We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid in all respects”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Grand Timber Lodge is a solid choice in Breckenridge. Our room was well-appointed and comfortable, with a great kitchen and flat-screen TV; the location is excellent, as one can ski in and (almost) ski out, and one can also walk downtown; there is a convenient shuttle; and all the amenities (pools, hot tubs, apres-ski bar and restaurant) are very nice. To be sure, it does not have the luxurious feel of a Four Seasons, but then again it does not cost nearly as much.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamboIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2009

Grand Timber Lodge is in a great location. It is right near the ski slopes, but also very close to town. It is convenient to get on the mountain during the day, and to town for dinner or shopping. Breckenridge is also a great "home base" for surrounding Summit County activities, like snowmobiling, dog sledding, snowshoeing, etc.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 828 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

My husband and I live in Denver and travel up to Breckenridge pretty often during the ski season. The property had a great location with ski-in/ski-out access right near the Snowflake lift in addition to a free shuttle service to take you around town. Though the shuttle never seemed to be there when we needed it, the town is a quick 5 minute walk and easy to get to. They adhere very strictly to the 4pm check-in time---to give you time to check out their time-share package and go on a tour. There was definitely pressure to go on a tour. My husband is a very light sleeper and I had called twice to confirm that we had a quiet room. Upon checking in we found out we had a room right near the check in desk and lounge/pool tables (the ONLY place in the entire facility that isn't quiet), and the woman at the front desk made it seem like we were inconvieniencing her a great deal when we asked to switch to another room. After speaking with the manager we were able to get a quiet room. Though the room was great and the pool/hot tubs were nice and relaxing, it wasn't as carefree of an experience as you would expect from an upscale property like this one. For example, you have to get a wrist band to use the pool area, having to sign out towels, needing a quarter to use the lockers --who brings a quarter with them to the pool, and worst of all was that they expect you to vacate the parking lot by 10am the following day, which really negates the ski-in/ski out appeal if you have to move your care and go park in town at the gondola. Overall, the hotel was very nice, but the inconveniences and staff did not live up to the price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartWorldTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

At Grand Timber Lodge, we can take specific room requests in advance, but we cannot guarantee a certain room until check-in.

We have begun a new policy in which owners and guests on property must wear wristbands; this is to ensure that only owners and guests are taking advantage of our facilities. Similarly the towel check-out ensures that we have enough towels for everyone.

Parking at Grand Timber is limited; therefore guests who have checked out after their stay may not leave cars parked on property afterwards. This is so that guests checking in will be able to park when they arrive.

-Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

If you've never been to Breckenridge, Co it is a fabulous town( lots of restaurants and shopping) a great mountain for skiing, a wonderful relaxing family atmosphere overall.
We stayed at the GTL ( have been before) and love this place. Ski in and ski out...can take an easy walk to town or ride the free resort shuttle. We love the hot tubs after a day on the slopes and happy hour at the Lodge pole..right next to the tubs.
Rooms are rustic indecor, clean and updated..They have everything you need for a night or a week. We bring breakfast and some lunch food and eat out for dinner.
Try to get some package deal on the lift tickets or buy them at King Soopers grocery store before you get to Breck ( since they are pricy on the hill)

Once you stay here- I'll bet you'll return...

Stayed: February 2009
Thank buttercup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

We are always happy to hear when someone has had a great vacation at Grand Timber Lodge!

Also, another way to get discounted lift tickets would be to take a preview tour of the new property we are currently building on Peak 7 in Breckenridge, the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. An owner or guest may inquire about this through our reservations department.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I used one my parents' marriott timeshare weeks to stay here with the family- wife and two daughters (ages 2 and 4) to get a "winter vacation"- we live in San Antonio. I was a little nervous about two weeks before the trip because I looked at TripAdvisor and saw some very bad reviews.

I can say that our trip was great but I saw that the bad reviews were most likely NOT exaggerations.

The location is great and overall the place is very nice. They did let us check in early, as we drove from Denver to Breck and were an hour early to check in. But after getting the room keys, they pushed me (almost literally) over to see the lady in charge of the "activities." really she is just the person who pushes you to go on the tour of the facility to see if they can sell a timeshare to you. I understand this, and most of the time I take part in the tours- after all they give you "dollars" to spend at local stores. I have been to three different Marriott presentations. Well, here, they are VERY pushy. The place is already very nice, so they didn't need to be. But the lady almost got nasty when I said that I was not interested in the tour or their Grand Timber Bucks- she acted horrified and said I would be the first person to ever decline, which I doubt.

From there, we went to the room and were VERY impressed. The room was clean, with a well stocked kitchen, and had two very cozy leather recliners. The sofa wasn't very comfortable, but oh well. We had a two bedroom, which left tons of space for the kids to run. There were humidifiers in every room, which were definitely needed with the very dry air.

One gripe with the room was that the thermostats were not digital, so you could not really tell what the temp was set at, and it was hard to adjust so that you weren't either boiling or freezing. We were there when the temps got into the teens at night and I was always either freezing (when out of bed) or boiling in bed. This place is nice enough to at least have a little digital temperature pad.

I will agree with previous posts that what room you get could drastically change your experience here. We were somewhat lucky... we got a second floor room, but there was no room above us, and we were on the end, near a stairwell, so no one was beside us on one side either. And the master bedroom was buffered from the stairwell by the bathroom, so we never heard any noise. But near the stairwell, there was also the garbage chute, and this made lots of noise. Luckily we were there during a light period so not many people were there dumping trash.

One thing we did notice was the noise that came from the garage doors from the parking garages that were directly under the first floor rooms. Again, we were on the second floor, and there was a room below us, and below that was the parking garage, with the entrance to it directly beneath the first floor room. Now... if we could clearly hear (and feel) the rumbling of the garage door in OUR room, I would have hated to have been in that first floor room, right above that door. It would been a nightmare, especially with little kids who take naps. One poster mentioned this issue and I could very easily see what they were talking about. This is a pretty bad design flaw.

If you just want a getaway, and you have to pay by the night, your money would probably be better spent at one of the many houses/townhouses for rent in the town if quiet is important to you. But... you could get lucky and get a room that is in a good area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank malariaman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

At Grand Timber Lodge, check-in is set at 4pm, however if a guests room is ready before 4, the front desk can call their cell phone to let them know.

The noisy garage doors have been replaced with noiseless versions - however guests can always request a certain room before check-in, if they prefer a quiet room vs. pool side, top floor, lower floor, etc. We cannot guarantee a certain room but we do our best to accommodate these requests.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Beautiful, modern and luxurious condo. The beds were comfy, the kitchen was new and had all the necessities for us to stay in and cook. Everything was spotless. Shower was great and soothing. Only downside was that the master bedroom was a little small and the fireplace was electronic vs. real wood, but it still served its purpose. Each unit seems to be different but this one was beautiful and super quiet. We never heard a peep from neighbors or outside. Being on the third floor was a plus.

Shuttle service was excellent and always fast. We weren't able to ski-in/ski-out, but the shuttle ride was only a couple minutes to the beaver run lift.

Hottubs and main lobby were excellent. Only downside is the restaurant is not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler10173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Here at Grand Timber Lodge we want to be thought of as a "home away from home" in the mountains, so we strive to make all guests feel as comfortable and taken care of as we can.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We took my entire family - yes even my en-laws, and it was great!! The location in regards to the slopes was excellent. I was nervous about ski in-out, but it is true. It was great. I highly recommend going to Lodgepole (happy hour is great after a long day).

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2009

The Grand Timber Lodge is conveniently located near both the ski slopes and Main Street Breckenridge. We are happy to hear when a guest has a great vacation with us!

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

we book our trip trough Interval International.We planned to ski and we were lucky to get 2 feet of snow and they were making more on the mountains.Our 2 bedroom appartment was great with 3 TVs,fireplace,big kitchen and small kitchen,jacuzzi plus 2 bathrooms.We also had washer and dryer .We bought some discount lift tickets in the office and in return we went to less then hour timesharring presentation with no push salesman.We loved the resort.Kids love the pools and the fact that they could swim outside too.We loved the jacuzzis outside,that was something.There was not much scheduled activities for kids.Mabe they didnt have enough kids,I am not sure.On Monday we had orientation breakfast,which was great.We ask for great view before we came to Timber lodge and we sure have it.Some appartments dont have it,ask for it.The mountains are maintained and all the lifts are connected so it is very easy to get on peak 7,8,9 from the lifts from Beaver run.We had a good time and Breckenridge is dooing good job.Have fun everybody and dont break Your leg.John

Stayed: December 2008
Thank JohnMokena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

It always great to hear when an exchange guest is happy with their exchange! Grand Timber Lodge is a family resort, and there is always something to do both on property and in town for all members of the family. To find out more about activities, such as family movie nights or kids nights, or other things like sledding and snowmobiling, guests can inquire at the activities desk located in building six.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $172 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world-famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a Grand vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing