We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a bucolic sleigh ride through the country”

Breckenridge Stables
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely not a bucolic sleigh ride through the country”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rather, start stop start stop under the metal trees of ski lifts and well-worn ski runs after a long day of skiiers have since gone, the sun has set and you sleigh ride to the tune of the nighttime 'cats' and their engines grooming the slopes. Start in the Breckenridge lodge parking lot (not at a stable or farm or on a ranch) and then drive in a big circle up one ski run and down back to the parking lot.
Oh, and the 'hot chocolate' they advertise as included is water weakly mixed with Nestle mix that everybody, even the drivers, said wasn't good for much more than handwarming.
The horses were beautiful and magnificent but looked like they were well worn and in much need of grooming. Made me concerned about their care.
Driver was nice so I tipped him, but if I hadn't paid for this with a discounted Groupon, I would have been REALLY REALLY mad instead of just feeling ripped off!!
Guess I should have anticipated this since it was tough to get a reservation and the woman on the phone was rude when called and not exactly warm and welcoming the night of the actual ride.
Oh, soooo happy we did not spring for the 'dinner ride'. While we waited outside on our non-dinner ride for the 'dinner ride' to stop for theirs, it was undeniably tiny hut on the ski hill for so many people and while a long wait for us who didn't expect to have to wait and stand by instead of continue on our sleigh ride while the dinner ride folks ate theirs, it was a short time to serve anyone a decent dinner......

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    62
    28
    22
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We had a really nice ride”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our wrangler was Willow and she was terrific. Great ride through the woods and ski park. At times fantastic vistas and she pointed out what was what and where we were, and to be on the look out for other wildlife, moose, otters etc. She explained features of the trail to us. Yes' it's nose to tail, get beyond that. Where are you?? On a horse in the Rockies!!! Can it be better sure, but you're on a HORSE in the Rockies!!!!! It's still a great outing and not rushed at all. We had a small group of 4 in early fall. It was a terrific ride and plan to come back next year with our grandsons.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystalBeachMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cost $$$$”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We was told that it was twenty five dollars for a 10 minute carriage ride around the town. We was very sad and didn't get to take a ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Narrow and steep trails. Large groups.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

There were 5 of us along with about 7 or 8 other people nose to tail. The trails are very narrow (through woods) and covered with big rocks all over, along with being steep and scary. Not good for young kids. I much prefer the other ranches outside of Breckenridge which have wide, open trails & beautiful views.

Helpful?
1 Thank vhartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Kids had fun”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 11 year old and 9 year old daughters did the hour and a half ride. They had a lot of fun. I wasn't very impressed by the customer service of those in charge of the riding. A few of the staff that were taking care of the horses didn't seem to like their job and appeared grumpy with the horses. We (the parents) didn't go on the ride so all my observations were just observing everything before our girls took off into the forest.It was 60 dollars for each child.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dilly4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breckenridge Stables also viewed

 

Been to Breckenridge Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing