We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveler rating
571
282
68
49
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
282
68
49
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar grillpools and hot tubsin towntime sharechristy sportsthe kitchenfree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restaurantshuttle servicegarage doorbedroom unitwasher and dryerski weekpool tablenice resortcrock pot
Filter
Updating list...
797 - 802 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our 3rd time to stay at Grand Timber and won't be the last. Plenty of room for 6 adults and 2 children....using the fold out couches, of course. Our family loves the convenience of being within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops of Main St., but still have access to lots of hiking and biking trails. The beds and furniture are comfortable with dining table that seats 6 and 4 bar stools. Be aware that wifi is an extra $20 per week with a private server. The restaurant on site is very good and serves drinks to the pool area. There is a DVD kiosk inside the main lobby and you can rent a movie every day for the $10 weekly fee. The whole property from the grounds to the rooms are well maintained. Might be a little noisy for just couples, but perfect for families...it does quiet down at night, though. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We like being on bottom floor so we can store mountain bikes on porch and also don't have to worry about small children on the balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtmtnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We are thrilled to hear you have chosen to stay with us the last three years and look forward to having you as our guest for years to come. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. As you mentioned, we do collect a small fee for WIFI services in the units. Please know for the future that WIFI is offered at no charge in our Grand Room which is furnished with comfy couches and a large cozy fireplace. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town, trails and its awesome amenities! We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a good place for families with children. Close to town so you can walk or take their free shuttle service. Grounds are pretty and well kept but thats where all the nice things end ! We were given a studio which I didn't realize until we arrived. I should have been given a one bedroom but will have to take that up with Interval. We did ask to be placed in a one bedroom after we saw how small the studio was and without a balcony and only one window which opened right next to the balcony next door. ( More on that later ) They said the lodge was fully booked but would place us on a list to be moved if something opened up. Our unit was right next to the elevator and the building was full of kids who could not come and go from the elevator without screaming, laughing, yelling and running. The unit next to ours with their balcony one foot from our window was full of kids who screamed, yelled and banged on things with a screaming mother who would yell out the patio door. The unit above us also had kids that were evidently watching the olympics and trying out their own moves and jumped off the furniture to the point we thought they were coming through the ceiling. There was also a baby someplace in the building who cried off and on the whole time. The man in the unit next to ours also found it necessary to go out on his balcony at 4:00 am to make phone calls. We finally went to the front desk and asked if something was available and could we moved because of all the noise. We were told they were full and to call security after 10:00 pm if anyone was making noise. This did NOT help because if we felt like taking a nap or just sitting quietly reading a book you couldn't for all the noise. The lodge is large and has 7 buildings,they need to make one available for couples who would like a nice quiet relaxing environment to stay in. Finally four days later we received a phone call saying they would move us if we gave them more money. I felt like it was blackmail. Sure we will try and make you happy for a price ! Where was a effort to try and foster good will or make a guest happy with good customer service ? After this and the terrible beds, lack of any place to put your belongings because the so called kitchen doesn't have one empty shelf to put your food, it has to be stacked on the floor. The bathroom is small and no space in it either. The bed was awful and because you have to keep your window open for air conditioning the noise is even worst. We left two days early and won't be back !!! I also called asked for more coffee and filters, they said they would be right there, I have yet to receive them.

Room Tip: Studios are very small and stuffy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review of Grand Timber Lodge. We value your feedback very much and try to make continual improvements in regards to both our property and our service.
First of all, we would like to apologize for our staff’s failure in delivering your coffee filters. This was completely unacceptable and we apologize for the frustration this caused. Please know that our maintenance staff will also review your comments regarding the mattresses and will take extra time to ensure the firmness of each mattress on property. And, while we do not have air conditioning on our property, as the temperature rarely goes above 80 degrees in Summit County, we do have devices in each unit that provide a cooling system for the units.
We are extremely sorry for your disappointment in the family atmosphere we have at Grand Timber Lodge. While we have based and marketed our organization from the beginning on creating great vacations for families, we most definitely want ALL of our guests to enjoy their time here on property. Please know that guests can phone our staff before their arrival to make special requests regarding their location and/or room preference so that you will be as comfortable as possible during your stay. While we strictly enforce quiet hours on property during the evening hours, we also are more than happy to make courtesy calls to surrounding rooms in the afternoon. In addition, our staff is trained to help find a room of your preference upon your check in; while it is difficult to know what units house families as opposed to couples, we can definitely try to place you in a unit of your liking to avoid frustration.
In addition, we are extremely sorry for your disappointment in your unit size and our property. July and August are considered to be high season months in Breckenridge, and therefore, most resorts in the area run at full capacity during this time. While we most definitely understand your expectations of receiving a one bedroom unit at our property due to the fact that you deposited that size with Interval International, there is often only studios available to accept when proceeding with your exchange during such high demand seasons. Please know that our staff nor our company would ever operate with the intent of blackmailing you into paying more money for an upgrade. On many occasions in our off season, we are able to upgrade guests at check in for no additional cost whatsoever. However, as you mentioned in your post, we were booked at full capacity during your stay with us. In an effort to fulfill as many guest upgrades as possible, our front desk staff does keep an upgrade request list in their office. We operate this list on a first come-first serve basis, and these upgrades are fulfilled with units that arise as a result of guests either having to leave their week early or from rooms that guests had to cancel after their week with us had begun. Keeping this in mind, please understand that this is why our staff did not contact you about an upgrade until half way through your stay. The one fee that is requested for this upgrade is for the additional cleaning expenses involved.
We hope that with this information, you will consider coming to stay with us again in the future.
Thanks so much again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here in May - it was beautiful. Unfortunately,May is MUD season. Beautiful weather but mud everywhere as the snow melt was occurring. Don't do early May. We requested a two bedroom and did not realize it would be a lock off. We could have taken another couple with us with all having plenty of room. Great, large kitchen and living room with fireplace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJR_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge. We are so happy to hear you had beautiful weather during your stay with us! As you mentioned, it was muddier than usual this May due to the unseasonably warm weather we experienced this spring. That is not always typical for the month of May. We are so glad you enjoyed your spacious room especially the fireplace and fully stocked kitchen. We are so happy you had a great vacation and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again for wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The GTL is an excellent place to stay while in Breckenridge because it is close enough to town that you can walk to everything and far enough away to give you a little exercise which most of us need.

The property is in great shape and there is a shuttle if you should want it. The pools are good, the grills are clean and the spas are populated by neat people.

Room Tip: Stay in bldgs5,6,7,8.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebudlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town and its awesome amenities! As you mentioned, it is very easy to walk to and from town or utilize the free shuttle service. We truly pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've stayed at timeshare resorts twice before and was disappointed because they seemed dirty and worn out. Grand Timber Lodge really surprised me. The room was impecable and had an awesome view of the ski slopes (but it was summer). The kids slept on the fold out couch which was not too comfortable but the master bed was great. The landscaping was really nice especially the area by the pools and hot tubs. There was an outdoor grill next to our unit. We used the free shuttle service but mostly rode our bikes everywhere, including on the trail to Frisco which was wonderful. The whole area is spectacular.

The only frustration was because half the pool is inside and the other half outside. I suppose when it is cold this is great. My kids frequently moved back and forth so it was hard to keep an eye on three kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the peak.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natashinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you liked the location of the property but are sincerely sorry to hear you were disappointed with the sleeper sofa and that it did not provide your children with the comfort they deserve. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Keep in mind for the future that our front desk staff can have padding put onto a bed. There is a wide range of preferences on bed firmness or softness and we definitely build on what we have. It truly is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations! We are so happy to hear you took advantage of the free shuttle and our awesome recreation path system. The ride to Frisco is a very fun activity! As you mentioned, the pool is partially indoors for those cold winter months and we are sorry that caused frustration for you and your family. Overall it sounds like you and your family enjoyed the property, we look forward to having you as our guests for years to come. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews