We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breckenridge Golf Club

Breckenridge Golf Club
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spend 20 days a summer in Breck & golf almost everyday. A must do for you golfers! Challenging, beautiful and well worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 937Deborah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    12
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience, Incredible Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This golf course is absolutely incredible. Great views from the course. Great views from the patio. 3 great challenging 9 hole courses - The Elk, The Beaver, The Bear. The Elk and Beaver are tight fairways and challenging greens.

It is a public course just outside of Breckenridge. Easy to get T Times, calling the course directly or using on-line sites.

Staff was very nice. We didn't eat anything but the drinks were good and not as expensive as you would expect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeGolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oracle, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch on the golf club patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place to EAT, never mind playing golf! We had lunch, watched innumerable golfers hit balls into the lake below us, and had great service. The view to the (still) snow topped mountains, the green colors of the golf course, forest etc, all contributed to a nice lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkosikazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fun mountain golf course, great shape, fast greens,
fair restaurant, very accommodating, one of the best courses in Colorado!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank spencerglofdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Majestic Views on Beautiful Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Breckenridge’s 27-hole golf course is ranked in the top-50 municipal courses is the only city in the world to own a Jack Nicklaus designed course. That probably says all you really need to know...It's darn nice and is challenging for even the best golfers which I am far, far from. Like other posters have written, the ball flies a long way because you’re playing at over 9,300 feet with stunning views.

The course actually has three sets of nine holes – named Elk, Beaver, and Bear. You really can’t go wrong with any of them. If you are walking, Elk has most elevation changes, has the most hazards and has narrower fairways while Bear is a longest (3,700 yards from the gold tees). I would highly recommend scheduling your tee time several days in advance during the peak summer season and to play as early as possible due to typical afternoon rain especially in May and June. However, if you’re willing to start a little later in the day, you save $$$ by doing either the “Twilight” rate of $61 for a tee time after 2:30 pm or the “Happy Hour” rate of $30 for a tee time after 4:30 pm.

We've found the club house and course marshals to be very friendly and helpful. The course does has narrow fairways, lots of sand (which I always found) and water hazards in all the “right” places. While it’s really important to play this course conservatively to stay in the fairway, the rough is not like a Pete Dye course where you would almost always want to take a drop. However, the pace of the greens can be a little erratic - I think this is because of the Poa Annua grass that’s used on mountain courses and not for a lack of maintenance.

The course marshals do a nice job ensuring the pace is right and our recent foursome only had to wait on the group ahead of us once while we were nearly finished. Would recommend this course to every level of player. If you’re like me, bring a extra golf balls and plan to drop a couple club lengths because of the elevation (the ball will carry 10-15% longer than at sea level) and when faced with whether to use the driver or 3-wood, choose the 3-wood to stay in-bounds. Just soak up the majestic views and enjoy the day whether you’re hitting the ball well or not because the natural beauty around you makes for a great day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breckenridge Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Breckenridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing