We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5 star”
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Timber Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge in September 2012 and I must say they came as close to a 5 star as any resort or hotel I have stayed. Our 2 bedroom condo had every amenity one could ask for. The one gripe I always have is there are never enough hat/coat racks and hooks to hang things on, but not here. Plenty to go around. Comfortable beds and furnishings. Even being on the 1st floor was a plus here as our patio opened up to the beauty of the mountains and we were visited nightly by two foxes. They came right to our door hoping for some sort of a snack, but I did not feed them as I know it is a disservice to the animals, but what a sight! My only complaint was the slatted blinds which let in too much light in the morning. Problem solved with a sleep mask, but I prefer a dark room for sleeping. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was more than helpful and always cheerful. We have already booked for 2013. One last thing...largest hot tubs I have ever enjoyed. PS Shuttle service into town is provided and was perfect when we didn't want to drive.

Room Tip: We were in building three and I think almost all of the rooms are convenient, but we have asked to b...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyG_5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We are thrilled to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We loved to hear that you enjoyed the property, your room, the resorts amenities and the Lodgepole Bar and Grill. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is very convenient to take guests to and from town. Thank you again for your rave review. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Grand Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 797 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Grand Timber Lodge was one of the best time shares we have exchanged into in our 27 years of exchanging with Interval International. We spent two weeks there: 1 week in a one bedroom which was spacious and well appointed; and the second week in a studio as no 1 bedroom units were available during the Labor Day week. The one bedroom unit rooms was outstanding. The studio was typical....nothing unusual. The staff was very friendly. The amenities were great. And Breckenridge is a wonderful place to stay....regardless of whether it is winter or summer. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2495jdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We love to hear about guests that truly enjoy their stay at the Grand Timber Lodge! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights with my husband. We had a one bedroom suite. The condo was really large with a nice kitchen - everything was provided to cook in the suite.
There was a huge jacuzzi tub and a shower. There were three sinks. Everything was comfortable except our bed. Unfortunately the mattress on the king bed was terrible. It was really hard. I slept on the sofa the last two nights. Needs a mattress "topper" or a new mattress. My parents had a queen bed in a studio suite and their bed was much more comfortable.
We were in building 6 - on the 2nd floor - (which was the 1st). Our deck looked out directly on a meadow. It was beautiful. We had two foxes that came up in the morning and evening. We had chipmunks and birds every day too. We felt secluded and it was quiet and peaceful.
We ate at the restaurant three times. The food was really good.
Friendly front desk staff. Resort is convenient to town with beautiful views of the mountains.


Would stay again; however, would hope for a better mattress..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge , we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations including the jacuzzi tub, fully stocked kitchen and your views! We are also so happy to hear that you enjoyed dinning at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill.

We are sincerely sorry the beds did not provide you with the comfort you deserve. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Keep in mind for the future that our front desk staff can have padding put onto a bed or they can also bring in a brand new bed if that is not sufficient. There is a wide range of preferences on bed firmness or softness and we definitely build on what we have. It truly is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations! Thank you again for your wonderful review, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just spent a week there with family and we each had our own master suite. Staff was great, rooms were also very nice and we had a great view of the mountains. The shuttle was also great, no need to worry about parking or directions and the drivers were fun and informative. The grounds were clean and well maintained with lots of flowers. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Location, location, location.Looking out over the Rocky Mountains. The hot tub is one of the best. Can walk into town or take the free shuttle.Beautiful land scape!Nice restaurants in town.
Quiet and peaceful. No free WIFI but it is cheap to buy. Would come back! Beds comfortable.Within driving distance over to Aspen for a nice lunch.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces and some don't. Inquire before booking.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roszeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the great amenities that Grand Timber Lodge has to offer. It truly is a prime location and has unmatched amenities. Please know for the future that we do offer WIFI at no charge in our Grand Room which is furnished with comfy couches and a large cozy fireplace. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 5, kids 10, 7, 5, spent last week at the Grand Timber. We had a three bedroom suite overlooking the pool and mountain. The suites are designed so that they can be broken into different configurations so we had two entrances adjacent to each other with both a kitchen and kitchenette. On the whole we found it to be servicable but not more. Here's a breakdown of the positive and negative from our point of view beginning with the positive.

The staff, from reception to maintenance, were friendly responsive. The location was convenient to town. The suite was spacious and the porch with a view of the mountain was very nice. The entire family enjoyed the hot tubs and the kids liked the indoor-outdoor pool configuration. It was nice to have a restaurant option on site. There was a working fireplace but we didn't make much use of it given the time of year. The shuttle service was convenient and the drivers were great.

On the negative side I would have to start with the finishes in the rooms. It would best be described as 1990 vintage bottom of the line Home Depot. Pine lumber cut to length and hit with a coat of poly served as the trim. The furniture, particularly the living room furniture, was badly faded and wasn't much to begin with. The color sceme was classic budget apartment medium brown and white. The restaurant was convenient but very limited and of sports bar quality. The keys never opened the garage or the outer doors as they were supposed to. There is a DVD rental machine for movies with a selection that just covers the bases and one fo the two movies we rented was badly scratched. We found the lack of any kind of hotel service be it bellmen, room service, maid service or on demand TV to be annoying. In fairness we could probably have known there would not be any of these things.

We had a chance to visit several other properties in the area and found them all to be better. Blue Sky across the street was much nicer in finish and furnishings in the common areas as well as the roooms. It probably would not be our choice as it didn't appear to have much in the way of a pool and no restaurant that we saw. It would be a good couples or family with older children choice. One Ski Hill is very convenient to the Fun Park as it is directly in front of it. The common areas were very nice. The Grand Lodge at peak 8, a sister property to Grand Timber, had much nicer common areas, a better pool and a better restaurant. Both One Ski Hill and the Grand Lodge offer the option of taking a shuttle or the gondola into town.

If you are looking for a high quality facility in Breckenridge I would recommend looking elsewhere. If you want a clean, pleasant place, a view and can live with Archie Bunker's recliner this will do fine.

Room Tip: The view to the mountain is nice but you get some noise from the pool in the 8-10 pm range.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town and its awesome amenities! We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We apologize that you were disappointed with the décor and the lack of services. That being said, we truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. As a timeshare property we do differ from standard hotels in several ways. The main difference is that we do not offer daily maid service. Our Housekeeping department does offer a variety of different cleaning services that are available for an additional charge, upon request. We are making great strides to ensure this information is included in all confirmations and also quoted over the phone. As for the décor, we do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary.
In regards to the issue with your garage and door keys, we encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, trouble with keys, DVD’s etc…) to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.

As you mentioned, we do have different properties within the Breckenridge Grand Vacations Family. We have three resorts and each property is different, which allows us to cater to each owners and guests needs. We are thrilled to hear you loved our newest property the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We do hope you will choose us as your vacation destination in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our 3rd time to stay at Grand Timber and won't be the last. Plenty of room for 6 adults and 2 children....using the fold out couches, of course. Our family loves the convenience of being within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops of Main St., but still have access to lots of hiking and biking trails. The beds and furniture are comfortable with dining table that seats 6 and 4 bar stools. Be aware that wifi is an extra $20 per week with a private server. The restaurant on site is very good and serves drinks to the pool area. There is a DVD kiosk inside the main lobby and you can rent a movie every day for the $10 weekly fee. The whole property from the grounds to the rooms are well maintained. Might be a little noisy for just couples, but perfect for families...it does quiet down at night, though. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We like being on bottom floor so we can store mountain bikes on porch and also don't have to wor...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtmtnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We are thrilled to hear you have chosen to stay with us the last three years and look forward to having you as our guest for years to come. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. As you mentioned, we do collect a small fee for WIFI services in the units. Please know for the future that WIFI is offered at no charge in our Grand Room which is furnished with comfy couches and a large cozy fireplace. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town, trails and its awesome amenities! We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Timber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing