We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Timber Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wedgewood Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Hotel(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skiway Lodge(Breckenridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveler rating
499
274
66
47
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
274
66
47
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar grillpools and hot tubsin townchristy sportstime sharethe kitchenshuttle servicefree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restauranttimeshare presentationgarage doorwasher and dryerbedroom unitnice resortpool tableother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 922 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are persnickety people when it comes to the cleanliness of our accommodations. Sometimes we even doubt what we read on Trip Advisor. They did not disappoint! We had a ground-level in building 3 that was spotless. If at all possible, try to get a 2nd or 3rd floor unit, as our view was very lacking. The underground "Batman Cave" parking garage was a very tight squeeze, but very secure. There were individuals in there with Tahoes and Suburbans who managed, we had a midsize Murano by Nissan. Employee awards include the following: John, the shuttle driver - he was extremely helpful, competent, and eager to please. The shuttle service is wonderful and allowed us to keep our vehicle in the garage for much of our stay! Andrea, the waitress in the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, was without a doubt, an individual who ran circles around the rest of the waitstaff. Our 15 year old boys enjoyed the pools, hot tubs, workout room and arcade. Take advantage of the free gondola which takes you to the main source of expensive family entertainment, the Breckenridge Fun Park! The gondolas give you a great view of the beautiful area, and they are free! Beware of the 16" pizza that costs $75 and the bottled water that runs over $4.00! A word of advice for those traveling from low altitude locations - you may want to spend your first night in Denver and then proceed to Breckenridge to allow for gradual altitude adjustment. The mile-high city is over 5,000 feet less in altitude than this resort. My husband suffered from altitude sickness almost the entire trip! The front lobby was nice enough without our asking to give us an unlimited free movie card to assist in my husband's enjoyment during our stay. Overall, it was a very positive experience in a beautiful location! DMZ

Room Tip: To the best of our knowledge, buildings 1-3 have been recently renovated and are very nice!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMZ112792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff and have passed on your appreciation to John and Andrea. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the amenities on site. We also want to thank you for the altitude tips for future travelers. It is true that altitude sickness can happen and it is always good to come prepared! We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We exchanged into here from Interval. The property is started to get dated but isn't terrible. The units need to be upgraded soon. The staff is pretty good and definitely helpful when it came to local activities. Our unit was average, nothing special. We went in the summer, which is a beautiful time to go to Breckenridge. Plenty of hiking and biking. The underground garage is fantastic and convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge! We are currently in the process of updating our property, and the updates include: new carpeting, bedding, beds, tables, paint, chairs, sofas, appliances, etc. This will be a process that will take about 3 years and we are in our first year of updates. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back to the resort again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were there for a week and had a second-floor, corner-unit one-bedroom. The room was great and had everything...well, almost! :)

The building basement has an underground garage that needs the room key to get in and is very convenient. The room is pretty big size with a fire-place in the living room. Big kitchen with plenty of cook ware. They provided coffee, hot cocoa, and tea bags (a variety of tea bags) in the room. There's Jacuzzi tub with his and her sinks in the bedroom, separated from the bathroom. They are very generous with the bathroom toiletries and supplies, and we LOVE the thick and huge bath towels.

The balcony was great and had a wonderful view, but would be better if there were a table to go with the chairs. The unit does not have any air-conditioner, only ceiling fans. It was hot and humid with the heat wave that we were having. There was no mid-week cleaning, but clean towels exchange.

One other thing was that there's no parking area for checking in and it was crazy just tried to park the car. We had to park the car on the street and had my husband walk to check in, and it took forever. However, the staff was very pleasant and helpful and I guess that made it easier.

There are a couple good things for this place. They have free shuttle to go downtown Breckenridge where has a lot of shops. It also goes to the grocery store if you do not drive and want to go grocery shopping. It is also very close to the Gondola, where you can take it to go up to 14,000 feet. In addition, this is a ski-in and out resort in the winter, so there's a ski trail right by the resort that you can walk up to a reservoir with pretty view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. It is great to hear you were very pleased with so many aspects of our resorts! We do apologize however that you experienced heat; we suggest guests utilize the swamp coolers and keep the shades down during the day as the sun gets very hot during peak times at our altitude. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our fully stalked units, kitchen, friendly staff, wonderful views and free shuttle. Thank you again for sharing your recent vacation experience - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didn't have hotel reservertion's as we drove into Breckenridge (long story). As I was on my cellphone checking out TripAdvisor, my husband was driving thru town. When I looked up, two cars ahead of us was the shuttle for Grand Timber Lodge. I took that as a sign and told my husband to just follow it to the hotel and that was where we were going to stay. Brad at the desk, was very helpful in getting us exactly what we wanted. The rate was good, but Brad said, if we attended a 90 minute time share presentation, it would even be a cheaper rate; so we took him up on the offer. Do it, it's worth the cheaper rate and the presentation was not so bad. We had an incredible "master suite" that overlooked the pool area. We were sitting on our balcony and a fox appeared from the woods. I could not believe it; seems like they are always around and friendly. The next morning, the fox returned with a little friend. We could not believe it and had never seen a fox up that close before. The resort offers underground heated garage parking in the unit you are in; nice feature. The "master suite" was like staying in our own condo. Dining area, beautiful kitchen, washer and dryer, living area with fireplace, balcony, king size bedroom, bathroom with separate toilet, shower with two showerheads, and on the other side, spa tub and 2 sink vanity. The spa tub was amazing by the way!! There is a restaurant onsite as well as a general store, but they were closed while we were there; you can rent as many movies you want for free for a one time $7 charge. Nice pools and huge hot tubs throughout. The hotel offers a shuttle to take you to/from the hotel to downtown. We would walk into town, but just call the shuttle to pick us up. It was very convenient. The front desk and staff are very helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! We appreciate all the kind words you had to say about our lodge, amenities and staff. We pride ourselves on creating memorable vacations for our guests and are happy that this was the case. Please come back and visits us and your new fox friends in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Grand Timber Lodge in early June. The service was excellent, the facilities were great, and we had a wonderful time. The concierge was particularly helpful in setting us up for a couple of day trips. It was a nice time to be in Breckenridge. The weather was pleasant but the summer crowds hadn't yet arrived.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank islander456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the amenities at Grand Timber Lodge. We strive to great wonderful vacations for our guest and are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience. We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews