We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of a property you can get into on short notice”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were here during the shoulder season, which is when the resort chose to do much-needed renovations. The property we had reserved originally had been closed due to the floods, so we were left with a vacation and no place to go. Our timeshare representative suggested the Grand Timber Lodge as a replacement, so we came here. We were not told in advance about the renovations or the problems we would encounter as a result of the renovations. Had we known, we would likely have cancelled the trip altogether.

The good: the unit we had (one bedroom) was very spacious and had a balcony that had a nice view into the woods. The kitchen was large for a timeshare and had a number of items you don't normally find in a timeshare kitchen: crockpot, tea kettle, etc. It could have used more storage containers, but overall the kitchen was nice. There was a washer and dryer in our unit. The bathroom had two separate areas, one with two sinks and a jetted tub, and one with a sink, toilet and two-headed shower that was quite spacious and nice, though it didn't have a bench. There were a number of barbecue grills on the patios between the buildings. We were able to cookout easily. The covered parking areas were great and would be very handy in bad weather. There is a small workout room with a couple of treadmills, bikes and elliptical machines, as well as free weights. It wasn't a fancy workout room, but it was adequate. It was almost never used when we were there, so the number of machines wasn't a problem. There is a nice gas fireplace in the unit which turns on with a switch. We couldn't, however, use it. (See below). There is a "business center" in the main building -- a couple of printers and a printer. If that's all you need, great. Just don't ask the staff how to find it (see below). There is free wifi.

The bad which may be solved by renovation: The carpets in our unit and the hallways were extremely dirty. It appears that this may be resolved by the renovation, as the second day we were there, most of the great covered parking had been taken up by what appeared to be rolls of carpet. We were forced to park elsewhere, but at least it looks like the carpet will be replaced. The restaurant, which was closing for renovations, had a peculiar odor, so we did not eat there. It looked very tired and dirty; hopefully the renovations will improve its appeal.

The bad, which may or may not be addressed by the renovations: Our balcony, which was quite nice, was equipped with two very dirty, very old, very uncomfortable hard plastic chairs. All of the appliances were quite noisy: the refrigerator made a constant noise, the washer and dryer were very noisy when they were working, and the dishwasher was also noisy. Our main complaint was the heat. The resort apparently has two temperatures: heat and no heat. Although we had a thermostat in our room, it did not work. When we called to ask how to operate the thermostat (the room was sweltering), we were told that the heat was on and the only way we could control it was by opening the windows and doors. (This is a supposedly green resort. The energy bills must be astronomical). We kept our windows and doors open most of the time we were in the unit, but occasionally had to close them because of the cigarette smoke which was drifting up from below. Whenever we came in the unit, we were greeted with a blast of hot air.

The bad, which may be due to the shoulder season: None of the staff could answer simple questions about the resort. They were so lacking in knowledge, we finally decided that the people working when we were there weren't the regular staff, who must be on vacation because it was the shoulder season. Everytime we asked a question, the answer was ,"I don't know." Never a "I don't know, but I'll find out and get back to you," or "Let me get Teresa; she'll know," just a "I don't know." If we asked if there was anyone who would know, usually the answer was "No," or "Probably not." If we actually did get a name, we then had to ask if that person was available. Usually he or she wasn't. If this is the regular staff, I'm surprised the place has stayed in business this long.

The bad, which probably won't change: We couldn't sleep. The bed was uncomfortable, but the main problem was the noise from above. We couldn't decide if our upstairs neighbors were playing basketball or ping pong, but there was a constant banging on the floor above us , usually starting around midnight. They were still going at 6:00 a.m., and appeared only to rest in the afternoons. We thought perhaps it was construction noise and went upstairs to see, but the door was closed, and there was no evidence of any kind of construction going on. When we had the doors and windows open to counter the sweltering heat, we also got noise from outside.

We have stayed in many timeshare exchange properties, and this is the second worse we've been in. It's a shame, because it could be a very nice property, but it needs serious work, and the staff needs training.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi Lorowell,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Timber Lodge. We sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced while on property.

We appreciate your recognition of our beautiful property and would like to convey that certain housekeeping and maintenance upkeep must take place in order to keep our property up to date. In this case multiple floors had been blocked off for seasonal cleaning which can only occur when our resort is at its lowest guest capacity.

While your timeshare representatives may have been semi-familiar with our property, contacting the Grand Timber Lodge directly is always the best source for shoulder-season closures and cleanings.

Again, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we hope to do better in the future! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 810 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I had not been on a vacation since before our twins were born and we decided to do a "local" vacation. We just moved to CO less than a year ago and I had never been to the mountains so I was really excited. After seeing what was available through Interval and reading trip advisor reviews, we decided on the Grand Timber Lodge. I called about two weeks before our trip to request two pack and plays and two high chairs. While I was on the phone I also asked if we could have a room with a view of the mountains and if could be in an updated room. We were told because of our check-in day we would be in building 6 or 7 which had not been updated yet but would be updated soon. When we arrived I wasn't sure what they were planning on updating in the room because it was beautiful! Our check in process was quick and easy and the concierge was very friendly and answered all of our questions. We planned on checking out the new property but were not able to because I am currently not working. When we arrived in our room I went outside to our deck and was in awe of how beautiful it was. For a first timer at the mountains we picked the perfect place to stay! It looked like I was staring at a painting.

Between the free shuttle, the pool, and the Lodgepole Restaurant on the resort along with the stores and restaurants downtown we had a wonderful first family vacation!

Room Tip: Building 7 has the best mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi KatKemp,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We take pride in maintaining our property with the greatest care. We strive to make all Interval International exchange guests feel at home as much as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

No matter where you want to go, you will get the armpit room. The good rooms will go to the people they are trying to get to buy their timeshares. Even groupon users get better rooms. Good Luck!! Unless you want to pay more on top of your Interval Membership and the 199. usage fee for every trip.

Room Tip: Just try to get lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi Stephanie S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber Lodge, we appreciate your comments. I would like to assure you that rooms are assigned according to which unit the owner deposited with Interval International. With that said, the staff of Grand Timber Lodge will do our best to accommodate any specific room, building or view request, as we do value each guest experience.

The staff would like to apologize sincerely for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay! Our company strives to ALWAYS create great vacations, and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are ending our week's stay here in the morning. Enjoyed our stay very much. The resort is very clean,as are the rooms. Beds and pillows were comfy, although my husband thought a little soft. There is a parking garage under each building for your car, which is nice. We traded thru our time share and thought we were getting a studio, but ended up in a 2bed,2 bath unit. It was very nice,had all the amenities we needed. Only complaint we had was ....that due to the lock off , we could easily hear any conversation the couple and their child were having if they were anywhere near the door. The staff that we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. You are very close to downtown breckenridge . You could walk if you wanted to,but it's a little trek. The first day we took the free shuttle that the resort provides, which was very nice. You can't beat the service! After that we chose to drive since there was ample free parking all over town as it is off season right now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Edsej,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with your trading power. We are so sorry to hear that you could hear the guest next door. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity that Grand Timber Lodge offers that allows guests to take advantage of all that Breckenridge has to offer.

We are so happy you enjoyed your vacations as our company strive to ALWAYS create great vacations! We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here on a timeshare preview package. Studio was very nice and looked recently refurbished especially in the kitchenette area. The shuttle service was fantastic -- didn't have to move my car the entire trip. The shuttle drivers were friendly and the service was timely. Never waited more than 10 minutes for a ride from anywhere in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klcveep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Klcveep,

Thank you for your recent review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Grand Timber Lodge. We appreciate all the kind words you had to say about our lodge, amenities and staff. We pride ourselves on creating memorable vacations for our guests and are happy that this was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a nice condo for a visit to Breckenridge. The lodge is close to main street with all of the restaurants, bars and entertainment. You are also a short walk to the Gondolas so you have access to the Breckenridge ski area. We spent a lot of time mountain biking and hiking the vast amounts of trails available from the base area of the ski hill.. We really enjoyed biking down the mountain using the lifts on the weekends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwoods1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Norwoods1946,

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Grand Timber Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time at our resort! Thank you so much for your kind words – making a guest feel at home is always a wonderful compliment to receive. It was a pleasure having you stay at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This resort was a really pleasant surprise. We are Marriott timeshare owners and have had very good experiences with them, so we were extremely pleased to see how large, well decorated and very well equipped this unit was. We had a 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor with a great view of the mountain. We did notice that some of the lower units would not have had much of a view, but that is true of most resorts.
The staff was friendly and helpful with local information and activities. They have a large, warm indoor/outdoor pool and several large whirlpools. A real plus for winter stays would be the underground heated parking with ski lockers. Downtown Breck is a few minutes away with frequent free shuttle bus or an easy walk. Restaurants are plentiful and a good supermarket is a couple of miles away. Overall a wonderful place to spend a vacation! Our sincere thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Dan W,

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! We appreciate all the kind words you had to say about our lodge, amenities and staff. We pride ourselves on creating memorable vacations for our guests and are happy that this was the case.

We look forward to having you as an exchange guest for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing