We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water House
Nashville
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“decent enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first trip to Breckenridge and certainly won't be the last (we typically go to Beaver Creek). We booked pretty last minute so this was the best we could get. We rented a 4 bedroom which was spacious enough (although doesn't hold a candle to the stuff we've rented at Beaver). Kitchen was very well equipped as were the bathrooms but the beds (at least in our unit) were horrible.

The location is the reason we would not stay there again. For some i'm sure it would be fine, but we have been spoiled by true ski-in/outs over the years. This one we had to walk through the underground garage to get to the ski holding area and then drag our books and skis up the stairs a ways to finally arrive at the ski lift area. We were exhausted by the time we got everyone up there and situated and at the end of a long ski day too exhausted to do it back again.

It was, however, convenient to walk to restaurants at that end of Main Street.

The pool and hot tub were located right beside the ski holding area so required walking through the same underground parking, outside down a path..... We didn't bother.

All in all, decent enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNConstanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

These units are all individually owned so there may be variations. We were in unit 5404 (3BR) on the top floor. It was a very spacious unit with vaulted ceilings. It wasn't as luxuriously appointed as some units we've stayed at in Beaver Creek but for the price I was quite pleased. The kitchen was well stocked with nice dishes, glasses, utensils and top notch appliances, both large and small. It also had cable with all the premium channels. Our only legitimate complaint about the actual unit was the master BR bed. It had a Sleep Number bed for which the owner had hidden the controller in the owner's locked closet. It took us two days of miserable sleep on a rock hard bed to get management to find the controller so that we could soften the adjustable bed.

As for the location, Water House is part of the larger Main Street Station complex. The actual Water House building is tucked in behind so the pool and hot tubs are a ways away. As such, we didn't use them. The location is very convenient to all the shops and restaurants on Main Street. As for skiing, getting to the slopes is a bit of a pain. First you have to get to the storage concierge area which is a bit of a walk to an adjacent building. Then you have to hike about 200 yards, up a flight of stairs to get to the lift, carrying your gear. Not the end of the world, but not ideal either. We prefer true ski-in ski-out but we booked too late.

In summary, what we paid represented good value compared with what we've paid at other resorts. If you don't mind walking to the lift and are fine with no amenities (hot tub, pool, gym,front desk) in your actual building, as opposed to an adjacent one, then Water House is worth considering.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Laud FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

3 Adult couples spent 5 nights at Water House in the East building and could not have been any happier! Location is perfect for walking Main Street after a day on the slopes and getting to the slopes is a breeze while storing ski equip at ski valet at Main Street Station. Our unit was a 3/3 and was equipped with top of the line appliances and plenty of dinnerware and wine glasses! We opted to cook in for breakfast every morning and enjoyed cooking dinner in a couple of nights. It was so comfortable and spacious. We ate at South Ridge Seafood one night and it was one of our favorite places in Breck. I have been to Breck numerous times and South Ridge is def. among our favorites. Service was exceptional and friendly and the food was amazing. Don't miss the Ruby Red Trout! Already looking forward to our next ski trip and The Water House is on our list of favorite places to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PCef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The layout, decks, location, design were excellent. Once we got the car in the garage, which was kind of a maze......we left it there and walked or used the shuttle. The service and friendliness of the registration staff was complementary also.

Room Tip: I loved being on the creek side and having not only one, but two balcony patios that looked right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Water House is a great place for a couple to spend some quite time or for a family weekend get together. Located off Main Street it's within walking distance to everything!
Water House is one of the nicest properties that we have ever stayed in. We were there in the month of July the weather was perfect, Water House was great and it has been the trip that we have ever had!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.0 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.0 mi away
Water House on Main Street
Water House on Main Street
#7 of 75 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Junction
Main Street Junction
#27 of 75 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Steirmark Condominiums
Der Steirmark Condominiums
#56 of 75 in Breckenridge
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Mountain Lodge
River Mountain Lodge
#8 of 75 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water House

Property: Water House
Address: 505 South Main Street, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Water House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing