We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”
Review of Boreas Pass Road

Boreas Pass Road
Certificate of Excellence
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This road was a bit scary, but it used to be the narrow gauge railroad route. Can only get to the summit in good weather. But the views are fantastic! Well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2go4world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    124
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Since it is an old railroad pass, you never run into any steep or difficult roads. From main street in Breckenridge, it is approximately 10 miles to the top of the pass at 11,400 ft. About half is paved and the other is hardpacked dirt, so a 2 wheel drive vehicle will have no problem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank timberline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must To-Do While Visiting Breckenridge”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We came to Colorado for nothing other than the views and to get away. Living in the always busy SF Bay Area, Breckenridge was the perfect place to go and Boreas Pass definitely gave us that "away from it all feeling". Plan to take the drive in the morning and allow for about 1.5-2 hours with stops to take photos. The drive is pretty easy and while there are some dirt roads, rental cars can handle it (we had an Altima and it did just fine - smaller cars should be okay, too unless there is ice or snow of course). The views are undeniably gorgeous and there are photo ops all through the drive, so bring your camera in addition to warm clothes and layers. It was pretty darn cold up there for October.

Sites you'll see:
-Old train station/boxcar along with a sign for the Continental Divide
-Views of the Breckenridge ski slopes
-Views of downtown Breckenridge
-a Drive through the original South Park, CO with old buildings and some great little family-owned restaurants (Brown Burro is an excellent stop for breakfast in Fairplay).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank maria1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice to say you have seen the Boreas Pass, but that's it.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We checked out things to do in Breckenridge and the Boreas Pass was the #1 thing to see. I would say it is very overrated. I am sure if we had gone a couple of weeks earlier we would have been able to see the awesome fall colors on the dirt road to the Boreas Pass, but I think the winds have taken all the colorful leaves away that you can see in downtown Breck. Anyway the drive was still a scenic drive, but once to our destination all there is to see is a couple old buildings and an old train. I wish there was a little more too it, but at lease we made it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank radman143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hike but McCullough Gulch is better”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Yes, you can also hike Boreas Pass. It is six miles round trip with the first half of the hike in the woods and the second half on the dirt road. This is not a steep hike and we easily completed it with two children (ages 8 and 10). You have some great views of Breckenridge and the aspen foliage. While it was a good hike, the consensus was that McCullough Gulch was a better hike due to the waterfall and lake views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flhexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boreas Pass Road also viewed

 
Breckenridge, CO
 

Been to Boreas Pass Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing