We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a reasonable price across the street from the ski lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a reasonable price across the street from the ski lift”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. I have been to Breck before, but usually with a group of friends and we would just rent a house. This time it was a romantic get away for me and my wife.

Doubletree ended up being a great choice for our 4 day skiing trip. It is very fairly priced for being in Breckenridge and right across the street from a ski lift. Very friendly service both at the front desk, the restaurant as well as room service. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service which was incredibly helpful for getting around town and not worrying about driving or parking.

The room itself was nice, good size, with a very comfortable bed, a flat screen TV and nicely furnished.

I would definitely stay here if I am back in Breckenrdige with a small group and want to be close to the ski lifts.

Perhaps the only downside is lack of parking, the only option is $25 per day valet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend getaway with us and we look forward to seeing you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    450
    287
    146
    97
See reviews for
541
540
67
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The staff is attentive. You will have to pay to valet park and it ain't cheap. (about 35 bucks). On the upside there are free shuttles that run all over. The can take you to the nearby main street or you can walk to great shops, pubs and dining. You even get a warm cookie when you check in to the Double Tree. The room was really big. Everything you could want was already in your room for you. Be advised of the $5 water bottles in your room, as they aren't complimentary. The room is clean and the beds are nice. You can't go wrong staying here. The room rate was reasonable for peak season spring break. Lots of skier here this time of year. Oh, the one thing to be aware of is the odd elevator configuration on the 6th and 7th floor. I you stay on the upper floor (I was on 7), you take an elevator to the 6th floor and walk down the length of the hall to the other end for the elevator to access the upper floors. It just so happened that our room was on the far end away from the 7th floor elevator. If you enjoy some indoor walking you will be all good with our room, if not... try to get on 6 or below.

Room Tip: Just avoid the 7th floor rooms away from the elevator. LONG LONG WALKS to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree in Breckenridge. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of our property. We look forward to you staying with us again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are Diamond Honors members. We have already stayed 33 nights in Hilton hotels in 2013 (There have only been 76 nights in this calendar year). This is just to show how much revenue we bring to the Hilton brand. There is a reason we are Diamond status, and a reason we are offered the "perks" that we get.
EVERY time we have ever used our free nights at the Breckenridge Doubletree, it has been a disappointment. They treat us like we are freeloaders and a burden.
The time I went before this last visit, as soon as we put the free breakfast vouchers on the table, no one came to wait on us. Ever. I had to get my own water, pour my own coffee, and we just helped ourselves. The manager told us that they would refund our honors point for that stay, and that wasn't even done. I had to call hhonors to have them honor that.
This last visit, the front desk rolled their eyes at us, didn't offer us our free waters. I did ask for an extra breakfast coupon for my extra guest, and feel that is a very small gesture that the hotel should be HAPPY to extend. When we set our vouchers on the table, we received sub par service at breakfast AGAIN.. and we now are being charged $6 to get the hot buffet, over just the cold buffet. And let me tell you, that I was in the restaurant business for many years, and always tip exceptionally... And I am sorry that there may be others that do not, when they have a free breakfast, however.... This is NO excuse for poor service.
This location is one of the main reasons we use hhonors and stay primarily at Hilton hotels for business travel. We are now looking into other hotel reward programs and looking to take our business elsewhere. They sure want out business when we are paying, but certainly don't want to give us the diamond status that we have earned. It is a shame, since this is a BEAUTIFUL hotel, in a great location. Just not worth it. We are looking to change our business travel to the Marriott, and our perk travel to Vail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GypsyChic822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay, but especially our most loyal. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pluses:
-The hotel's in a great location-- just a short walk across the parking lot from Peak 9 and a short walk downhill to the "downtown" area with shops and restaurants.
-We booked a room with breakfast buffet included, which was very convenient (and turned out to be a smart idea, because it's $18 per person otherwise!!)
-The bed in our room was very comfortable (as were the pillows and bedding)-- this is extra important after skiing/snowboarding all day!
-Our room had a fridge (very convenient for leftovers)
-Valet staff were very nice and helpful.
-I rented my ski equipment (and picked up some new gloves) right in the lobby. Super convenient!

Negatives:
-They have ONE elevator, and it's slow (sometimes there are lines!) and if you stay on the 8th, 9th, or 10th floor, you have to take the elevator to the 7th floor, walk all the way down a hallway, and take a second elevator up to your floor. If this sounds crazy, that's because it is.
-The walls to our room were paper thin, and though our room was spacious, our bathroom was so small you hit the toilet and the shower curtain when you tried to open the door!
-Breakfast service: One of the hostesses at the restaurant told us to go ahead to the back and grab our breakfast, which we did, but found no clean tables to sit at and were in a rush, so we pushed the dirty dishes to the side and began eating. Much to our surprise, one of the waitresses came over and informed us with excessive snark that we're not supposed to seat ourselves, and that's why we were at a dirty table. We told her we followed the hostess's instructions, and she haughtily responded, "Well, they don't normally do that" in a tone that clearly implied she thought we were lying. Totally uncalled for; we were offended and left without tipping. The next day, our waiter was very very nice, but was clearly stressed because they had no one to bus the tables so he was way overstretched. I felt sorry for him.
-Beware of the cancellation policy!!! I have a feeling this hotel isn't the only one in the area-- so you may be stuck-- but we couldn't get there due to snow and had to pay for one night we weren't there.

Overall, things were fine-- we were very close to the slopes, our room was comfortable and had plenty of room, breakfast was convenient. But I expected better from a Hilton property.

Room Tip: Request a room on a lower floor (7 or lower) away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed your guest room and the location of our property. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while dining with us for breakfast. I have passed this review along to our Food and Beverage Management team so that we can continue to improve in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a ski vacation. The property was fairly close to the lift, we just had to cross the parking lot and ski down to it. And while the staff were pleasant but service was slow. We had to ask four times for a rollaway bed. We were very disappointed with how rundown the property was especially the elevator. They had only one to get up to the 7th floor, then another down the hall to get to the final four floors. The elevator was VERY slow and on our last night was broken for a while so that we had to climb up four flights of stairs after a day of skiing and walking through town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor so you only have to go up one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debracb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I apologize that our elevator was broken during your stay, I understand how inconvenient that is especially after a long day of skiing. The elevator is fixed and I hope the next time you're in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here only 4 days after making our reservation, on a holiday weekend no less. The room had a standard amount of space, even with the king bed. The bed was heavenly, as were the pillows. They furnishings were standard. The bathroom had been updated and was okay. The location is great for skiers, a short walk to the peak 9 slopes. After skiing all day we walked to town for dinner every night, even though there is a shuttle. The walk back is harder as it's uphill and usually late by then!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flwrgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your guest room and the location of our property. We hope that you visit us again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first ski vacation where we stayed at a hotel instead of a condo. We were not disappointed! The location was so convenient to the slopes. We just walked across the street where we could ski down to the lift. We had a large locker at the hotel to store our ski gear at night. We used the outdoor hot tubs every afternoon after skiing and we sat around the fireplace in the lobby after dinner, enjoying Doubletree's famous chocolate chip cookies! Great breakfast buffet and clean rooms....what more could anyone ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our property, our amenities, and most importantly our cookies! I hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing