We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveler rating
572
282
68
49
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
282
68
49
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar grillpools and hot tubsin towntime sharethe kitchenfree shuttletimeshare exchangeon site restaurantshuttle servicegarage doorbedroom unitwasher and dryerski weekpool tablenice resortcrock potindoor outdoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I have just returned from an amazing stay at the Grand Timber Lodge. I must admit I was a little worried after reading the reviews because although were had visited regularly in the past we had not been to GTL for 3 years.
It was as good as I remember. The furnishings were great, the carpet clean. I had a little trouble closing a window but someone came to see to it straight away. The staff were friendly and helpful - we even got cookies as we checked in. The room was ready ahead of time. The room cleaning was immaculate and it was the BEST equipped self-catering I have ever been to.

The only down point was that I usually come on an interval international getaway - and yes the units I have been given in the past have often overlooked the air-conditioning outlets or garage door. However I have come to see that as the price I pay for getting such a great late deal price. In this case I was in Unit 6304 - and the bedroom window was above the air-con outflow. However as I was never on the balcony (it was freezing) it hardly bothered me.

I would like to say - well done Grand Timber Lodge. I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kayds70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

At Grand Timber Lodge, our family commitment is great vacations. We want owners and guests alike to feel like they are a part of our family! Our staff are always available to help guests with anything from broken appliances to making restaurant reservations. Taking advantage of these resources is always encouraged.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

First time at GTL and Breckenridge and we had a great time. Late ski season meant no lines and easy manuvering. Just purchased timeshare resale based on reviews here and other sources and have found excellent value, especially compared to other outstanding ski locations and lodging locations here at Breckenridge.

For party of 6 (2 adults, 4 teens), two bedrooms with sofa pull-out in living room worked great. Plenty of room for all and no one complained. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Full kitchen facilities and has washer/dryer. For a ski lodge location, this is an excellent facility (remember that ski locations get beat up fast). They definitely maintain their place well. We had only one small problem with dryer and they had a man there within 15 min to correct it immediately (truth be told, we did not how to use properly).

Ski-in is definitely correct. Ski-out is a stretch but is still easy to get to sloops. Of course they have free shuttle service if needed. Christy Sports has shop right on premise so we left our equipment there overnight and avoided carrying equipment around. Rentals and equipment repairs can be handled right there - that's easy.

After a day on the sloops, going to the hot tubs and pools is lots of fun. Hanging poolside, either indoors or outdoors is a treat sloopside. You can watching skiers on sloops - too bad the terrain park wasn't in view otherwise that would be a homerun. You can grab a lunch or drinks right next to the pools/ hot tub.

GTL tries to make some activities for the kids (cards,mixer,etc)during the early evenings. With late season, there were not too any kids around, but certainly made friends in and around pool area. DVD rental (limited selection) available, as well as wi-fi connection. TV's in each room.

Easy access to downtown Breckenridge - great food, interesting shops, places to go - this is why this resort - Breckenridge - is great. As with all ski resorts, make sure you bring plenty of $$$. Nothing about the ski experience is cheap.

Finally, skiing at Breckenridge was a blast. Varied terrain areas, terrain parks for the snow boarders in our group. Watch out for the thin air - I had a headache for quite a while and was taking medication constantly to maintain it. Got to the top at 12,800+ feet. Talk about getting high. Bowl skiing, tree skiing, cruisers, bumps - had it all.

I can assure you that your experience at GTL and Breckenridge will be a good one. We will be back in 2009.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank edtompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

It is great to know when a new owner has a great experience at Grand Timber Lodge! Any satisfied owner can refer their friends and family to us; they can come to Breckenridge on a discounted (or free) vacation, tour our new property, and see what our owners love so much! Information about the Friends and Family Rewards program is on the Grand Timber Lodge website, or just give us a call.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This vacation was an exchange with Disney Vacation Club. I've got to agree with the good and bad reviews. This resort has MANY wonderful qualities. Beautiful grounds, big rooms, very thoughtfully designed amenitites, lots of big, fluffy towels, great washer and dryer, comfy beds. We had a very nice huge 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was beginning to look a bit shabby though, and there were some issues. Our unit smelled horribly upon check in, but was ok once we aired it out. The carpets were so dirty that we wore shoes all the time. The dresser drawers had hairs and debris in them..luckily there was a good disenfectant cleaner in the unit, so I "got" to clean on vacation. There were some light bulbs out, and the ones working were very low wattage..we had to have all the lights on all day long, as we had a very dark unit..no real good natural light. There were some other small maintainence issues...all this more the fault of bad housekeeping and maintainence, not the unit itself. I've got to agree that the staff is pretty indifferent..we had bad experiences with check-in, the bar and grill waitress, and the concierege..she would NOT take no when we refused to sign up for one of those "buy here" tours...it took us 4 times saying no before she gave up. We are pretty forgiving travelers, but this staff was the worst we have encountered in a very long time...and certainly never encountered at such a highly rated resort.The biggest disappointment was the total lack of even a mountaintop to look at from our unit. We were here for views and peace and quiet...after all it is September, the very low season out here, and we even left a day early because of noise and no views unless we left our unit. We were in building #1 and faced the inner courtyard. Our "view" was into another unit across from us. Yuck! The noise factor was a real pain over the weekend. We were fortunate enough to get a top floor room, but were RIGHT over one of the two pools..and let me tell you, with no AC here, thus forcing us to leave the windows open, the NOISE was horrible when kids were in there screaming, yelling, and crying. And let me tell you, there were kids and noisy young adults splashing in the pool from open to close over the weekend..UGH! It was not busy the week we were there, so hall noise was not an issue. But, from what we did hear, when this place is full, the hall noise has got to be quite irritating too.The good out weighs the bad here, and if you are lucky enough to get a unit that has mountain views, is on the top floor, and away from the elevator and pools, this will make your off season vacation a great one. During ski season, this has got to be a fantastic place to stay...it's close to the gondoloas and everything else. And the rooms are huge...after skiing all day, a unit here would be most welcome..and noise probably wouldn't be a problem what with being exhausted from hours of skiing. We will be back, Colorado in the fall is gorgeous...and hopefully, the management will take charge of a very lousy staff, and make this a top of the line place to stay once again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank horselover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2009

Some units at Grand Timber Lodge experience more wear and tear throughout the year than others, however every room goes through two weeks of maintenance and updating each year. Our maintenance staff is always available to fix damages or problems in the units during dates of stay as well.

Due to the mountain environment and difference in location of each building, it is natural that some units will have different views and/or amounts of natural light. Depending on availability, anyone may request a certain building or unit. It will not be guaranteed but we do our best to honor such requests.

Grand Timber Lodge is a family resort - many owners have purchased with us with the intent of using it for family vacations. At busier times, there may be more children on property and more activity and/or noise, particularly around the pool and recreation areas.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This resort is very nice but we got one of the worst rooms in the whole place. Building 5, ground floor. There is a major problem with the lack of soundproofing - we could hear people walking on the floor above us and when they filled their tub at midnight the first night of our stay, it sounded like a jumbo jet was taking off above us. We complained to management at checkout but they were indifferent to us!

Our suite was very nicely furnished and clean and if we had been given a top-floor room, this review would probably be a lot more positive.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank harborette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2009

Guests to Grand Timber Lodge can always make requests for rooms - such as top floor, facing toward or away from pools, etc. We will do our best to honor these requests, though we cannot guarantee a specific room.

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Our 2 BR unit was beautiful and in excellent condition. The staff replied very promptly to small requests. The pools and hot tubs are in great condition with a fabulous view of the mountain. Grand Timber lodge is not in a secluded area. It is very near town and ski lifts so the view from your private deck may be of other buildings or trees. The studios don't have a deck. Breckenridge is a great base for all kinds of summer activities, hiking, mountain biking, fishing, rafting, horseback. Go to Rusty Spur for a long, wonderful horseback ride. Our unit was near the laundry room so we got some smell from the vents. But all in all, we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank travel9865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2009

Breckenridge and the surrounding area have tons of great activities to do in the summer, for all different ages! Our activities desk, located in building 6 on the first floor, can be a great tool for owners or guests unfamiliar with where to start looking for fun things to do during the summer. The activities desk can arrange for things like rafting trips, horseback riding, even restaurant reservations!

-Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews