We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton have some work to do...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location:
Great for access to the piste. It's not even a couple of minutes from the hotel across the road and car park to the Lower Lehman (green run) that allows you to ski down to the Quicksilver Chair. If you don't want to carry your skis, the valet staff will drive them across the road.
It's a 10 minute walk to town but less if you use the piste and there is always a complimentary shuttle available.

The room:
very spacious and the largest of three on our stay but quite dark. The bathroom was dark and though lit, didn't realise how dark until we got to Washington when it became so much easier to shave in the mirror. The room lacked storage hooks and ability to hang and dry wet ski gear.

The hotel: 9 years ago when we visited (then the GDL) we got frustrated by a lift and a long walk to the lobby and restaurant. 9 years later we fully understood other TA reviews and frustrations when we had TWO lifts and equally long walks to contend with. I know it's an odd shaped building that hugs the contours of the hill but someone from Hilton needs to live the customer experience here and feel the frustration of the walk and frustration of not just one but two small lifts that serve the entire hotel.

The hotel is also served by two restaurants at breakfast but is served poorly by poor signage or language skills as to who can eat where. We gather that paying customers get to eat in the fully stocked buffet restaurant - while customers on a continental breakfast basis suffer the restaurant stocked only with scrambled eggs, croissants and cake. Wherever we have travelled in the world, I don't think I've seen such a poor offering. Again, someone from Hilton needs to travel and discover what a continental breakfast can and should amount to.

The staff: despite what you may read on TA the staff are really good, welcoming, helpful and professional. I witnessed true professionalism by valet boys despite the most disagreeable customers; efficient and fast responses from customer care to safe, power and hair dryer failures; and a fixed light bulb reported by housekeeping that we had yet to report ourselves. All of this suggested good training and management. The complimentary shuttle bus was ever present and when not, to get you where you want to go, replaced by a land cruiser. With a little prompting a free wi-fi code was also made available.

This is not a bad hotel but at a corporate level Hilton would do well to shake this hotel up so that it reaches it's brand standard, but please, leave the staff alone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the DoubleTree in Breckenridge. I’m glad you enjoyed interacting with all the staff throughout your trip, and am happy to hear about your great experience with the complimentary shuttle. Our team has been working to update the breakfast services as well in the restaurant and we appreciate your comments. Thank you again for joining us during your ski trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

The location is excellent, close to the slopes and close to shopping and restaurants in Breckenridge. The staff was friendly and couldn't have been more accommodating. Our room was immaculate, and very nicely equipped. Even the restaurant was good, for a hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

The entire DoubleTree Breckenridge staff thanks you for your recent review. Every member of the DoubleTree team works very hard to go above and beyond for all our guests, and I’m glad you enjoyed your ski trip! Thank you again for joining us, we look forward to seeing you at the DoubleTree in Breckenridge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Unknowingly I stayed here a few years ago when it was the tired/outdated "Great Divide". I hoped for a better hotel experience in Breckinridge with a familiar name, so when I saw "Double Tree" was in the market I thought things were looking up. Not the case, my poor memory of the exact location caused me to stay in the same hotel with a new name. The staff claims they had a $10 million face lift but I didn't see it. I should have tried BEAVER RUN across the street, at least it was less than 325 a night for 2 queens and closer to the lift. On a lighter note, go enjoy the brewery after a tough day on the hill, great beer and food.

Room Tip: Try another hotel, perhaps without water dripping from the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about the DoubleTree in Breckenridge. I apologize that the hotel was not up to your expectations. I have shared your remarks with our management team, and we are working to improve the DoubleTree Breckenridge every day. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful. Ask for a room near the lobby, as our room was in a different wing and we had to take two elevators to reach it. The room was clean and comfortable, had a refrigerator and coffee maker, and a good sized closet for ski gear.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank louandlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
The whole DoubleTree Breckenridge team appreciates your review. Our staff was very happy to hear how you enjoyed their assistance throughout your trip. Please let us know the next time you’re visiting Breckenridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

From the time we pulled in until we left we felt like we were the only guests in this hotel.

It was busy but they were well staffed. The check in was fast and the bell service was great. .The mountain view room was not what i had expected but the view was still good.

One of the managers was walking by in the bar when i got some drinks and even helped me carry them up to my room.

Room Tip: Get a high floor or you cant see much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. Our entire staff works very hard to make every guest feel special while visiting the DoubleTree in Breckenridge and I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with whatever you needed. Please let our team know the next time you're visiting the DoubleTree in Breckenridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location at Brecenridge. Easy ski in and ski out. Nice to have a bar and restaurant but also a very easy walk to town. The hot tubs were ok, but they need some paint. Great place to use Hilton points!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the DoubleTree in Breckenridge. I have been working with the engineering team to redo the hot tubs and update their appearance. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again at the DoubleTree in Breckenridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The site is ski out (across a road and a parking lot) and not quite ski in. The rooms are acceptable although the individual heating is quirky. Ski shop rentals are higher than the same brand store 500 yards away, but they assure you that it is more convenient. The staff generally try hard with varying rates of success. Check-in is AFTER 4PM!! Kevin at the front desk was GREAT. Check out was a circus-after 30 minutes, nobody had picked up our bags, and then there was a further 20 minute wait for the valet to bring the car from the garage (total of 50 minutes from the initial request). The reason was that the cars were "stacked". Any problem or inadequacy is answered by the qualifier that "this is a RESORT hotel", forgetting that a "resort" implies a higher, not lower, standard. The resort fee, by the way, is $20+tax per day. The DoubleTree is a 10 minute walk from downtown Breck, but there is a rather frequent and friendly hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry you didn't experience the level of service we strive for with each of our valued guests. I will share the information with the appropriate team members so we may do better in the future. We hope to see you again in Beautiful Breckenridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $176 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing