We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Need Updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, Need Updating”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this location recently. It was a great price and great location. They have a free shuttle service into town and they will drop off and pick up anywhere in town which was great for our large group when we went out to dinner. We had a 2 bedroom /2 bath condo that slept 3 families. The only negative to the facility is it needs some updating- new carpet, trim, etc. Other than that the balcony was great and the pools were well done and comfortable to swim in- indoor and outdoor pools. Would definitely go back with a small family or large group. Also, they have free garage parking with a stay at the facility.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ebk1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the amenities on site and the location. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the resort again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    231
    49
    41
    33
See reviews for
315
219
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends had an extra room at their timeshare so I went. It has everything you would expect at the condo. My kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool. The must spend a lot on heat because the water was still warn while we were being snowed on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ptm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the Grand Timber Lodge. We are happy to hear we met your expectations and glad to know your children loved the indoor and outdoor pools. We do keep our pools heated throughout the year for the comfort of our guests, as it can get a bit chilly here in the mountains! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope you join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Great room with full kitchen and large living room with fireplace. Close to Snowflake lift and Beaver Run on Peak 8. Great amenities, bar and grill, pools, rec room, etc. close to town and shuttle service so you don't have to deal with parking in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review of Grand Timber Lodge. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our units, the location and amenities. We are thrilled you had a good stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just came back from a week long stay at Grand Timber Lodge(traded through interval international). We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2bath with 8 of us(4 adults and 4 teenagers). There was plenty of room. The kitchen was fully stocked with any pot, pan, utensil or aplliance that was needed(my friend and I were quite impressed). We were on the ground floor of building 6 facing the pool-it was a great location-the kids could walk right out, go down 2 flights of stairs,(to Christies sports)put on skiis and head over to beaver run chairlift. The 1st day that we skiied, there was quite a bit of snow so we could just about ski to the lift. A few days later there wasn't as much snow so we had to take off skiis and walk a little ways. It was so nice to be able to go back to condo and relax for lunch.Building 6 seemed to be the best bldg to be in-close to pool and hot tubs(you didn't even have to go outside to get to them), spa and Lodgepole restaurant are in bldg 6 also. The only complaint that i do have is that it was always so hot. We had thermostat all the way off and we still had to open the windows. We had a beautiful fox that would come and visit us on our patio every evening at dusk. Went to a few good restaurants in Breckenridge-Fatty's and Eric's were both excellent. We went to the O2 bar in town because some of us had altitude sickness. We have been to CO before but have never experienced this -we have also never stayed on the mountain before. Overall, I would highly recommend Grand timber-it's a nice resort in a great location.

Room Tip: building 6 facing pool on ground floor was great for walking in and out of patio to get to christies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank lpacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this great review on TripAdvisor of Grand Timber Lodge. It brings us great pleasure to hear positive feedback from guests who highly recommend the resort. We are happy you and your party of eight enjoyed our Two Bedroom unit, amenities and great location. We do apologize, however, that you experienced heat issues during your stay – next time you visit us, never hesitate to contact the Front Desk to make your stay as comfortable as possible! It is great you enjoyed the town and found a remedy for altitude sickness at the Oxygen Lounge. We are thrilled that you stayed with us for your first stay in the mountains, and hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not very convenient ski-in property at all depending on the building you are staying at - ski out is ok. Everything is charged extra like clean towels, room cleaning etc. We were told we would have our room "tidied" up (but no cleaning) daily & it actually happened only 1x in 4 days and my pool towels went missing from our room that day. Sauna was not working nor was the indoor hot tub. Room & furniture seemed really cheap (could hear neighbors clearly) - old style TV. There are so many better properties to stay at in Breck. The worst part was that we went on the tour for the Peak 7 property and the agent did not want to communicate with us at all when we said no to signing a contract for an $83,000 timeshare (or should I call it a deeded property purchase you share with 52 people). Very rude - he valued a 1 bedroom basically at $4 million dollars. This all left us with a bad feeling. The shuttle service was probably the only good thing when staying at this property. I think I've stayed at a so many better places in Breck previously that this just seemed like a step below what other properties offer in Breck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge and are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. It is always our goal to create great vacations for all of our guests and are truly sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Although you mentioned you enjoyed our shuttle service, we apologize you had a negative experience with the Sales Agent during the tour of Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We always encourage guests to speak with the Front Desk if they ever need anything – such as complimentary towels or extra cleaning services – during their stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a Studio Queen Room in Bldg 3. The room was in serious need of updating. Furnishings, bathroom & carpets were outdated and smelly. The room was extraordinarily small too. And, why not put King sized beds in studio rooms? My husband and I were constantly falling off of the bed! (I don't know if it was even a true Queen size.) Our son slept on the fold-out sofa sleeper -- he asked for a foam pad to help soften the mattress but they didn't have one. So, he settled for a a mattress pad with loft which helped a little. He doesn't recommend the sleeper sofa. Also, the heat in the building was overwhelming to the point that we had to prop windows open to get air, even through the nights. The front desk gave us a humidifier to help with dry air that resulted from the overbearing heat (we didn't even run the heater in our own room) but the humidifier didn't help much. Not the most pleasant 3 days we ever had! Despite the closeness, smelliness and uncomfortable bedding of the accommodation, the Lodge's location is nice and is a true skin-in if not a true ski-out (have to take skis off to walk across a road) and does have a few nice amenities -- hot tubs and swimming pools and heated parking garages. Restaurant and sundry shop are only open at lunchtime. Staff was very pleasant and always tried to please.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a Studio Queen or in Building 3 -- ask for the most recently updated room. And be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamstravelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. Whether positive or negative, we use all guest feedback to improve our resort to make your next stay better than the last. While we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, amenities, heated garage and our helpful staff, we are very sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay. It is always our goal to create a memorable vacation for our guests and we always suggest speaking with the Front Desk if you ever need anything. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and create a great vacation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
500 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Grand Timber lodge in Breckenridge is a great location. Needs a bit of furniture and TV updates, but the location and amenities make up for that. Ski slope comes right down to the property, ski rental on property with discounts for those on site, good sports bar and grill and great outdoor hot tubs/pools

We love Breckenridge and Grand Timber has free shuttle to/from anywhere in town...just call

Room Tip: Get third floor in building 7...great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for Grand Timber Lodge. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location, amenities, shuttle service and the Lodgepole Bar & Grill. We are happy you took advantage of all our resort has to offer, and we welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Property: Grand Timber Lodge
Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing