We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live here!!”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I wish I could live here!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I traveled with my husband and 15-year-old daughter to Breckenridge for Spring Break and stayed at Grand Timber Lodge April 10-17, 2009. Our stay was absolutely perfect from the moment we checked in!!! After a very long day of travel from the East Coast, we arrived at Grand Timber about 2 p.m. Our check-in was quick and efficient. We exchanged through Interval International for a 2 bedroom unit and were assigned to 823 - 2nd floor in building 8. The underground parking in each building was very convenient. When we opened to door to our room we were impressed at the very spacious unit.
I ordered all our groceries for the week from Peak Provisions - www.peakprovisions.com Everything was delivered and our refrigerator was stocked with wonderful meals before we even arrived....no grocery shopping!!!!
We enjoyed all of Grand Timber's amenities....the pool and hot tub area , the Lodgepole Bar and Grill (Mr. Cheese is the best!!) , and the spa!!!
I was so happy to be returning to Grand Timber after our long days of skiing. I felt completely at home. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnavabch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Taking advantage of all the amenities at Grand Timber Lodge is a great way to make the most out of your vacation and your dollar! There are plenty, too - the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, the spa, game room, workout room, pools, hot tubs, business center, shuttle, and activities desk.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    231
    51
    42
    34
See reviews for
332
231
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently rented a 3 beedroom for the first week in April. I was in building 5 on the 2nd floor.

Good things. Plenty of space for a fair dollar. Bldg 5 is a good location. Unit was nice. 4 TVs, 3 Bathrooms. Nice kitchen and living area.

OK things, checking your skis in and out can be a pain, as there wasn't enough people to handle the process at peak times. They need to get the lockers fixed, to decrease the number of people storing skis inside. Some of the employees seemed a bit apathetic.

They shouldnt represent themselves as ski out. It is a very reasonable walk and ski to either the Snowflake lift or Beaver Run lift, which also depends on the building you are in. But really not ski out. You could always take the shuttle to the lift if you dont like the short walk. It is ski in. You just need to learn the best way for your unit and when to keep you speed up to avoid walking.

The restaurant was good. The pools and hot tubs were nice.

There are plenty of stairs, but there are a limited number of elevators, AND some sections are connected by ramps, which makes bringing stuff from your car on a cart very difficult, but this is just a minor annoyance.

I found the shuttle to be prompt and courteous and getting into and out of the garages with cars to be simple.

The 3 bedroom I had was a studio + a 2 bedroom and was nice, but I could see that if you just rented a studio with a pull out and a kitchenette, that it would seem small and dark and cramped.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
The three bedroom units at Grand Timber Lodge offer plenty of space for families - they sleep up to 10 people maximum.

The shuttle is a great amenity to have, whether guests have a car or not. You don't have to worry about knowing where you are going, parking, etc. Guests can just call the number on the back of their key card and the shuttle will pick them up!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We took the Time Share Tour end of December 2009. What a pretty picture they paint ... not a word of it was true. After reading other reviews written, I've determined there must be only one room that looks nice and clean like a 5Star, and thats the model for the place. Oh yes, and the Sales Rep. on the tour when showing us the model took us on the great "service elevator" and said he was sorry for taking us the back way, but was trying to say us some time. Yet, after we purchased and were lied to, we find that this 5Star Resort only has "service elevator"... no up front nice elevators. And then there is only one elevator per building and of course it not in the middle its clear at one end of the building and of course its not at the end your stating in. On our stay we had only a studo room ... yet it was dark, no view, not clean. Also, when on tour our we were told that ALL ROOMS WERE LIKE THE MODEL ... NOT!!! We were also told that you can Ski In/Ski Out ... not true, maybe ski in, that is if your a good skier, other wise there is some walking and at the end of the day that was the last thing I wanted to do. We were told that GTL was a 5Star Resort ... not sure who's scale they use, but I would rate it a 2Star. Yes we were 'snowed' by the Sales Person and ended up buying ... sure hope we can have better accomadations at other resorts or we bought nothing ... boy 'were we dumb.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTLReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
The Grand Timber Lodge model unit is used as an example of the units we have on property, however it is also used as an actual guest room. The elevators go right down to the garage level so as to make it easier for guests to bring luggage directly from their vehicles if they have them, to their rooms.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carob1823
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The Grand Timber Lodge was awesome. I was in my room alot with my 20 month old son. The two bedroom condos were nice and large so we had plenty of room and we loved the swimming pools! They are heated indoor/outdoor pools and they do not skimp on the heat in the pool. The staff was fantastic and the private shuttle ended up driving us everywhere! They have a lot of little extras that most resorts won't go the extra mile for that, for me, made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carob1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2009
We are pleased to hear when a guest has a great vacation at Grand Timber Lodge!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband I just returned from Breckenridge, Colorado. We stayed at The Grand Timber Lodge the last week of February. It was very nice, we had a studio unit in Building 5. Everything was very nice, great view out our window (wished a studio would have had a balcony but they don't). Kitchenette well stocked, linens and bathroom very nice and large. Hot tubs/pools - nice but very cloudy! All of them! Lodgepole Bar & Grill good sandwiches and pizza! Ski/snowboard storage was great at Christy Sports! But the ski-out was definitely misrepresented. You take a short dive down off the back of Building 5 and then have to pole 50 yards, kick off your skis, walk to Beaver Run Superchair and then strap back in! The path to ski back in was narrow and extremely winding, so we decided not to use it! The shuttle service to town or the gondola was excellent. Overall I would recommend the lodge but don't expect true ski-in/ski-out!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texanstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2009
While the lift may not be right out the door at Grand Timber Lodge, it is conveniently located to both Peak 8 and Peak 9. Guests may take the Snowflake chair up to Peak 8, or take the Beaver Run Super Chair to Peak 9. To get back in to Grand Timber Lodge, take Lower Sawmill or the Snowflake Trail from Peak 8. Maps and detailed instructions are also available at the front desk.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our condo was large enough and well equipped although the gas fireplace was lame. There are too few elevators and the ones that are there are badly located--especially Building 5. The facilities are fine--hot tubs, pool, exercise rooms. However, this lodge is not truly ski out, especially from Buildings 5 and 6. Don't be deceived by the advertising. However, Christy Sports is conveniently located in Building 5. The spa is fine although small with no sauna (it does have a small steam room). The couples massage room is in another building separate from the spa; so dress warmly when checking in at spa because you will have to go outdoors to get to the massage room--inconvenient to say the least.
The Lodge's private shuttle service is excellent and we never waited more than 5 or so minutes to be picked up.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2009
The Grand Timber Lodge shuttle is a great resource for guests and owners, especially those who do not have a car during their stay. In the winter, it is a great way to get around without having to do any winter driving or look up directions.

Grand Timber Lodge is conveniently located to the slopes. There is easy access to two chair lifts that go to either Peak 8 or Peak 9. Ski in/ski out is do-able from the property, and the front desk has maps and directions to help guests do so.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We traded our 5 star Maui Marriott Timeshare for this DUMP. We stayed in room 133 S. In building 1 on the third floor. My brother in law and nephew stayed in building 5 and their one bedroom was everything we had hoped ours would be. They paid "cash" for their room as they do not own a timeshare. Our room DID NOT have a lanai as stated in the Interval description. It did not have a fireplace, jacuzzi tub or a flat screened TV as other reviews have stated. Our room reminded me of the 'bare essentials' rooms in the Grand Canyon--A bed in the bedroom, cheap nightable (one) and one dresser--falling apart, a pull out couch in the kitchen area, not a chair in the entire place to sit and watch TV once the couch was opened. The room was run-down, dirty, and outdated. The TV was a 19 inch relic. The kitchen was dumpy and outdated--a 10 foot kitchen strip against the wall all made out of white metal. And Ski out was a joke--you ski for a minute and then have to remove your skis to walk 200 yards to a lift. Ski in was difficult to get to and involved poling across a flat trail to get to the lodge.
After 2 days there we realized that there was no heat coming from the rusty baseboard heater in our bedroom. They did come promptly to fix that.

My brother in law's room was beautiful, with a firelace, a big screen TV, a lanai, a modern kitchen and bathroom. He is not an owner there nor did he trade through Interval--he paid for his room.

We were told confidentially by a person there that all Non Owners are put into building 1 (The shabbiest building on the property), so I recommend that you DO NOT stay here. Try Beaver Run Resort (which is true ski-in/out) or another ski area entirely.

The skiing was wonderful and the trip was fun but the accomodations were PROFOUNDLY dissappointing. We intend to complain to Interval and also Marriott about this.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulaB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2009
Grand Timber Lodge offers a variety of unit sizes ranging from studios to 4 bedroom condominiums. Our studios (sleep 4) and studio efficiencies (sleep 6) have limited kitchen facilities, called kitchenettes. Our kitchenette facilities include a small microwave, small refrigerator, small dishwasher, 2 stove top ranges as well as a toaster, coffeemaker, etc. Our one bedroom, two bedroom, three bedroom and four bedroom condominiums feature a full size kitchen, living room and dining room, as well as other full size unit amenities such as balconies, washers/dryers, and gas fireplaces. When making a reservation through Interval International, please be advised that if you book a unit with a kitchenette instead of a full size kitchen, your unit will not have a balcony or a fire place and your kitchenette facilities will include a small microwave, small refrigerator, small dishwasher, 2 stove top burners (in lieu of a full size stove), dishes, glassware, cooking utensils, pots/pans, cutlery, small kitchen sink, coffer maker and toaster. Also when making a reservation through Interval International, please read through your confirmation letter carefully so that you are aware of what your accommodations will offer. All room descriptions are detailed in the confirmation packet provided by Interval International. Also, reservations that are booked through Interval International are assigned a unit number and building based on the unit number and building that the Grand Timber Lodge owner relinquished to Interval International. Therefore, Interval International guests can potentially be booked in any unit or building throughout the property and are not put into a specific building based on whether or not their reservation was made through Interval International. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact us at 877-453-4440 for assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing