We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, rooms need a tech fix, skip the restaurant/bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms need a tech fix, skip the restaurant/bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

The resort is a new build condo complex with a front desk hotel resale operation through Rock Resorts, which is subsidiary of Vail Resorts. The location is superb. Excellent on slope location with a 20 second walk to the snow at the base of 8.
The reservations through Vail Resorts need some work as our package was agreed as a prepaid rate to include all the daily resort fees, taxes, supplements etc, but on arrival they were all listed as outstanding on our account. It was corrected but took time. Also a lift ticket was included as part of the deal, which was somehow separated into 2 lift tickets starting on random days. That was again sorted out after 2 hours with the lift ticket people, (who were very apologetic and very helpful) starting on the day after arrival and running for 9 consecutive days.
The bar/restaurant is comedic in its operation. Only 1 person seemed to know how to operate the till, find a drink bottle, remember more than 1 drink order at a time. We attended for a coffee and snack following arrival and noted there were people complaining they had been there for 2 hours and had received no food. Our order was 2 soups which took 25 minutes to prepare. Both were just microwaved complete with microwave splatter all around the bowl. Servers generally either intellectually challenged or incompetent. Had to negotiate with server to convince them they did indeed serve Tanqueray 10, it would be the gin in the green bottle right behind you. Still took 3 attempts. Skip the restaurant. There is better food at 7s next door or head into town on the free shuttle which is excellent.
Rooms are suffering from lots of snagging issues as the maintenance team informed us. Many of the ovens' doors do not close meaning the oven will then not operate. Online google "Bosch oven door" and it would appear a very common problem that requires hinge replacement. We received a credit for a non functional oven (but could make it operate with a weighted chair pushed against the door to keep it closed).
Dishwasher had various wheels missing from the drawers which meant they would not open and close on the runners, and when closed, would drop down so the bottom spinning wash arm could not rotate. No rinse aid provided and someone had filled the rinse aid compartment with wash powder. Broken glass in the filter of the dishwasher. Various clips missing from the stands inside the dishwasher so items could not be stacked. Maintenance apparently attended the dishwasher but nothing done.
Washing machine program select controller knob was broken. Lamps in room still had tickets on them on the inside from the store they were obtained from. No replacement of soap, shampoo or toilet paper without specifically asking.
Turn down service erratic - sometimes occurred, sometimes not, sometimes with chocolates sometimes not. Bit odd and personally I have no requirement for a turn down, but if it's being offered, do it consistently to the same standard.
Ski lockers would not lock properly, hooks inside and wooden pegs had been broken / fell out.
Same day laundry "disappeared" and was lost (status currently still unknown).
"Mountain View" rooms can be noisy due to groomers right outside, but that was no issue for us.
Internet was adequate, but not particularly high speed on either wired or wireless.
However, for a ski hotel, on the slopes, it's a great place, but for the price commanded, it's not a 4 Seasons esque hotel, so don’t expect it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rjn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSHPandCPLManager, Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your constructive review of One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort! As a new property we do realize that we still have some kinks to work out in order to become a finely oiled machine and I appreciate you bringing some of these issues to our attention. I can assure we take every comment with great urgency and I promise you that we will not rest until we are perfect!

The Snow Keeps Falling! 330 inches on the Season!

Happy Winter,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    59
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
214
71
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

One Skill Hill Place was fantastic. The resort is new and everything is top of the line. Our suite was exceptional - the floors, the counters, linens, fireplace, all the electronics, etc were high-end, well-designed and classy. The customer service was truly refreshing - exceptional attention from the restaurant staff, front desk, bell clerks, etc. Ensuring that the guest experience is phenomenal must be a top priority with all staff, I was very impressed. The fitness room also exceeded expectations. All new equipment, very clean, a great assortment of machines and free weights!! Hot tubs were great- indoor and outdoor. Pools were very shallow/small so not great for "kid" recreation but we enjoyed them. The resort offered a bowling alley which we loved - the overall deco and attention to detail is just amazing. What attracted us to One Ski was the true "ski in/out" - you are right in the middle of the action on Peak 8 - literally feet away from 3 major lifts. Ski school, rentals, beginner area, etc are right there! This was important to our group because we had mixed skill levels so it was great to be right in the middle of everything for beginners, intermediate and advanced riders. The town of Breckenridge is a MUST visit - tons of unique dining choices, shopping, and a fun atmosphere. One Ski Hill offered free shuttle service to and from town and on average we waited maybe 5 minutes for a ride (we visited mid Jan). This is an excellent luxury resort!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsFergus0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSHPandCPLManager, Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
It sounds like you had an "Experience of a Lifetime!"

Thank you for your review!

Happy Winter,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

After a lot of research my wife and I decided to book the 1 bedroom condo at One Ski Hill to celebrate our 10th anniversary. I have to say that I was extremely pleased with the accommodations, convenience and service! Our room was perfect, clean and decorated with phenomenal detail. Being in the design business all my life it was obvious that quality was of utmost importance and trust me no expense was spared! It was so refreshing to enjoy the excellence that abounds at One Ski Hill. The entire experience was in one word, satisfying! My wife and I said to one another "Was there anything not perfect about our stay"? The answer was NO! Everything exceeded our expectations by far! I usually don't take time to write a review either way but out of pure gratitude and appreciation to the One Ski Hill team a strong recommendation would be the least I could do. If you are considering One Ski Hill as an option, look no more, call and reserve your room today! Just prepare to experience one of the greatest getaways in your life! Thank you One Ski Hill, We are looking forward to coming back very soon!

Best-

Mr. & Mrs. Rairick

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drairick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSHPandCPLManager, Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
We are so glad that we were able to make your 10th Anniversary Perfect! Thank you for your glowing recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

my family and i stayed here for 10 days of christmas...it was fantastic! i don't think we will be able to stay and ski anywhere else!!
the staff, from the concierge to the guys working out front to the staff in the living room...were top notch!
i was worried about staying in a hotel over christmas...our unit was 2 bedrooms with a fantastic view of the mountain and the ski school felt very homey...especially because of our christmas elf scott!!
we used the bowling alley twice and the media room once...great times!!
we were also there for the weekend of the dew tour...it was great to be in the midst of the activity, but then being able to slip back to the room or into the living room for a drink or snack away from the crowds was perfect.
between the shuttle and the gondola a car was not at all necessary.
i can't say enough about what a fantastic location and the great service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMAIL4JESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We took four kids ages 9-11 during what would normally be the off-season. It had just snowed so we were able to ski Loveland, as Breck didn't open for a couple of weeks. The concierge staff was great! My wife got sick in the middle of the night and they brought up some crackers and two types of water to help calm her stomach.

The kids used the bowling alley. We tried to use the theatre room, the heater was going haywire and it was about 85 degrees in there. The indoor pool, fitness facility and hot tubs were roomy. We stayed in a three-bedroom unit - awesome!! We ate all of our meals out, but the kitchen was definitely well-enough equipped that we could have cooked in. We will be back at least a couple more times this year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureFamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Ks
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

This resort has all the amenities with a PERFECT location. We were able to start our day completely relaxed and still get a full day of skiing in. The resort is brand new so everything is in perfect condition. We absolutely loved, being able to walk out the back door to the kids ski school, pop back to the bar for lunch (away from the crowds) and back again for a full day ski before ski school was out. The rental, nursery, and ski school are all within an easy 100 meter walk. The BreckConnect to town is right out your front door in combination with the free shuttle service provided by the hotel and the free bus by the town, who needs a car!

If your here for a ski vacation there is no better place to stay!
We had an amazing time and really hate to leave!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wichita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend. One Ski Hill Place was a great place to stay for early season skiing @ Breck because, for the first couple of days, Peak 8 was the only part of the mountain open. Skip the lines at the Gondola at the beginning (and end) of the day. The staff WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY to look for ways to be helpful. They were friendly and courteous as well. The ski locker is very convenient and is accessible from both inside and outside the hotel. Suites are good sized, nicely decorated and well equipped. Location, service and luxury - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otanimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort

Property: One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Address: 1521 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of Peak 8, these luxury ski-in/ski-out condominiums are just steps from 5 lifts including the BreckConnect Gondola, which easily transports you to Peak 7 and into the charming town of Breckenridge. One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, is a full service luxury lodge that offers 24 hour front desk services and onsite daily housekeeping, nightly turn down services, maintenance, bell, valet, seasonal ski valet, concierge, spa, and a seasonal bar and lounge. Where Luxury and Location Meet an ideal location in a perfect destination...One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, has an unrivaled location allowing you to experience the best of Breckenridge. You can walk out the door and access the lifts, a lively plaza and a whole mountain of adventure. Whatever you desire in a Colorado vacation, One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge, Colorado has what you're looking for. With some of the best skiing in the western hemisphere, this historic gold mining town will put the "O!" In Colorado.Choose from any of the 76 restaurants and bars and take it easy after a perfect day on the slopes. From snowshoeing, to sledding, to ice skating, and even sleigh rides, Breckenridge has it all for any winter sports enthusiast.Relax with a massage treatment in the Rejuvenation Center and bask in the luxurious accommodations at One Ski Hill Place. No guest goes unnoticed! Each is treated with authentic world-class hospitality. Travel magazines everywhere agree: One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge is where the memories of a lifetime are made. Visit Breckenridge's museum and Welcome Center and find yourself charmed as you travel back into the Old West.The greatest trial of any vacation at One Ski Hill Place is finding adequate time to fit in all the fun and excitement! Even in the summer, you'll find endless opportunities to explore and play in Breckenridge. Take a hot air balloon ride and you'll see people whitewater rafting, biking, hiking, fly fishing and rock climbing.From horseback riding to shopping in over 200 stores, you'll swear you found gold at One Ski Hill Place. Choose your luxury accommodations today at oneskihill.Cm and make your dream vacation a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ski Hill Place, a Rockresort
One Ski Hill Place, a Rock Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing