We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Breckenridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The property is beautiful. It's within walking distance to everything and they have a free shuttle bus to wherever you want to go as well. The rooms are excellent, like little apartments. I wish they had a restaurant and A/C but the lack of both was no big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 697 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very nice, would be nice to have breakfast on site. Rooms clean, beautiful views. Noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were here in July as a last minute addition to a vacation which required us to reroute some travel plans due to wildfires. We loved Breckenridge...especially the cool temperatures during a hot summer. The Mountain Thunder Lodge is a great place to stay bc it is very close to downtown shops, restaurants. It is just across the street from the gondola that takes you up to Peak 8 for the fun park activities. Our unit was very nice, clean, comfortable with everything we could ask for. It was a little noisy, however, as we were close to the road and right above the outdoor hot tub. When our windows were open, it was noisy. No A/C, which was fine, but we did need to open our windows to cool us down, it was just a little noisy when they were open. We didn't ask to change rooms, so it wasn't a big deal, but if you are bothered by that kind of thing, you may want to request a room that is farther away from the road and hot tub. The front desk staff were VERY nice. Lobby is nice, w/DVD rental available. Underground parking garage. There is a pool, which looked nice and a small playground. There was some trash around the property, ie. discarded starbucks cups, etc. that weren't picked up. But other than that, I can't complain! We would stay there again next time in Breck. I think it would be a lot of fun for skiiers, too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The room was clean. Some of the furniture was worn out (doors that wouldn't slide, etc). They did not tell us they were putting us by the pool even though I told them it was our anniversary weekend. It was quite noisy all day long even with the windows closed. I'd recommend verifying which side of the buildings you are on.
The kitchen was well-stocked and the bed was comfortable. They could have given us bigger towels both in the room and at the pool. They were a bit too small to do the job.
The location was great for going up the mountain and in to town. We parked our vehicle when we arrived and didn't need to use it again until we checked out.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, request a room that is away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in a 2BR, 2Bath condo in Building 1 during July 2012. We enjoyed the lovely cool nights under the lightest weight covers that kept us just the right temperature. The condo was beautiful and well-stocked with dishes, utensils, etc so we could cook in the room. MTL is 2 blocks from the grocery store and 2 blocks to Main St. so we only used our car to go rafting and ATVing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Breckenridge
1
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the lodge. It was located to the main street and easy to walk there. The room we had was excellent. We would go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom condo, which was immaculate and large. The location is within a few blocks of a grocery store and Main Street shops, which is great as you don't want to drive within town. The kitchen had all the necessities....even paper towels! The staff was very friendly, even when we needed last minute items. Parking for the condos is below the building, making it easy to get to and from the car. Our only disappointment was the unusually hot weather, as the rooms are not air conditioned. Yes, it gets cool at night, but you need to leave your windows open.....and then you hear all the noise of people coming and going all night long. It'd be a great place to stay when it isn't so warm!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank IowaTraveler50021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $226 - $832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing