We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stroll down Main Street”
Review of Main Street

Main Street
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historical section of Breckenridge.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stroll down Main Street”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Lots of quaint shops, restaurants, sights to see with wonderful locals offering their hellos and interesting stories.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sumrbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    348
    53
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ColoradoUSA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Breckenridge has grown into a wonderful adventure both for eating and shopping. There are many, many exciting adventures here, dinner and lunch that will make you smile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RogerGloddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Olive, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cute street”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We didn't spend much time here but what we saw was cute. Lots of little tourist shops and places to grab a cup of coffee. It isn't a very long street so it can be seen in a short amount of time. Nice to sit by the river and hear the water rush over the rocks...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyer4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
222 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Don't go during shoulder season”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I'm sure the shops on Main Street are nice, but so many of them were closed when we were there. We had planned our trip for earlier in the fall, but the floods bumped us out of our first choice for resort and time. Going during the shoulder season is not a good idea if you are looking for shopping and restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Downtown Breckenridge = Little slice of heaven in the mountains”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spring, summer and fall in downtown Breckenridge is dreamy -- hang out at the river and watch the kids and dogs and families play on the rocks, listen to a concert in the park, eat at one of the many wonderful restaurants, enjoy the flowers (in the summer) that adorn the street, shop at one of the many souvenir shops, buy some art or photography at one of the galleries, or just sit awe-struck at the majestic mountains around you. In the center of downtown is a riverbank where kids can play as parents watch. There are some kid-friendly art sculptures that are climbable as well.

Breckenridge is our favorite day trip from Denver (leave early, come back late). My kids grew up going to Breckenridge with us many times, so the town holds a lot of special memories for us. The rec center will delight your children with fun pool slides and a climbing wall, and a family bike ride along the river will make everyone happy. When my kids were little, we spent a Mother's Day on Main Street, and the kids agreed to do a family "paint your own pottery" afternoon. We still talk about how much fun that day was. Downtown Breck hasn't changed much in 20 years, either. The town planners have been careful to preserve the charm and the small-town atmosphere, despite plenty of growth in other parts of Summit County.

Downtown Breckenridge always makes me a little teary-eyed. Our kids played on the riverbanks with the dog so many times, I can't walk down Main Street without missing the best dog we ever had, and missing those days just hanging out with our young children. Our kids are young adults now, and I dream about someday having grandchildren I can take to Breckenridge, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank njcronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 
Breckenridge, CO
Breckenridge, CO
 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing