook meals or keep/heat up leftovers, watch movies [2 40" LCD TVs], and enjoy an evening in). Very easy access to the Gondola with access to Peaks 7 and 8 (walk across the street or there's always a shuttle standing by to take you). Ski in on easy trails for everyone (pop in for lunch then back on the slopes in 15 min and coast in at the end of the day). Ski lockers, friendly staff ready for anything, hot tub right on the slopes perfect after a long day carving some trails, and heated parking garage. Location is terrific; walk or short drive to Main Street for great food and night life. We'll be back and we're pretty tough to please.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelJ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been coming to Breckenridge for 16 years, both winter and summer, and have stayed in condominiums each time. This is the best place we have stayed in. First service-wise. The front desk is ALWAYS available and staffed with amiable people who are on top of helping you. [e.g. Neither of our keys worked, it was 7:30 a.m. and we were not in the main building. We had someone at our door in less than 5 minutes.] The shuttle is available and fast. They were at our door to take us to lifts within 5 minutes of our calling. [We called and then started putting our boots on and they were there. We were under the impression we would have to wait longer...] They clean your rooms and would do dishes daily. We have stayed in condos where this is not the case, especially condos privately owned. We didn't need that done because we came prepared to "reuse" but did get towels once in our 4 days. The lobby has a drink station where you can buy juice and water; there is also complementary coffee. Right off of the lobby is also a fireplace and chairs.
Next, the place. We had a townhouse/condo, number 704. It is a 2-bedroom unit with a garage. Everything is upstairs except the garage and the door through which you enter the condo. Kitchen is stainless steel appliances with granite counters - not sure if they worked, we do not cook when on vacation. There is a great room with (kitchen) dining area and living room. Dining table seats 6 - nice table; living room has nice furniture with fireplace and flat screen TV with DVD player. High ceilings and ceiling fan finish room. Master suite in small but has all you need with comfortable queen bed, flat screen TV, DVD player and large bathroom with tub and separate large shower. Second bedroom has queen bed (didn't use so not sure how comfortable it is) and is connected to second bathroom that is open also to the great room. The great room opens to a small balcony with a couple of chairs.
this unit was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews