We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“IF you love horses...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breckenridge Stables

Breckenridge Stables
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“IF you love horses...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you do not know what you want, he wranglers will pick a horse for you; give them a description of your preferred steed and of the 40+ horses, there will be one right for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C0achDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    61
    27
    22
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great ride, and guides. The horses were fine for most part. We missed a bull moose by an hour, unfortunately. The previous tour got to see it.. We really enjoyed it, though my wife would have liked a more tame horse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favorite part of this trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited this site because we had a very eager young rider in our family. It was her first time on a horse, but the staff did a great job of making her feel confident and at ease while keeping an eye on her. Our wrangler, Dale, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Nice scenery, well-trained and well-treated horses; a good experience for all of us. The ride route is on a somewhat rugged trail, so be prepared. Others have complained about price and service, but we had pleasant service from everyone we dealt with, and the price, while high, did not seem out of line, given what it costs to feed and care for horses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our guides. The problem was that they were asked to do too much. We had very young riders who need a lot of help and they were spread too thin. Several times someone needed help and the guides couldn't get to them or were busy trying to help someone else.
As we were finishing up we crossed a group starting their ride. I heard their guide tell our guide she had just been thrown off of a horse. She said she felt like throwing up. When asked why she was still taking the tour she said her supervisor made her.
Overall, this feels like a poorly run tour. Money over safety or employee wellbeing. If you are an experienced rider you're probably ok. Otherwise, look for another venue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey and Pray for Good Weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was fun for the grand kids but there is no allowance for weather. Some people and companies allow for acts of God when considering their services. This is not one. Plan for he trip early to stay away from forenoon showers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breckenridge Stables also viewed

 

Been to Breckenridge Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing