We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent, comfortable place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valdoro Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valdoro Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at this resort for a week and were very, very happy with it. No qualms about going back and staying there again.

We had a 3-bedroom condo with a fireplace, full kitchen, and living room. Gorgeous views on the 4th floor. It had a TV in every room and DVD player in the living room. The master bedroom has its own bathroom, and the two other bedrooms share a large bathroom with a shower, jacuzzi tub, toilet, and large sink area. 5 of us shared that bathroom and it was plenty of space.

The resort is walking distance to town and is conveniently placed in the city. Nothing is more than a 10-minute shuttle drive. The resort provides a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in town, even for a trip to the grocery store. Most people tip the drivers, but it's still cheaper than renting a car, and safer if you don't know how to drive in the snow. The customer service is great and the staff is prompt and helpful. There is a nice bar/lounge in the hotel with a fireplace. It also stocks board games, a pool table, and foosball. We took advantage of everything and had a blast with our family.

The resort has nice hot tubs and you can also book massages that are done on-site. My recommendation about the massages is that you be careful and specific about the cost when you book them. Their website said it was $85 and when we were done she charged us $90. I argued but she wouldn't back down. They are nothing amazing, but it's nice to be able to walk down from your hotel room and get a massage. It's also nice to be able to get one after a long day of snowboarding/skiing.

My only qualm is that they did not clean our room during our 5-day stay. They indicated that they only clean rooms if you are there for 7 days, and then they clean it once in that 7 days. However, the room all have washers/dryers/vacuums, so you can easily tidy up yourself, which is what we did.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burbankqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    126
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
371
209
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

If you love to travel and enjoy staying at better than average places with all the comforts and conveniences of a home away from home...this would not be the place to stay. It was okay...nothing special. Our two bedroom condo was very average (almost less) compared to most places we stay in....quite small too. The beds and bathrooms were nice and spacious but the living/kitchen area not so much. We are also diamond members and HGVC owners so I would have thought they would have given us a nicer or upgraded room. It is a short five-ten minute ride to the slopes on the free shuttle bus which was not always readily available and usually full. We were frustrated more than a few times with the transportation. The pool was a true disappointment however they are building their own now....hottubs were fine and it was nice to have two of them. The owners lounge was a nice touch for our teens and was a place to have a drink, watch tv, play pool or a board game. I really enjoyed the town of Breck...it is quaint with great shops and restaurants...the skiing was wonderful too. If I went back I would prefer to stay somewhere closer to the slopes. I am somewhat saddened that Valdoro wasn't as nice as I expected it to be...if they changed some furnishings, made the lobby larger or homier, pool area altogether redone and had a restaurant or bar on site I may consider going back......The place does need a little more love.

Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nkodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands - uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

Stpped here for a week. Have to say I was impressed with the standard of accommodation. Close to the skiing and free transport to wherever you wanted to go in the village.
Bit expensive shops and restaurants in Breckenridge though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank datacell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

We visited Breckenridge the week before Labor Day Weekend. In colorado the kids are back to school then and it was very quiet during the week considering it was late August. We enjoyed the mountainside retreat. We stayed at the Valdero Mountain Lodge in Breckenridge. Our two bedroom condo was furnished with the best kitchen materials we have ever had in a time share. The space was adequate for a three bedroom but have stayed in other Hilton Vacation Club properties that had more living space for three bedrooms. The facility had pool renovations going on so we did not have pool access. They did have two hot tubs but one didn't work as well as the other. It would have been nice for the establishment to have made arrangements to use a nearby pool at one of the other facilities close by.

Desk help was ok but not like other Hilton establishments we have visited. The mountains were beautiful and we horse back rode and hiked. There are not at lot of things to do without a half hour to 45 minutes away. The town of Breckenridge is quaint and lots of shopping. One good thing about summer visiting is you can pick up some ski clothing on sale as well as equipment.

The people at the chanber of commerce were very helpful.
We would visit in the winter to ski sometime in the future but would not recommend it for the summer visitor.

Helpful?
Thank fantistic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The first thing we noticed when we came into our room was that it was extremely clean We were put on the 5th floor which was quite nice because of the tall vaulted ceilings. The facilities were very nice and the staff very friendly. They have a free shuttle service that will take you wherever you want to go in town and will pick you up when you are ready to return. They were fast and efficient. The hot tubs were clean and the robes the hotel provided made it convenient to head down to them. The pool was being rebuilt while we were there but we didn't miss it much. It looks like it should be a nice facilitly when complete. The rooms were very quiet and we didn't hear any outside noice the entire week that we were there. They have an area for you to store your skis during the winter. I would gladly go back to this hotel when in Breckenridge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aapear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stopped in Breckenridge while on a several day 'tour' of Colorado. The Valdaro had the largest, most comfortable and quiet room of our stay. We used a AAA rate and felt is was very fair price for a holiday weekend. We checked in with Viktor, he was quite helpful and gracious. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom Villa on the top floor overlooking the town. (The rooms facing over the town have the best view; the backside faces other condos or hotels and is too close to the mountainside to see anything). The room was exceedingly quiet; the beds were most comfortable. The fireplace was a great touch, despite Labor Day weekend; the night temperature was 37 degrees.
Our daughter enjoyed having her own room and TV. All the rooms had nice high ceilings. The room had 3 flat screen TV's, 3 ceiling fans and two bathrooms. Free laundry in the room was helpful after several days of travel. Free parking under the hotel was convenient, the space is a bit tight, but adequate with the hotel being sold out. My wife and daughter took advantage of a special at the Spa and very much enjoyed their experience. We asked for a recommendation for bicycle rentals from the concierge, the referral was to a very nice and accommodating place with a hotel discount. The hotel is located up a hill from the village; if it were not raining in the evening we would have probably walked the approximately half a mile to the center of town.
The business center closed at 10 PM, but the night auditor was kind enough to reopen it so we could reconfirm our travel plans for the next couple days. The concierge desk closed at 5 PM, the gift shop/ pantry closed early as well.
As to Breckenridge, we enjoyed it more than Vail or Aspen; it was very vibrant with many shops and many friendly shop owners. It has a good mix of shops and restaurants.
We asked to extend our stay, but a full house prevented this.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedSomeSunNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulip fields
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

That is how it feels every time we come here.
We have been in February every year since opening and we still love it. We always have a 3 bedroom and an additional 1 bedroom for our friends. Just great - living area in the 3 bedroom is large enough to fit all 10 of us, beds are heavenly, location to ski school is great - even my now 4 years old can walk it easily. If the shuttle is leaving, we will take it, but if it's not there, we just walk - no problem.
There is nothing we do not like in Breckenridge - and especially the Valdoro. (We have never visited the pool though, so couldn't comment on that.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sml168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#6 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdoro Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdoro Mountain Lodge

Property: Valdoro Mountain Lodge
Address: 500 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valdoro Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valdoro Mountain Lodge is located in Breckenridge, Colorado at the base of peak 9, just two blocks from Main Street. Valdoro Mountain Lodge features one and two bedroom suites, with a gas fireplace and full kitchens. Two outdoor whirlpool spas are just steps from the spa and fitness center. A game room for children, a relaxing sauna, and many other activities await you in the splendor of the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Valdoro Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valdoro Mountain Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Breckenridge
Valdoro Mountain Hotel
Hilton Hotels Breckenridge
Valdoro Lodge
Valdoro Mountain Lodge Breckenridge Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing