We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food - and you pay for it.”
Review of The Warming Hut Restaurant - CLOSED

The Warming Hut Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wellington
Transit: The Warming Hut Restaurant is located 300 feet from the gondola and the Breckenridge Transit Station where guests can catch a Summit Stage Bus or the local Free Ride Bus. The Free Ride Bus also stops on Main Street in front of the Wellington Lot, which is about 100 feet South of our building.
Description: Stacey Brooks proudly sold the Warming Hut Restaurant to a wonderful restaurant family from frisco Colorado- the new owners are Michal and Joyce Uhlehla and already have two established restaurants in summit county - Bagalis and Bread & Salt. Stacey loved working with them on the sale and transition. Michael and Joyce will bring their own ideas into the space and we wish them all the best luck! Please go and visit them and meet these great new owners!!
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I thought it was pricey - but it's a mountain town so I guess I shouldn't be surprised. My fish was awesome, it came with asparagus which was real nice and bread pudding which was pretty bland. My wife had the shrimp & grits, which tasted fine but was the consistency of chowder. Maybe that's how they do it out here but every other time I've seen it done it's much thicker. The best meal at our table was the mac & cheese my kid got - way impressed. Nice beer & wine selection - only drafts are from Avery Brewery, which makes good beer.

We had a very friendly & knowledgeable waiter, and the waiting time was just about right for the quality of food we got. The bill was $72 before tip for two adults & two kids, with no appetizers or desserts. It's a pretty small place too so if you are there during the busy season you might have a different experience with the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pudgeUSAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, Owner at The Warming Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to provide us feedback. We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit and that we could give you an authentic taste of Colorado. Your kid is a smart cookie, ordering the Mac & Cheese like that.

Next time you're in Breck, we'd love to have you back. Come explore the rest of our menu and see what's new.

Stacey Brooks Connolly
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 265 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stopped in for lunch, and had a very satisfying meal. On this visit I opted for the 3 sides for $12 -- the winter slaw, carrots and mac and cheese made for a delicious combo. All great. Service has been a bit indifferent before; unlike most Breck eateries, the Warming Hut staff seem a bit harried/disinterested.

Thank BabyBlueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, Owner at The Warming Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

It's terrific to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us! Thanks for the very kind feedback. We truly appreciate the review, as we're sure other TA users do, too. Next time you're in the neighborhood, we'd love to have you back again.

Stacey Brooks Connolly
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Extremely slow service- we almost had to beg for a drink refill. Medium rare steak was well done. Did I say extremely slow service? Definitely not worth the price. Or worth it at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALJHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, Owner at The Warming Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We always strive to provide our guests with a truly welcoming, friendly dining experience, and it's disappointing to hear that we missed the mark when you came by. Rest assured, I'll pass this along to our team to make sure that we're always living up to our own high standards.

That said, I hope you will give our staff another shot and visit us again in the future. We're sure you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Stacey Brooks Connolly
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The restaurant is located in a beautiful old Victorian house towards the north end of town. The tables and chairs are mix and match, to suit a variety of group sizes, and there is a well stocked bar with comfortable seating. We visited on a very snowy evening, which made the atmosphere even more true to the restaurant's name. Good selection of food. Between us, we tried the red trout (beautifully cooked, fell off the skin), 1/2 rotisserie chicken (with wonderful garlic mashed potato), a root vegetable salad (very tasty) and some delicious soup. All the meals were well presented, and arrived together at a good temperature. There is also an extensive wine list! Staff were very attentive, but not intrusive. All in all a lovely place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, Owner at The Warming Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a very kind review. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We're glad that we could warm you up on a snowy evening. Next time you're in Breckenridge, we'd love to see you again!

Stacey Brooks Connolly
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were wandering Main St on a Saturday night and happened upon The Warming Hut. It looked charming so we took a chance on them having a table. We were immediately greeted by friendly staff. Had a great glass of wine at the bar and got to meet Ben, who was terrific. Our meals were terrific...the wedge was a great start and then we had Mac and cheese with chorizo - awesome, and a very nice meatloaf. Topped it off with an incredible dessert - Banoffe Pie. You must try! Two slight knocks...our server was less than attentive-ours was his only table in our area and he was AWOL a lot. But the other servers working around us seemed to be taking great care of their tables, And our table ...the small round one in the back section was really wobbly. Loved the photography on the walls and the owner came and talked to,us about the artist. We totally scored on bumping into this place. Go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, Owner at The Warming Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We appreciate the good word, Jon. We'll make sure to pass your feedback along to Ben, who'll no doubt love it. And you made a good decision with ordering the Banoffe Pie — a house favorite, for sure. Come back for more great eats in a cozy setting anytime you're visiting Breck.

Stacey Brooks Connolly
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warming Hut Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing