We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been great....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could have been great....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

We chose Mountain Thunder based on the reviews found here on TripAdvisor and other bits of on-line research. The 3 bedroom townhouse we reserved was absolutely beautiful; however, upon getting settled in and attempting to do laundry we were VERY dissapointed to discover that our dryer did not work.... Maintenance did try to fix the year old machine, but discovered it needed a new motor. Although the staff was accomodating and gave us access to the main bldg to complete our already wet loads of laundry in an AWFUL excuse for a dryer, it didn't make up for the total inconvenience (or hiking through subzero temps to simply dry clothes).... They did fold a couple loads of laundry and offer a bit of a refund, which was nice (as the hotel was completely booked what else were they to do.) In addition, the microwave in our unit only functioned when it felt like it, which made baby bottle warming a bit of a challenge. This facility is actually in a perfect location to the Gondola (probably 1/4 - 1/2 mile walk) and a bit further to Main street. The facilities are very nice, updated and great for families. It's more than likely that the unit we were in (#200) and perhaps the electric or appliances installed there were the problem... not the Lodge itself. Would I reccommend it to others? Yes. Would I return, NO WAY for obvious reasons... packing 3 days of clothes based on the "laundry facility" in our rental locale really made for a problem after day 4, having only completed 3 loads between 5 people (who had been skiing & snowboarding no less). Oh well!

  • Liked — Location and Appearance of Townhouse
  • Disliked — Applicances and floorplan layout... wished 1 master had been downstairs
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reedstephstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swhitex10, new owner at Mountain Thunder Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2008
We just purchased this unit and everything works great. The interior has been given a face lift and is ready to go even a ping pong table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    127
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
173
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lafayette, la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

We made reservations in advance for the Mountain Thunder Lodge well in advance to take our 6 year old son skiing for the first time. Not only did he fall in love with Skiing and Breckenridge; but we all fell in love with the 2 bedroom condo at the Mountain Thunder Lodge.

With a wonderful patio overlooking the the "the 4 O'clock run trail, and a warm fireplace next to a great kitchen, we were all very comfortable within our retreat after a long day skiing. The staff was not only courteous, but very helpful to all of our needs; including but not limited to our late arrival to the lodge after a long day of flying by ordering us all a hot dinner from a local restaurant ad bringing it up to our door when it arrived.

We'll definitely be going back to Breckenridge next year and will definitely be staying at the Mountain Thunder.

  • Liked — Great Service and Staff
  • Disliked — proximity to town
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank paultonanjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We recently got back from a 5 day trip to Breckenridge and MTL..
The overall experiece was lovely, and i would definately stay there again. Here are the things I loved: a large wrap around balcony, granite countertops, roomy living space, lovely and well planned landscaping , large bathrooms.
A few things to improve upon: uncomfortable sofa bed, sheets and blankets that didn't match quality of rest of condo(blanket seemed especially worn, sheets kept coming off mattress),
bad carpet stain in middle of room, keys stopped working half way though stay). That said, it appeared to be one of the nicest places to stay in Breck...and the positives were enough to keep me coming and recommend strongly to others.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank laurelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

July 28th was our daughter's wedding in Breckenridge. We had been working with the folks at Vail Resorts and using their properties for different evvents for the wedding. Everything was wonderful. My daughter told me we had given her the wedding she had always dreamed of.

Mountain Thunder is a great property to stay at. The rooms are spacious and the staff is very caring and helpful.

Can't wait to visit again!!

JDunlop3rd

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the rooms and the staff.
  • Disliked — Elevation over 9,600 ft.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

Daughter of Yankeefanatic:
I loved this place! My family and I were visiting an old friend for Thanksgiving and this was a very enjoyable Thanksgiving. Huge room, big kitchen, 2 big bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a large living room. It was very comfortable and a good location not far from town. It had some great views and it was quiet. I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed at the Mountain Thunder Lodge (MTL) for a long-planned family reunion. Our stay could not have been nicer. What is more amazing was that all of the 31 people that were attending the reunion agreed about this. Many world travelers were involved so this is not a small feat. Mary and Sean were two of the outstanding employees of the MTL that made our stay special. The staff tried to meet all of our requests and were unfailingly pleasant in this process. I was a little anxious that with so many attendees that a problem would arise, but none did. On the contrary, everyone had a wonderful time and participated in many activities from hiking to rock climbing to shopping to swimming to lounging in the hot tubs. We stayed in a beautiful 3 bedroom townhome which we thoroughly enjoyed. Other family members chose units to match the size of their group. MTL was a real treat!! I would have to say that this trip was fantastic.

  • Liked — beautiful scenery, terrific lodging, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed here during our annual "trip without our precious children." We had an incredible time. We rented a one bedroom condo and it had a full bath, living room and kitchen. The place was incredibly clean and fresh. The kitchen was well equiped. Mary, at the front desk, went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed...from great restaurant recommendations, to help with bike rentals, kayaking and river rafting. We will for sure stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone. It is just a short walk over to the main street where everything happens.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sdl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Property: Mountain Thunder Lodge
Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing