We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mule not included (except for customer service)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lodge on Peak 7
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mule not included (except for customer service)”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were told this was ski in ski out and the ski school was on the property by central reservations (phone number on Breckenridge Ski Resort website). When we arrived we found that was not the case. Shelby, the supervisor for central reservations, was the most argumentative and least professional customer service person I have ever dealt with (India included). She said we were within 30 days and there was nothing she could do, despite the inaccurate information provided by Rachel when we booked. The manager of the facility was pleasant, understanding, but she would not let us out of the reservation either.

So having no other alternatives we tried it. While the resort is ski in and ski out, it is on the Independence Chair which offers only blue and black runs. This is not an option for my 5 and 7 year skiers with little experience. The Ski School is a Gondola ride away. Our locker was all the way on the other end of the building from the Gondola. We asked for a different locker. You guessed it. They couldn't help us. So to get kids and gear to ski school or to a lift with green runs requires a mule and forty-five minutes. No kidding, a shuttle from an in town condo would be better and require less walking.

The condo's are pretty with stainless and granite. But that is where the nicety stops. If you have kids and want easy access to ski school, try One Ski Hill or several sites at Peak 4.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We apologize that you had difficulties with Breckenridge Central Reservations; I would encourage you to contact them as the manager would appreciate hearing feedback regarding his employees. It is unfortunate that you feel the location of Grand Lodge on Peak 7 was misrepresented as having a ski school right on property. The nearest ski school is at Peak 8, which is a Gondola ride away. The Gondola is approximately 100 yards from Grand Lodge on Peak 7 so is just a short walk away. So again, we do apologize for your frustrations with the reservations process and the location of Grand Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    95
    36
    23
    17
See reviews for
274
182
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The lodge is beautifully situated at the base of peak 7. Compared to other time share facilities, this property has excellent amenities - on site restaurant, lobby bar, ganme room, spa, etc

Visitors should be aware this lodge sits above 10,000 feet and those not used to the altitude will have a problem adjusting for several days. This affected several people in our group to the point of severe discomfort.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkalen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities but are sorry to hear that several people in your group experienced altitude sickness. As Grand Lodge is located at about 10,000 feet above sea level, guests who are not accustomed to this altitude should take the proper precautions. We encourage guests to drink lots of water and also have ibuprofen or Tylenol available in the case of headaches. It is also vital to take it easy upon arriving at altitude, rather than immediately exerting oneself, so that you can give your body the time to get adjusted to the elevation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERWYN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The good news - this place is ON the slopes - you could not have better ski-in ski-out access. The bad news is that it is ON the slopes. It is 2 miles to the town of Breck, so if you want to go out for dinner, shop, etc. you have to drive, or take the free shuttle, neither of which is as convenient as if you could walk to town. So that is the tradeoff, but it sure is nice to be on the lift a couple minutes after you walk out of your room, and you could easily come back for lunch and be done just as quickly as if you went in a lodge.

The place is also beautiful - it is almost brand new, so everything is modern and nice. Great lobby, pools, etc. and a very helpful concierge. I also want to compliment the builder on having designed such an attractive building - although based on the "management responses" to other posts they will not hesitate to pat themselvs on the back in their response!!

We had one of the studio rooms. Nicely done, but small - sort of like a glorified Winnebago. Just a 2 burner stove, dorm-style fridge, dishwasher and microwave. No oven. The only windows were in the bedroom, so it was dark, but again nice - just be prepared for it to be small.

The heat has been mentioned elsewhere - had to keep the window open and heat off all the time or we would have melted. Had someone been staying on the pullout in the living room they might have roasted to death - it was hard to cool that room without it having a window. This building must have been built mostly out of insulation!!

Finally a shout-out for having free wireless!

Good chance we would stay here again, but we would upgrade to a one bedroom. The decision point for us will be whether we like being that far from town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We would like to take this opportunity to address the heat issue that guests and owners have been experiencing at Grand Lodge as of late. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort that you experienced due to the heat issue. During the planning of the Grand Lodge, it was decided that the resort would not feature air conditioning in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs. In fact, very few resorts at 10,000 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. However, the passive solar gain that we experience from the intensity of the sun at our elevation coupled with the high value of insulation required by our strict energy and building codes (and to minimize sound transmission between rooms) do often result in trapped residual heat.
First and foremost we suggest you open all windows and balcony doors and turn on your ceiling fans as the building’s air handling systems are designed to push the cooler air from the hallways through the units to the exterior. When windows are closed the warmer air is unable to escape, allowing the cooler air into your residence. We know that this does not solve the heat problem all the time. In this event, we ask you to please contact our front desk so that our maintenance department can assist you. Our maintenance staff has many ways to cool down our residences including portable evaporative coolers and box fans. We have found that our staff is very successful in helping cool down our residences to a comfortable level.
Again, we do sincerely apologize for any discomfort that you experienced during your stay with us and we hope that your next stay will reflect our commitment to addressing this concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Upon arranging a stay at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, both myself and my better half were excited and looking forward to a week of rest and relaxation in a place highly rated by others with high level of quality service. Unfortunately that is not what we received. It might be far reaching to expect good customer service while paying for a place to stay, but for the rates we were paying, I thought it was expected. And what exactly did we get for the rates we paid? No housekeeping, less than knowledgeable front desk staff (minus Rob and Matt), a pushy concierge trying to sell us a timeshare tour, and a claustrophobic room, with ZERO ventilation and insanely high temperatures. I have stayed in hostels (and in Ritz-Carltons, I have experienced a wide range of accommodations) in the middle of Manhattan that STILL had more room than this supposed 'suite'. The most laughable part is the fact that they tried to sell us the same tiny suite as a timeshare for $25k in addition to constantly referring to the 'high quality' service they provide(?). What a waste of time. Thank goodness for Breckenridge, the locals, and the mountain- the highlights of our trip... Seeing as I actually like my friends and family, I would not recommend the Lodge on Peak 7 as a suitable location to enjoy a vacation; however, if you are coming here be prepared to bring your fake Louis Vuitton and plenty of Coors Light to drink by the hot tub. Good luck.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wafield85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and apologize greatly that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our company goal is to take personal responsibility to create great vacations, and we are very sorry that you did not experience the excellent customer service that we are accustomed to providing. The studio suite is our smallest unit, we also offer one-bedroom masters, two, three and four-bedroom units. The one-bedroom masters are twice the size of the studio suite and offer a full-size kitchen, living area, balcony, and fireplace, among other amenities. Again, we deeply apologize for your disappointment with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

The Grand Lodge is a wonderful place for family getaways. Easy access to the slopes, wonderful hot tub/pool area, great staff. We enjoy coming here as often as we can. However, don't waste your time at Sevens, the attached restaurant. It doesn't even come close to meeting the quality if the Grand Lodge, but that's the subject of a separate review! Bottom line, Grand Lodge at Peak Seven is our go to place for family getaways, any time of year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiredworkingmom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7! We take pride in providing excellent guest service as well as a wonderful location and amenities. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed with our friends for one night at Grand Lodge at Peak 7. They own a timeshare and use Grand Lodge at peak 7 quite often for day use and bonus time when they can.
We thought that theGrand lodge was beautiful and well equiped with every thing you could possibly want. The decor was beautfiul and the furniture was very nice/well made as well (not like the 70's style you often find at some of the older lodges at some ski resorts). The furniture and beds were all very comfotable. You can tell that the developer spent extra on little considerations to make sure that the needs of the travelers were met. Noise proof rooms/doors are great, by the way (we had a child throwing a tantrum who was put in time out. Closed the door and heard nothing. :)
We utilized the free lift ticket offer and went through the tour for the timeshare. Not alot of pressure on the presentation, and we did decide to buy into it for the following reasons:
1) We loved the indoor/outdoor pool with slide and Jacuzzi's. The kids played for hours (ages 8, 6, & 3)! We will utilize "bonus time" when we are able.
2) The location of the lodge can't be beat. It truly is a ski in and ski out with a gorgeous mountain and a lift out the back door...great skiing, by the way!
3) Easy access to Peak 8... just a very short gondola ride away from kids ski school, rentals, etc
4) Great kids activities like the theatres, game room, etc.

Here are a couple of reasons that we didn't give the lodge a 5 star rating:

1) We stayed on the 2nd floor and had "heat" issues. There is no air conditioning so we had to turn off the heat and open the windows in order to cool down (in January!).
2) My husband thought the rooms were on the smaller side, I was ok with the size.
3) Saturday afternoon the pool and the lobby (grand room) seemed very crowded. I don't think they are planning on adding any more pool facilities, but are adding another building. Just wondering what the crowds will be like next year. Also, hoping that "day parking" won't be an issue.

Overall we would defintley recommend Grand Lodge at Peak 7. There are so many reasons to love this place. We will be going there as much as we can to utilize "bonus time"!
As a side note: very occasionally we may get to vacation at the Broadmoor in CS so we have been spoiled by the unparralled service and facilities there. Because of our expereince there, we may be a little hard on these guys. I am not sure If the Grand Lodge at Peak 7 is looking to give that kind of experience, but perhaps if they step up the service up a notch, they may get there... maybe?! Hopefully!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the property and decided to become an owner with us. Grand Lodge on Peak 7’s location and amenities are unmatched in Breckenridge and we strive for our service to be at the same very high level. With the addition of the new building, currently under construction, there will be another pool area as well as additional onsite activities. Day Parking availability has also recently been expanded, effective immediately, so that more Grand Lodge on Peak 7 owners are able to utilize that benefit. Again, we are so thrilled to hear you have become an owner with us and hope that you continue to enjoy all that Grand Lodge on Peak 7 has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

When we first stayed here as guests we were treated like royalty. After we became owners we have been treated like second class citizens. We have stayed three times. Everytime we stay, we listen in on and hear from other guests all the upgrades, benefits, extras they have been offered but we get nothing. The last time we stayed was the worst. At 11:00 am we arrived and knew full well that we can't check in till 4:00pm. We were going to ski but one of our children became sick. We asked to be notified as soon as a room became available. I checked in every hour to be told no rooms were available. I stood in line behind families that checked into the exact same size room as we had reserved all day long. They had no problem offering these rooms to other people but not to an owner with a sick child. They were supposed to call is immediately when a room became available. Finally at 4;01 I went to the desk and magically our room was now available. It is a beautiful resort the location is perfect, they just need to get their customer service to match it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank service4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Lodge on Peak 7, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We sincerely apologize for your less than satisfactory experience during check-in. You are correct that we can’t guarantee check-in prior to 4pm due to our housekeeping schedule. However, we can certainly appreciate your frustrations given the extenuating circumstance of having a sick child while traveling. Our goal is for each employee to take personal responsibility for creating great vacations, and we will use the feedback you have provided in order to better train the Front Desk staff at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Again, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we hope to do better in the future!

In addition, as an owner, we would like to share that you are able to utilize a number of benefits that are only available to owners. These exclusive benefits include Bonus Time, Resort Privileges, Merchant Discounts, Interval International, and much more! We would like to encourage you to contact our Owner Relations Department so that we can help you maximize your ownership at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and all the added benefits your ownership entitles you to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge on Peak 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge on Peak 7

Property: Grand Lodge on Peak 7
Address: 1979 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge on Peak 7 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy sophisticated luxury and uncompromising comfort at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Our spacious residences offer refined elegance in a convenient location, just steps from the Independence Superchair at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort's Peak 7 and along the Breck Connect Gondola route. The resort features an on-site restaurant, Soothe Spa, private movie theaters, a family fun center arcade and much more! Our concierge service can help you experience all the adventures the Rocky Mountains have to offer. Relax and rejuvenate in our indoor grotto, outdoor hot tubs, refreshing indoor/outdoor swimming pools, and state of the art fitness facilities. At the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, you'll find everything you need for a great vacation; a convenient and exciting location, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply GRAND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Lodge on Peak 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge On Peak 7 Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing