We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here last Thanksgiving week and will return for Thanksgiving 2012. My kids were 4 and 10 last year and we enjoyed the pools, the hot tubs, the area for sledding. The lodge is very nice- we rented from an individual owner. Be sure to use the luxurious indoor pool at One Ski Hill Place, the sister property. Mountain Thunder is within walking distance of downtown and the gondola, but nestled into the woods. The shuttle system in Breck is easy to use. You don't really need a car here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 697 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The most important thing about this place is Sean. The man at the front desk was exceptional. He was kind, very patient. I had a horrible time with booking.com, and he took the time to see that my needs were met. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Thanks, again Sean!! Beautiful place, clean, quiet, perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here during Labor Day weekend. I was surprised how great the rates were - as they go up to over $1,000 per night during ski season. We had a large corner unit condo with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The kitchen had stainless steel appliances and slab granite counters. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded as well. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful - called the free shuttle for us and even suggested great restaurants for us to try out during our stay.

Room Tip: Corner unit facing mountains are quiet and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Perfect for a girls' getaway weekend - friendly staff, convenient location, well appointed. Walked easily down to main drag for shopping and dining. And so close to so many lovely hiking trails. I'll bring my family & friends here again, and next time we'll rent bikes to use on the inviting trails.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great surprise to find how beautiful our two bedroom condo was and in such a great location. Just a few blocks from downtown and within walking distance to the gondola taking us to the alpine slide. Very friendly, helpful staff and a great summer rate for such a nice place. Pool very nice with 2 hot tubs in a beautiful setting.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Bearcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to head for the hills before the snow rolled in. What a pleasant surprise. Had a Fantastic time. Freiendly staff and relaxing accomodations.Stayed in building 5. Was more than what I expected. I would come back and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defino006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Breckenridge, and the Thunder Mountain Lodge proved the perfect place for us to stay. It was only about a 5 minute walk to town, making it nice not to have to take the car everywhere. The people at the Lodge could not have been friendlier. And the accommodations were wonderful. The bedrooms and bathrooms were huge, especially the master bedroom, and the living space and kitchen were just perfect. We cooked in a few nights, and the condo was very well-equipped. The hot tubs and swimming pool on the premises were just beautiful, as were the grounds in general. I even saw a mountain lion out of the bedroom window one afternoon. We were in a downstairs unit, and the only issue we had was on the last evening, it sounded like a herd of buffalo had moved in upstairs. At first it sounded like they were cleaning at 10 pm, but then I heard people stomping around again around 7 am. If it's possible to request an upstairs unit, I would probably do that next time. But I would most definitely stay at this fabulous resort again. Thank you for making our first trip to Breckenridge so special!

Room Tip: Select upstairs unit, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveOfTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $225 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing