We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Timber Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$269
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Main Street Station(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$177
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lodge at Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$273
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$192
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mountain Thunder Lodge(Breckenridge)(Great Value!)
$236
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$175
$143
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveler rating
531
277
66
48
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
277
66
48
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar grillpools and hot tubsin townchristy sportstime sharethe kitchenshuttle servicefree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restaurantbedroom unitgarage doortimeshare presentationski seasonwasher and dryernice resortpool table
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 958 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We used points from Hilton Grand Vacation Club to stay here. Very low value for the points used. Not a true ski in ski out property. We were charged a large resort fee after we left ($238 for five nights). When we called about the charge we were told that it was disclosed to us in our confirmation and when we checked in. Neither is true. We will continue to dispute this charge. Rooms weren't clean (found black mold in master shower and raisins on carpet in main room when we checked in). Parking was underneath the building which was convenient. However, the parking stalls were so small that parking a large SUV was very difficult - and virtually every vehicle was a large SUV. Seems that would have been planned for at a ski resort. Overall, we were very disappointed and would not suggest it to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tjwilson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at Grand Timber Lodge. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our service in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation while staying with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the point value. The exchange fee is not something that Grand Timber Lodge charges, yet instead the company you exchanged through. This amount would not be quoted by our Front Desk, as they do not have the authorization nor the information on your exchange fees. We would suggest contacting the exchange company you worked with to resolve this issue. Regarding the cleanliness of our units, we sincerely apologize they were not up to your standard. In the future, if you have any concerns with our units, we would suggest contacting our Front Desk immediately, who would be more than happy to assist you with any problems. Also, for parking, we have eight different parking garages and always have enough parking for overnight guests. We are happy to hear however, that you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the garages. Whether positive or negative responses, we do appreciate the feedback and again thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge several times- the first time in December 2008 and we went twice this summer in June and July 2012. In December it truly is a ski in/ ski out resort and it is very convenient to get to when skiing the mountain; it's the perfect resort for a winter vacation. We've used our timeshare points through Diamond Resorts International each time we visit.

In the summertime the resort is great as well- my favorite time to visit the Breckenridge area. It's just a few minutes away from some scenic hiking trails. We hiked the Spruce Creek Trail to Mohawk Lakes and it's just a 10 minute or less drive away. There are plenty of other hiking trails nearby- you can't go wrong. Other than the fun summertime activities in Breckenridge, the resort has a shuttle that runs conveniently to Main Street in downtown- certainly worth browsing.

Once we arrived the front desk had warm chocolate chip cookies waiting- that was a pleasant surprise after our 2 1/2 hour drive from the Boulder area. The front desk agent was friendly and so was the concierge who gave us our parking pass- both enthusiastic about the area. The resort has planned activities throughout the week and they are prepared with info on Breckenridge events to help you make the most of your stay.

The two bedroom suites are incredibly spacious and simply fantastic. The studio room is much smaller, but it is enough for just a couple of days. It was helpful that even the studio room had a mini kitchenette with a fridge. The couch bed is as comfy as a couch bed can be. The rooms are very clean with a mountain feel to them and the rooms with balconies have nice views. I accidentally left an expensive bracelet and medicine at the hotel and the housekeeping staff sure enough had it labeled and found it for me on our next visit in July a month later when I was there- very much appreciated!

The resort is truly at the top of the mountain and is in a very picturesque location. From the hot tubs you can see the mountains and trees. The pools are pretty big and they have a few of them throughout the 8 buildings.

Overall, I'd definitely return to the Grand Timber Lodge and would recommend it. The accessible location maximize your stay to see the best the Breckenridge, the clean mountain rooms and friendly staff make this place shine above the rest in Breckenridge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge - It is wonderful to hear you have come back to visit us several times! It is great to know you experienced the resort not only in the Winter, but also in the Summer. Having the Rocky Mountains as our backyard offers many activities year round, as it is located in the heart of some of the most stellar hiking and skiing. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in, free shuttle service, friendly staff and our activities department. We are also happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed the rooms! It is great to hear from guests that the rooms are spacious, clean, have a mountainous feel and are overall fantastic. We understand after a long day of skiing or hiking, relaxing in the hot tubs and pools that overlook the trees and mountain is the perfect way to end a day in Breckenridge. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It brings us great pleasure to know you will definitely return and recommend Grand Timber Lodge to others – we are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from a weeklong stay at this resort for New Years. We traded our timeshare through interval international. It was perfect.

The Good-the grounds were nice and the room awesome. We had a 2br/2ba that was huge with 2 master suites and a jacuzzi tub. The living and kitchen area were really big with a table that seats 8 and full kitchen. The jacuzzis, pools, steam room, sauna were great. A couple of jacuzzis were cold because one had a waterfall going into it and the other was indoors and got splashed with pool water. The restaurant looked nice but we didn't eat there. Loved how you could rent ski equipment at Christies on site and could walk right over to Beaver Run Lift. Very convenient. We came back to the room for lunch daily. One thing that was appreciated was the grounds of the resort were heated so there was never any snow when driving or walking. Saw that in previous reviews that people complained about the parking garage but it was standard and plenty of parking. Appreciated that the garage was heated. We had a car but used the shuttle a few times and it was great. The shuttle picked you up at stop at hotel and then you called them to pick you up wherever you are and they'd be there quickly. You don't need a car at all.

The Bad-the size of the tvs. They were all flat screans but tiny. That might be ok in the bedrooms but not for the living room. Couldn't see scores of football games or watch a movie because screen so little. There were 2 jacuzzis that were cold-one because it had waterfall flowing in and the other was indoor and attached to pool so cold water splashed in. Housekeeping was a bit screwy. We had no washclothes in our room and towel/trash service was supposed to be Tuesday but they never came. I called twice and they said just busy so someone finally showed up with towels about 8pm but no one changed the trash bags/cans. We had to do it ourselves. Though they showed up with towels, washclothes this time, they forgot hand towels so had to come back. Also something very strange/concerning happened with housekeeping the day after we checked in. 2 people came by who we don't believe worked for the hotel and asked if we wanted daily cleaning service. Very strange because it's only supposed to be in middle of stay and just towel/trash exchange. Ran into a couple other guests in lobby who were saying same thing about being solicited about daily cleaning day after they checked in. One guy even took advantage of it. The front desk agreed that these people were not related to hotel and wondered how they got in-saying they'd check it out and get back to us. They never did. It's very concerning that strange people got into hotel and were soliciting cleaning business and that Grand Timber didn't seem to care. The concierge wasn't very helpful. I asked 2 different concierges what the prices of the lift tickets were and they said they didn't know. Lastly the timeshare sell was over the top. You check in at front desk then they send you over to concierge to supposedly get parking pass. Oh no this is a way to try and get you to do a timeshare presentation. A big sell and annoying. We did go on the presentation to see what the new building looked like and what the rooms go for. We were interested in a 2 br/2ba for New Years Week which sold for $180K-insane!!! Overall we loved The Grand Timber and plan on staying here yearly. Restaurant recommendations

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are very happy to hear you had a perfect ski-in, ski-out snowy holiday! We are pleased to know you truly enjoyed the spacious rooms, on-site ski rental shop, heated parking garage, free shuttle and convenient location near the ski lifts. We do keep the grounds heated as a courtesy to our guests, so it is great to hear you enjoyed that benefit as well! We apologize, however, that the television screen was smaller than you had expected; we do offer a large screen television in the lobby as well as at the on-site restaurant & bar. Regarding the housecleaning staff; we do take extreme pride and care in the security and privacy of our guests and our property. We were able to look at the history of this reservation, and during the time of your stay, we did have housecleaning temps assisting our maintenance staff. There was some confusion between the studio and master unit, and the lock-off portion to the unit you stayed in was scheduled for a basic clean. Your unit was confused for the lock-off; we are very sorry if this caused you any inconvenience or concern. We also take great pride in providing our guests with superior customer service. Management has been notified regarding the concierge desk not supply you with this standard. Despite this, we are very happy to know you had a great stay here with us at Grand Timber Lodge. Again, we appreciate you writing a response and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I have been staying in Breckenridge for years, as we live nearby and come frequently to ski. We had an opportunity to stay here at Grand Timber since a friend who owns a time share there offered us a free stay.

Never again. Ugh. What a blight on the city.

Problems began right at check in, with a 20 minute wait simply to check in. Long waits from the front desk would become a trend. We then discovered that we had been moved to a cramped studio instead of the 1 bedroom we booked, and we were offered no apology or opportunity to move. Already doubting the weekend, we went to ski until our room was ready.

They called and told us our room was ready. A few hours later we came, got our key, and went to the room to find it was still being cleaned. We called the front desk and waited for 20 minutes to get somebody on the line - finally I had to call on my own phone and remind them they had my wife on hold.

We moved in to the room, and immediately started a hot shower, only to find the drain wasn't draining. Fine maybe, but if anybody had actually been cleaning the tub, they'd have noticed that the tub didn't drain. Eww. Bigtime.

The list goes on too - loud baseboard heaters, paper thin walls (heard our neighbor discussing their 5th-grader's school troubles...), overcrowded parking, (we were not able to park one night since no spots were left) and so on. Some things are fairly unbelievable, such as a $8 turndown service, and an eye-popping $21 fee for new towels.

In summary, the entire experience was the exact opposite of the relaxing mountain getaway we had hoped for, and regularly find ELSEWHERE in Breck.

We were continually surprised and disappointed at the bald-faced money-saving and money-grubbing measures in effect here.

We've been coming to Breck for years, and this was by far our worst stay in Breckenridge. We won't be back.

Ugh.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole accursed place.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jake_latham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. We are sorry you experienced difficulties checking-in. Guests arriving to check-in do come in waves, therefore we keep a minimum of four Front Desk Agents available during high-demand check-in times. Please know that we do strive to always give our guests a high level of customer service and that we sincerely apologize for your frustrations at check-in. We are also sincerely sorry if there was miscommunication with your room being cleaned and ready. In regards to being placed in the wrong size unit, we were able to look back at the history of this reservation, and records show the promotion you took advantage of was for a studio unit. We do see that two confirmations were sent verifying this unit size to you on two different occasions, prior to your arrival at the resort.

In addition, we apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue while staying at Grand Timber Lodge to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations. Also, for parking, we have eight different parking garages and always have enough parking for overnight guests. On some occasions, guests do end up needing to park in a building that is different than the building they are staying in, if the parking in a particular building does become full during their stay. In regards to our additional cleaning services, we do not offer a turn-down service, but do offer other cleaning services for a fee. Receiving additional towels and linens are available upon request during your stay and this service is complimentary.

Again, we do apologize for your disappointment. We use the feedback from our guests as an opportunity to improve our property in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation experience and we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Grand Timber is an adorable and accommodating place to stay in Breck. They are one of the few hotels left with a concierge who even helped me find a place to watch the Bears lose on a Sunday while my boyfriend went off to snowboard. The bartender at their restaurant, whose name escapes me, was so sweet, as was the rest of the staff. The food could be better, but that is always the case with restaurant food. They also have a shuttle that makes about 1 million stops in Breck, which is awesome because driving around town can be a bit hectic.

We stayed in a 1BR which was huge, with two bathrooms (kind of) and three sinks, a standing shower with two shower heads and a huge two person bath tub. They have great toiletries which always make me happy.. The living room was cozy, except the couch felt a little cheap, but the fireplace was warm and the balcony looked out on to the pool. The kitchen was beautiful and had anything and everything you could ever need. I tried to wash my clothes in the washing machine and I am pretty sure it didn't work, but the dryer did!

My only issue was with exiting the parking lot under building 3 and 4. It was a very narrow turn and but a slight dent in my car, so be careful when making that tight turn!

If you can stay here, you should. It is quaint and not too hokey and not uptight at all, which is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay! We pride ourselves on creating great vacations, so it is fantastic to hear about your great stay with us. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our Concierge desk, the Lodgepole Bar & Grill and our free shuttle service. We are also happy to know you enjoyed our rooms, including the fireplace, balcony, kitchen, shower and bathtub. We apologize you had difficulties with the washer; keep in mind for the future that our Front Desk staff can always help you if anything is not working in the units. We sincerely apologize that you had issues exiting our parking garage. We do encourage our guests to be careful driving into the garage, yet it is standard garage entrance-size, large enough for cars, trucks and delivery vehicles. Thank you again for writing a review or Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you recommend Grand Timber Lodge to other future guests and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews