We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot for a Ski Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a Ski Vacation”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

While pricey, we were in a 3BR/3BA suite and had plenty of room. The location is the best feature - right at the top of the Breck gondola and the lift to the terrain park was only about 20 steps from the hotel. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and stocked with everything we needed and there were plenty of restaurant/food options available. They offered a shuttle service into town but we didn't take advantage of that. The only negative was that upon check-in, they mentioned that we could ask for a late check-out if needed but when I asked that we be allowed to stay in the room for an hour past check-in, they said that was not an option. I don't really understand that as we were checking out on a Sunday and I don't think that would be a big day for new guests to arrive. It is a shame that our last experience with this otherwise wonderful vacation was negative.

Room Tip: We had a corner, 3BR/3BA suite overlooking the gondola and down the mountain. It was spacious and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    59
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
214
71
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After reading several reviews I wasn't completely convinced about this resort!!! The place is excellent - very nicely appointed units.Only problem with Studio was no dresser!! Spacious kitchen, & decent space, much better than just a bedroom. Lobby & staff very nice especially "Dillon" Restaurant "The Living Room Restaurant" was excellent! Location for skiing couldnt have been better with locker downstairs for ski gear and steps to the lift. Shuttle service to town and supermarket very efficient... A very nice vacation and we were not dissapointed.

Room Tip: The one or two bedroom had lots more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I just returned from a weekend at this resort and wanted to share my experience with others considering staying here. I had researched hotels and was really excited to experience everything this resort had to offer from what I had read. Having experienced many five star hotels, normally when I have spent over $700 per night, I expect the best of the best, especially in regards to customer service. Unfortunately, this was not the case with this hotel and I was extremely disappointed when I left.

One of the main reasons I booked this hotel was for the ski-in/out privilege yet this "privilege" is not offered the day you leave the hotel. Therefore, if you are staying Friday thru Sunday, the only day you can use the lockers is Saturday. Sunday we were not allowed to use the lockers and had to give back the keys by check out at 11am. On Saturday evening, I went up to the front desk to request a late check-out or at least use the locker so that we could leave our shoes while we were skiing. The girl at the front desk began to ask what time we were planning on leaving the hotel (1pm- 2 hours after check-out) and then the manager, who was eavesdropping on our conversation, VERY rudely interrupted the girl helping us and told us no late check outs, no use of the locker. She did not even ask what our schedule was, she just flat out denied our request without even trying to accommodate us. I felt very frustrated by her treatment. She told us that the lockers had to be available for the guest checking in on Sunday. Fact : Check-in was at 4pm. Check-out was at 11pm, we were leaving by 1pm. Her rationale did not make any sense. By her brutally rebuffing our request, this ruined the rest of our trip. She did not even attempt to accommodate us or ask what our situation was. On Sunday, we were packed and out of our room by 9 am to ski and had to get all of our stuff out of the locker, put our ski gear on, walk to the first floor and return the lockers keys and give the front desk our shoes. Then when we were done skiing I had to walk back into the hotel, down to the first floor in my ski boots to get our shoes, while my boyfriend waited outside with our skis. So much for the “ski-in ski-out" expereince. Sunday was very incovenient.
In addition to this experience that ruined out trip, below are additional reasons this hotel is not worth the money:
1. We stayed in the studio room. No "real bed" only a Murphy bed that had to be pulled down at bedtime. No night stand, no way to get out of the bed if you are sleeping on the left side as the bed is pushed against the window. VERY uncomfortable.
2. Bathroom - Nothing spectacular, one sink, bath-tub combo, with curtain shower rod. No water pressure or warm water temperature. We actually thought there was something wrong with our shower because the temperature never reached above lukewarm. An engineer tried to fix it, but said this was the warmest it could get for "safety reasons". The last thing you want after a full day of skiing in the cold is a lukewarm shower. Not what you expect at "top" hotel.
3. From 7am to around 7pm, very loud and constant noises above our room. When we arrived on Friday, tired from our travels, we wanted to take a nap. Unfortunately because of the loud noises, we were unable to sleep. A person from the front desk came up to check on it but could not pin point the noise. And told us that it was probably housekeeping and it would probably diminish towards the end of the day. Same noise the rest of the trip.
4. Requested turn down service, which was especially important because we had the Murphy bed. First night housekeeping came in, but didn't turn down bed, just left us two new towels.
5. The bowling alley broke three times during the one hour we were in there.

Room Tip: Do not get the studio room. Murphy bed and shower/tub combo with shower curtain. Very cramped. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Love2ski32980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

To be fair concerning this review, we usually stay at Ritz Carlton, St Regis type resorts for our family ski trips and expected this to be on par as we were certainly paying for such.

One Ski Hill is located at the base of peak 8 so you are required to take the tram ( operates during the day) or the shuttle (shared by several hotels at night) to go into the Village of Breckenridge for shopping, restaurants etc. unless you have your own car.

Upon arrival, Saturday of Presidents Day weekend, we were issued a room overlooking the front drive of the hotel. I explained that when I booked the reservation ( Breckenridge Central Reservations) I called the hotel directly to discuss room location while still in the cancellation period. I explained that my husband doesn't ski but comes on these trips to watch others on the slopes and that we required a slope side room. I was told that "this will be no problem". The man checking us in rolled his eyes and said that he didn't know why someone would tell us this since there was only one slope side 1 bedroom condo at the resort. He clearly let us know he thought we were lying. We then offered to pay the difference and move to a 2 bedroom slope side and was told that nothing would be available until Monday. Left with no options we decided to wait and move on Monday. Monday am, we called downstairs to ask what time we should expect to change condos and were told that they don't move guests in the middle of their stay and were not sure why we just assumed we would be changed to a slope side view condo!

There were many other issues such as housekeeping. They came each day around 4pm and asked "do you need housekeeping today"? Very frustrating after a long day of skiing and trying to shower, rest etc. to have them in the room and they obviously resented being there. Valet was limited to one person who you had to track down if you needed to check your car in or out. The most glaring deficiency at this hotel is the front desk staff. They are incredibly condescending in their communication with guests. Rudeness was witnessed by us and other guests several times during our stay. There is a sign on the front desk offering complementary cookies. My son, while my husband and I watched from the front door, walked up and ask if he could please have a cookie. The girl behind the desk didn't speak or acknowledge him, gave her co-worker a smirk, and basically threw a cookie on the counter.

After these issues and other disappointments, we decided to leave three days early and go to a nearby resort. Upon checkout, there was no "sorry to see you go early etc". They did however tell us that we were still responsible for resorts fees for the days we were not going to be there!

I do want to mention that we had a maintenance issue and the maintenance staff was excellent. Also, we ordered from room service several times and the food was good and service perfect.

We have stayed at another Rock Resort property and did not have these types of issues so I must believe that the problem is with staff training at this location.

Room Tip: They do not honor room requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just stayed here and there are plenty of good things about this place but also a few negative.
I only have 2 negative comments regarding the room. Overall the one bedroom was great except that there is NO storage place for the guests that sleep on the Murphy bed in the living room and there is no water pressure in the showers I think due to the type of shower head. Otherwise it is very nice and it was GREAT to have the washer/dryer in the unit. The hotel is layed out pretty well but there are a few odd things. The hotel spends money to build 2 media rooms but then only has a very small DVD selection in their extremely small & limited "market". This is the same movies you get to choose from for the DVD player in your room. It would be nice if there were movies to rent from tv in room or even at least in the media rooms. There is no spa but there is a relaxation area with a couple of rooms for massage treatments. I had a massage & it was great! The workout room is small but sufficient although it would have been nice for the machines to face out to the slopes instead of the pool area. The 2 pools are small but area is nice enough. Hot tub inside looked nice but the one outside was broken. The sauna & steam room are co Ed which we didn't care for but when I used the steam room no one was in there. The ski in ski out lockers were GREAT! You literally are right there. The ski resort staff were very nice however we wish that they would have told us that Peak 9 actually has the easier greens vs Peak 8. So our crew did it backwards and were somewhat disappointed especially since the last day we were there peak 8 was dead but peak 9 was busy. The hotel staff was nice enough but we found the concierge, valet and housekeepers to be much nicer & helpful than the front desk. Front desk was kind of reserved and aloof. Also, we tried to reserve the bowling alley a day before as suggested but earlier times were booked so the 9pm ended up being too late for us and we cancelled. Looked nice though so try and reserve extra early if you want a particular time.

The town is very close and a real easy 2 minutes to drive to. We used the shuttle one day and it was more of a hassle.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and will most likely return but I think the website oversells it as a luxury resort since it lacks a few things....as well as it is a tad overpriced

Room Tip: You are surrounded by mountains so I can't see where you can go wrong BUT since I was injured I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaherna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powderly, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just finished a brief President's day holiday trip and was disappointed. I thought I would get a "5 star" experience ( I certainly paid for it) and instead got maybe a 3 star experience.
Expensive--VERY
Convenient-- to slopes, NOT to town
Crowded--VERY ( yes, was a holiday weekend, but I hear Beaver Creek was less crowded--may try that next year.
Service--Friendly, yes
Efficient, not so much--cereal dropped on floor never picked up by housekeeping.
New--Yes
Well run operation?--not yet
Bottom line--same service available elsewhere at one half the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSHPandCPLManager, Front Office Manager at One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you lovethensow11 for your review. I am very sorry that you did not receive the high level of service you were expecting. We strive to provide an exceptional experience in every possible way and we take any feedback very seriously. I would love to discuss in greater detail if you would like to contact me at (970) 547-8807.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Loved the location and services. Large rooms, quiet, nice set up for ski -in/out having extremely nice separate locker and changing room to get ready before heading out.

Not crowded, lots of attention if you want it or none if you don't.

Room Tip: Ask about a room overlooking the slope versus the road side which doesn't have as nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwensCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort

Property: One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Address: 1521 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of Peak 8, these luxury ski-in/ski-out condominiums are just steps from 5 lifts including the BreckConnect Gondola, which easily transports you to Peak 7 and into the charming town of Breckenridge. One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, is a full service luxury lodge that offers 24 hour front desk services and onsite daily housekeeping, nightly turn down services, maintenance, bell, valet, seasonal ski valet, concierge, spa, and a seasonal bar and lounge. Where Luxury and Location Meet an ideal location in a perfect destination...One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort, has an unrivaled location allowing you to experience the best of Breckenridge. You can walk out the door and access the lifts, a lively plaza and a whole mountain of adventure. Whatever you desire in a Colorado vacation, One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge, Colorado has what you're looking for. With some of the best skiing in the western hemisphere, this historic gold mining town will put the "O!" In Colorado.Choose from any of the 76 restaurants and bars and take it easy after a perfect day on the slopes. From snowshoeing, to sledding, to ice skating, and even sleigh rides, Breckenridge has it all for any winter sports enthusiast.Relax with a massage treatment in the Rejuvenation Center and bask in the luxurious accommodations at One Ski Hill Place. No guest goes unnoticed! Each is treated with authentic world-class hospitality. Travel magazines everywhere agree: One Ski Hill Place in Breckenridge is where the memories of a lifetime are made. Visit Breckenridge's museum and Welcome Center and find yourself charmed as you travel back into the Old West.The greatest trial of any vacation at One Ski Hill Place is finding adequate time to fit in all the fun and excitement! Even in the summer, you'll find endless opportunities to explore and play in Breckenridge. Take a hot air balloon ride and you'll see people whitewater rafting, biking, hiking, fly fishing and rock climbing.From horseback riding to shopping in over 200 stores, you'll swear you found gold at One Ski Hill Place. Choose your luxury accommodations today at oneskihill.Cm and make your dream vacation a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ski Hill Place, a Rockresort
One Ski Hill Place, a Rock Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing