We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
570
282
67
49
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
282
67
49
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar grillpools and hot tubsin towntime sharechristy sportsthe kitchenfree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restaurantshuttle servicegarage doorbedroom unitwasher and dryerski weekpool tablenice resortcrock pot
Filter
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Booked by friends whom I was traveling with, and my girlfriend, we skied over Valentine's weekend and stayed at Grand Timber in building 7. It was a very nice hotel, although the rooms were a bit on the small side for the price we paid, and given they were "Studio" rooms with built-in Kitchenette's, we were disappointed with the layouts and lack of ample space for our gear. The rooms were also fairly loud and we could hear people walking above us at 5am and water moving after a toilet was flushed. This only happened twice and was not a huge problem.

On the plus side the staff is extremely helpful and willing to go out of the way for you, and they have a convenient business center which I used to check-in for our flights (very little data reception on a mobile phone). Given this was our fifth trip to the ski town, we knew some restaurants but received great advice from the concierge as to new places to stay.

Also nice is the ski in/out feature which is truly that, and the useful Christy's shop where some of us rented our equipment.

There are large heated pools and hot tubs, both indoor and outdoor, and while they fill up quickly, they are kept clean and are fun to use with a drink from the bar.

One downside is their lack of restaurant on the premise which serves breakfast, but you can overcome this by using the little convenience store to buy bagels, cereal, milk, etc the night before and using your kitchenette. Also, you can easily grab food on the mountain, but that can get expensive and time consuming.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and I can recommend this hotel for families, couples and groups of friends who enjoy convenience for a price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2010

At Grand Timber Lodge, our Studios are the smallest units we do have to offer, and they can accommodate up to four people maximum. We also have one-bedroom Masters, which can sleep up to four people, as well. The full one-bedrooms are each equipped with a fully-stocked kitchen, twice as much living space as a studio, a separate bedroom, fireplace, and a private balcony. For more information on the different types of accommodations available to guests at Grand Timber Lodge, please visit us on the web!

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Very good service and ski-in and ski-out resort. Their shuttle will basically take you any where you want. There is also public free transporation that take you around town that is near by the resort.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank martian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

On behalf of the entire staff at the Grand Timber Lodge, we are elated when guests enjoy a great quality of service, which we are committed to offering with every guest interaction, as well as the convenience of Grand Timber’s superb location.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

There were a number of claims that the Grand Timber Lodge made about the facilities and most were exaggerated at best. We also found the walls to be poorly insulated. We traveled with two small children and got complaints about the noise.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank Denver_COAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

The resort is located directly between peaks 8 and 9 in Breckenridge, and although the quality of the ski-out experience is always dependent on the amount of snowfall at that time, guests can always ski right back into the lodge from the mountain. From the Grand Timber Lodge, it is a very short walk to two different lifts. Also, the on-demand free shuttle will transfer guests directly from the lodge to the other base areas/lifts on the mountain.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

My third stay at GTL and I have never been let down by the quality of the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoR-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

At Grand Timber Lodge, we are very please when guests are happy with their stays time after time, as we truly strive to be a ‘home away from home’ for guests of all ages.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

I had gone on-line looking for accomodations at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. When I did, it showed great pictures right next to the lift and went to make reservations and check on specials, it re-directed me to another website showing the same great pictures and offering a special deal. I made/paid for the reservations then found out that in the small print there a requirement that you do a 2 hour tour to "keep" the "special" rate of almost $400 a night. Not too happy, but decided I'd do it for the benefit of being right on Peak 7 at the lift. When we get there, we realize that they've made our reservations for the Grand Timber Lodge, one of their related properties that's nowhere close to Peak 7. The management was horrible when we complained and tried to charge us the full amount of the stay even though we checked out the next morning, then tried to force us to do the tour on a different day than they had originally scheduled us or they were going to add another $200 to our charges. I spent 6 hours of my ski time finding alternate accomodations and on the phone with management. Throughout the weekend, I heard from 3 other families that this same thing had happened to them in the past year. Funny thing was, the customer service person was so surprised that we didn't want to stay there and couldn't understand why we were so set on staying near peak 7, yet their whole goal is to try and sell time shares at the Peak 7 lift. I will say that they did eventually agree to credit me back the 2 nights that we didn't stay (although I haven't seen the credit on my credit card yet), but we still had to pay the increased rate for the 1st night, go through the inconvenience of moving to another condo the next day and lose valuable ski time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
8  Thank mlsAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2010

Breckenridge Grand Vacations is a family owned and operated company, and we are very proud of all three of our resorts. While we are excited to be offering vacation ownership at our new property, the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, we would never “trick” people into staying at Grand Timber Lodge on Peak 9.

Some of the discounted rate specials that are found on the web are part of our promotional packages, which include a preview tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. With these packages, our company covers some of the cost of lodging, allowing guests to receive a discount for the stay, in addition to other gifts offered with the tour package. Some of these additional gifts include: discounted spa treatments at the Grand Victorian Day Spa and Salon, discounted lift tickets, Visa gift cards, and more!

Most importantly, we confirm the location of any accommodations for our guests in advance. We are committed to creating great vacations, and we proudly stand by this motto.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews