We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Main St gem”
Review of Twist

Twist
Ranked #28 of 154 Restaurants in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off Main St gem”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is my second review of this place and I can say, two years after our first review and three after our first visit, this place is still a favorite in Breckenridge. Its cozy so reservations are a good idea as it has a loyal following of regulars. Two blocks off the main drag and unimposing from the outside (looks like a house more than a restaurant) Twist is one that you don't find by accident. Friendly yet professional service (they know their wines) great imaginative twist on comfort food, and warm inviting atomsphere all make this one to find. Beer cheese Mac n cheese appetizer (with bacon crumbles) got us going. I had the cheesesteak meatloaf which I thought sounded disgusting by name but hearing it discribed said what the hell. Glad I did! Ate the whole thing! Unlike any meatloaf I've ever tasted, fortina mashed potatoes and cauliflower with an A1 glaze, mmmm.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjtmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    100
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
264 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at Twist for the first time in a couple of years and it was great. We started with the pineapple jalapeño pork wings, which were amazing. My husband had the pork chop (the best he ever had-very high quality) and I had the Philly steak meatloaf, also very good. As a side we had the beer mac & cheese, which was good, but could've been cheesier and the beer flavor a little more subtle. They still had the delicious cupcake gelato that I remembered from our last visit, so I had to order it. Twist will definitely be on our Breck restaurant list for future visits.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Taking comfort food to a new level.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

"twist" is one of several wonderful Breckenridge restaurants offering foodies a creative and delicious experience. I started with the St. Supery cab and a serving of "Chex mix" twist style. My husband ordered the salmon that came with creamed farro and cauliflower. With a gluten sensitivity, the restaurant substituted sweet potato fries and brought an additional side of grilled (versus pistachio) brussels sprouts. Is it really possible to screw up such delicious vegetables….you bet! Haven't we all been to restaurants that couldn't get the basics right? His meal was very satisfying. I ordered the Grecian style lamb tacos (ample serving of three) and a winter field greens salad with mouco cheese and a wonderful dressing with crushed marcona almonds. Both of these appetizers were more than enough for a meal. I am giving "twist" a Very Good rating as opposed to an Excellent, because, let's face it, in a world of inflated ratings this is not the James Beard House. However, within the Breckenridge community, it is a wonderful restaurant and one that we typically frequent on our trips to the mountains. Additionally, kudos to Breck restaurants for consistently being sensitive to food preferences and allergies by creating menus that readily offer delicious alternatives.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1apple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure how anyone could not give this five stars. We started with the traveler drink and Malbec wine both great. Then the Lemmon seared tuna pitas! Loved them, we split the buffalo chicken tried steak. That was so flavorful. Had the goat cheese pomegranate cheesecake AMAZEBALLS! Going back Friday. So five drinks total, appetizer, entree, desert and 20% tip $100!!!!! So worth it

Helpful?
Thank elf202000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not much of a selection on their menu but decided on the goat taco's. I got sick later that night and was ill all the next day from the food. The house special (some hot drink) was terrible as well. Sorry... just telling it like it is. My son had the special (filet mignon) which I sampled and was good but $32!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twist also viewed

 

Been to Twist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing