We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not been maintained well!”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colordao Springs, CO.
1 review
“Not been maintained well!”
Reviewed October 21, 2008

When we previewed the Grand Timber Lodge 5 years ago it was AMAZING! They have not kept it up at all. Our room had dozens of issues with it. (Too many to list them all!) If you can get a good deal the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable, but don't expect 5 star quality. It is in a great location and their shuttle into town is convenient, but overall I expected more for the 5 star rating.

  • Liked — Extra Large Bath Sheets/Comfortable Beds/ Great Shuttle to Town
  • Disliked — Dirty Carpets, Walls, and Furniture/Holes in Walls/Broken Furniture and Kitchen Appliences
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VacationPrincess08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
Some units at Grand Timber Lodge do experience more wear and tear than others during the year, but the units are updated and cleaned for two weeks each year. We also have a maintenance staff on property that will come to fix problems that may arise during any guest's stay.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    231
    51
    42
    34
See reviews for
332
231
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Traded my lock off unit at Royal Resorts in Cancun for a 2 Bedroom unit at Grand Timber Lodge via Interval International.

When we arrived our unit was ready. I had previously read the comments about buildings 1-5 so I was pleased when we were provided unit 832. Top floor with a great view of the mountain.

The unit was spacious and in good condition. We drove into town (5 minutes away) to get groceries at the City Market for the week. It was also nice that there was a washer and dryer in the unit.

We did several hikes. Right at the property there were several trails which were nice. We also did the McCullough Gulch hike which was about 15 minutes from the resort. It was a great hike with lots of great views. Took about 3.5 hours round trip.

We also hiked Mohawk Lake from the lower trail. Next time we will drive to the upper parking lot. The lower part of the trail is all through the forest and not much to see. By the time we reached the upper section of the hike we were pretty tired. We made it past the lower lake but were running out of snacks and water so we decided not to hike any further up to the upper lakes. Round trip took about 5 hours. Lots of great views from the upper section of the trail. It was a very challenging hike and we had to stop alot to catch our breath.

We also went to South Park for a hot air balloon ride which was wonderful as was dinner at Twin Owls Steakhouse.

We did take the timeshare tour of their new property. Presentation was only 30 minutes since we told the rep we were not interested in buying. We got $100 dollars to spend at the spa for our time.

We had a great vacation. The only thing I didn't like that I'm used to at the Royal Resorts was a daily made service. Instead they come in once a week only to swap out your towels. It was a great place to stay but I think we are spoiled at the Royal Resorts in Cancun in comparison. I would recommend staying here and will definately come back again in September since its quiter and the beautiful fall colors are out.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge we are thrilled to know when an exchange guest has had a great vacation! We know that guests have a wide array of choices and Interval International offers many great resorts, and are proud to be a part of it.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereInTheWorldToGo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We recently stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge; when I booked several months ago I booked a two BEDROOM unit, which also had a living area that had a pullout couch - so three rooms right?!?!

We arrive, wait in a long line because they are obviously understaffed........then get shuffled to another counter to try and get us to buy a condo/watch a advertisement/whatever - I left in the middle of it. We get to the room and its not two bedrooms and a living area its one bedroom and then a tiny room with a queen bed, couch and kitchenette all in it. I called the front desk and she said come back down and we will get it sorted. So we head all the way back down to the front desk - wait AGAIN - even though they SHOULD remember I was just there 30 seconds ago. ONLY to be told.........."in the industry we know that two bedroom doesnt always mean two bedrooms - a bed can be in the living room".........I said EXCUSE ME, I am not "in the industry"; I am on VACATION and you didnt give me what I booked. More arguing..........got me NOWHERE and we were forced to stay there because it was already late in the day and I didnt want to ruin our one night there.

OH AND there is NO AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have to sleep with the windows open b/c they would only allow the heater to run........and I woke up horribly sick from that.

Also DISGUSTING cleaning job - fingernails on the floor, skin in the tub and some white goop (who knows waht that was) on the sink. GROSS!!!!!!!!!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Disliked — THE STAFF!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhereInTheWorldToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2009
Grand Timber Lodge has some two bedroom units that may be smaller than others, as variations between buildings and as part of a larger three bedroom unit. There are fewer of these smaller units as compared to the standard two bedrooms.

Grand Timber does not have air conditioning in the units; because we are located in the mountains, the summer temperatures do not get high enough to require it. Each unit does have its own thermostat, and guests can control the temperature that way if they choose.

We train our staff extensively, and we apologize if any of our owners or guests feel they have been treated with indifference. Our family commitment is to always create great vacations.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We are extremely disappointed with the accommodations provided at the Grand Timber Lodge in Colorado and very embarrassed because we specifically brought friends who were interested in purchasing a timeshare until they witnessed this experience.

We are owners at the Marriott Timber Lodge in So. Lake Tahoe, Nevada (not associated with Grand Timer Lodge, Co.) In April 2008 we made an Interval International reservation / exchange to visit Breckenridge Grand Timber Lodge in Colorado. We were assigned a two bedroom suite, #314. To our surprise, the view outside our suite was a stone wall and the side of a building approximately 30 feet away. Even stepping out onto a patio which is below ground level, there is absolutely no view or exposure to direct sunshine. Because the suite receives no direct sunlight we have to turn on lights even during the day to eliminate the gloomy lighting.

I requested a different suite and was assisted by Kelley Jensen. She was familiar with our suite and specifically said it was a poor location. She initially gave us a new suite with a view and sunshine however, as we began moving luggage into the room she called and said we couldn’t have the suite because other people checking in now. When I asked who I could talk with to complain about the accommodations she said “Me,” indicating she had the final say.

We couldn’t be more disappointed to have come to this beautiful vacation spot and be placed in a gloomy room with no sunshine or a view. It wasn’t even possible to enjoy the suite during the day as we had intended under these conditions. Likewise, the embarrassment that we brought guests here who took their vacation time off expecting a wonderful vacation and being disappointed. Needless to say, after this experience, none of us are interested in purchasing any timeshare associated with Grand Timber Lodge. While we are very likely to return to Breckenridge in the future we certainly will not be coming to the Grand Timber Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel10346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2009
Because Grand Timber Lodge is located in a mountain environment, not every building will have the same views. Due to natural objects such as trees or mountainside, some units get different views or less light than others. Guests may always request units upon reservation; however a particular room may not necessarily be guaranteed.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50158
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2008

My wife and I had the extreme pleasure of spending a week at Grand Timber Lodge (GTL) from August 31st through September 7th, 2008. We booked a 2 BR unit thinking we could share it with someone in the family but, alas, no one was able to join us in paradise. Our unit was #6302 so we were on the third floor of Building 6 facing Peaks 8, 9 & 10. The view from our balcony was breath-taking. I will attach a picture so you can appreciate what we stared at in awe for a whole week. Our unit also overlooked the pool and hot tub area so we were able to take note of the extensive maintenance and cleaning performed daily on these facilities. We had purposefully picked the week we did to avoid the summer crowds (and kids). There were still a number of pre-school children around but most of them seemed to be well behaved. GTL has quite a number of gas grilles stationed around the resort. They could/should have some instructions posted to help novice users figure them out though. Being a Design Engineer it still took me a couple of minutes to find the gas shut-off valve AND the in-line timer which prevents someone from leaving the unit on overnight. I still had to try two or three units to find one where the piezoelectric igniter worked. Some poor soul in Building 7 never did get his unit lit that I know of. 
We’d read every one of the 90-some reviews posted here and had some trepidations based on the negative ones. All we can say is those people (with the negative reviews) must live in the lap of luxury every day of their lives. GTL is a 1st class resort by anyone’s measuring stick! It was everything Mountainloft (our home resort) is and then some. The only deficiency we noted the whole week was the Business Center being off-line two days in a row. We booked our week through Interval International and, contrary to other reviews here, the unit we got was traded in by the owner, NOT an II unit.
We tried to check in early but, of course, our unit wasn’t ready yet. However, the desk was very accommodating and took care of the necessary paperwork then to short cut check-in later on. They took our cell number and said they would call us when things were ready. We did get a parking pass so we could park our car and use the GTL shuttle to go into town for lunch. BTW – our car never moved the whole week! We used the shuttle and the Summit bus system the whole time there. We did get into our unit about an hour early and spent the next ten minutes exploring our new “digs”. A Jacuzzi tub and the 2-head shower stall were earmarked for early investigations. ;-)
Breckenridge is an enigma! Predominantly a skiing Mecca for six months of the year it sustains itself during the summer with art festivals and the promise of other Rocky Mountain highs. The town was fairly crowded Sunday and Monday (Labor Day). However, Tuesday through Thursday was very quiet and much nicer for exploring the downtown area. One can spend untold hours wandering through the stores, museums and art galleries here. The Victorian architecture is maintained throughout the downtown area and makes for some very colorful pictures. Be sure to pay a visit to Maggie Pond on the South end of town. Beautiful vistas and unforgettable Kodak ops abound!
There are NO fast food restaurants in the city limits. The town is careful to maintain a higher standard of eateries (and profits)! We only ate out a handful of times during our week there so we’re not even going to mention our experiences but you better figure on a minimum of $20/person/meal eaten out.
We did take a train ride through Alpenglow Adventures with Joel as our guide/driver. This tour involved Joel picking us up at GTL and driving us to Granby, CO to meet up with the California Zephyr Amtrak train for a three+ hour ride to Glenwood Springs, CO. This ride follows the Colorado River the whole route and winds through four spectacular canyons on the way. Joel had packed us a tasty sack lunch to eat on the train which saved us from having to miss any scenery while eating in the dining car. He gave good suggestions on which side of the Vista car to sit for each portion of the ride. Then he met us in Glenwood Springs to chauffer us back to Breckenridge and GTL. Our only complaint was the cost ($199/person) compared to what the actual train fare was ($57.50/person). We realize a full-size van uses a lot of gas over 300 miles and that Joel’s time is worth a lot (to him) but we felt the tour was somewhat overpriced for what we got.
Frisco is a nice town on Interstate 70 some ten miles north of Breckenridge. They have a Wal-Mart and a nice grocery store where we bought our perishable supplies for the week. Frisco also has a very nice park downtown with many old buildings from its past; a schoolhouse, a trapper’s cabin, the first jail, etc. Each contains some relics of the building’s or the town’s history. This was definitely worth the hour or so it took to go on the self-guided tour.

  • Liked — The magnificent view from our balcony
  • Disliked — Intermittent Internet access in Business Center
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ksiemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Breckenridge is a great town to explore while on vacation at Grand Timber Lodge! Our proximity to town and our shuttle service make it convenient to access all the restaurants, shops, and sightseeing Breckenridge has to offer.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Overall this was a nice place to stay. This is a timeshare resort. We ended up with a 2 bedroom suite with 2 baths, living room and full kitchen. Room was beginning to show its age, spots in the carpet, worn out furniture, etc. That said room was clean and kitchen was well stocked.

Staff was good. Knowledgeable tour desk staff helped with excursions.

We visited during the summer. This resort is primarily a ski resort with easy access to the ski hills. Two heated pools. Our room in building three faced one of the pools. We were annoyed a number of times by loud kids in the pools. Next time I would avoid a room facing either of the two pool areas.

There is no air conditioning, which is common since it does not get hot in the mountains. Rooms became stuffy though if you kept the doors closed. I for one would not mind a corner room with some cross ventilation.

Parking is in garages under the buildings. Supposedly it is one parking space per bedroom. Parking spots seemed to be lacking even though we had two bedrooms and only one car.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy Pools
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hickup4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
The rooms at Grand Timber Lodge are cleaned and updated for two weeks out of every year, at which time worn carpets or furniture are fixed and/or replaced, and any other maintenance issues attended to.

Some guests like to overlook the pools, where more activity goes on - especially those with children (to keep an eye on them), while others enjoy peace and quiet. Guests may request either type of room; while we cannot guarantee a room we do our best to honor such requests.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

My wife & I were given a freebee stay when we purchased a winter week 2BR at the new Grand Lodge. Our 1 BR here at GTL was very nice, but overlooked the pool in Bldg. 3. We would have preferred Bldg 7. I would have liked a room with no crying babies next door also. But, on the plus side, I have a medical service dog who was welcomed warmly by staff and presented no problems, but other guests seemed miffed. That was their problem. After 2 nights we were asked to move to a studio unit. this was a problem as our son was coming up from the Air Force Academy and bringing his roomate, whom we had never met. A studio just would not work. Kelly worked very hard for us to find another larger unit,since the resort was full. We appreciated her efforts. The rest of the staff we met were all polite and helpful. We played golf at Copper Mtn, plus sailed on Lake Dillon and watched the 4th of July parade. we love Breckenridge and especially the Hearthstone Restaurant. We are looking forward to the opening of the Grand Lodge.

  • Liked — Breckenridge
  • Disliked — Noisy pool area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rancherAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
At Grand Timber, we feel that our staff is just as important as our accommodations and amenities. As such, we train our staff extensively to ensure our owners and guests have great vacations.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing