We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location to everything, but rooms are WAY overdue to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Central location to everything, but rooms are WAY overdue to be renovated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Pros: Location is very central to everything! You can walk into town, across the street to get a ski lift or the hotel's free shuttle will take you anywhere in town you want to go (they will pick you up too). Front desk staff are very nice and want to help you. The lobby is nice with the fireplaces. Food at the restaurant and banquet rooms pretty good. Views from the rooms of the mountains or town, depending on which side you stay are very nice.

Cons: The rooms are in dire need of renovation. The wallpaper in my room was peeling off of the wall everywhere. There were huge cuts and gashes out of the wallpaper from what I can only assume was where a desk or couch must have previously been. My room was odd shapen and very dark. Everyone takes the stairs here (that are metal) instead of waiting for the elevators since they take forever and a day. Unfortunately my room was right by the stairwell so I constantly heard the oh so very loud bagging of stairs when people went up and down during all hours of the night. This prevented me from sleeping. Bathrooms have been updated, but mine was super tiny. When you opened the door, it hit the toilet. Neither phone in my room worked. My friends and I sat at the bar in the restuarant for 15 minutes for lunch without being acknowledged. When we left we saw two staff members in the hallways; they said it was open and they would be right with us. Room locations are haphazard. Some rooms are in one wing and very easy to get to like mine was. Other room locations, you have to go down 4 hallways and change elevators twice to get to the rooms. No idea who came up with this layout, but hopefully they are no longer designing hotels. Oh yes and don't bother using their business center to check in for a flight and print out your boarding ticket. I just used my mobile boarding pass, but others had to go to the front desk for them to do this as you could never get their computers to work. When I mentioned this issue, everyone at the front desk said they were aware of it.

Overall: I would only stay here again after the rooms have been renovated and they have fixed the issues with the elevators.

Room Tip: Make sure yours is in the bank of rooms to the left of the check in desk and that it is far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I would love to share some great news with you. This fall we renovated our guestroom bathrooms, lobby area, porte cochere, fitness center, and added new amenities in our guestrooms including Sweet Dreams bedding, new Wolfgang Puck coffee makers, and Crabtree and Evelyn soaps.

We are continuing our renovations with an overhall of the bedrooms including new furnature, carpet, bedding and walls. Please come back to see our renovations and keep up to date with changes at our facebook page facebook.com/doubletreebyhiltonbreckenridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    436
    274
    135
    90
See reviews for
510
508
63
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
314 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night to see the snow sculpture event. It had snowed the day before and the roads and sidewalks were icy throughout the town. We were glad the hotel had a shuttle so we didn't have to do so much walking on the ice. We arrived early and the hotel let us park in the parking garage and use the shuttle to take us to Main Street. Parking is $20.00 but it is heated and most of the parking around town is paid parking. The shuttle guy was very nice and we enjoyed talking to him. You have to call the hotel to get a shuttle pickup. Most of the time the wait was under 15 minutes. We tried to check in at 3:00 PM but our room was not ready. We tried to check-in at 3:30 but our room was still not ready. Check-in was at 3 PM, so it was not a good sign to see the lobby full of people waiting for thier rooms. The lobby was large and had two fire places. The check-in staff seemed stressed. Some people asked for thier cookies and got them. Not sure why they were not offered cookies and had to ask for them? We were able to check-in at 4 PM. We were able to get a room on the 6th floor to avoid the second elevator. We did hear people talking in the hallway during the evening since they had to walk on the 6th floor to the elevator to floors above. The elevators are small, so expect a wait when you use them. Our room was large and had a slight musty or smoke smell. It may have been a smoking room before Double Tree purchased the property. The bathroom had been updated but the shower curtain had mold on it. Our bed was comfortable but the pillows were very soft and flat. I had to get a towel and put it under a pillow to sleep. The sheets had ink stains on them. The decore was dated and there were scuffs on the furniture. The next morning my husband and I decided to sleep in a little later than usual and went downstairs to get Brunch at the hotel restaurant at 10:15 am. We were told the restaurant was closed. They stop serving breakfast at 10 am.I have never heard of a hotel restaurant having closed times during the day. We checked out of the hotel and took the hotel shuttle to Main Street to get something to eat.

Room Tip: Request something on the lower floors to avoid the second elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank You for your review we have passed on the positive comment regarding our ski shop to the staff, they appreciate it. This spring we will continue with our renovation which will include new carpet and wall treatments in all the guest hallways, updated pool and hot tub area and a fully renovated restaurant. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

In a nutshell: This place is about 30 seconds from the base of Peak 9. We rented our gear onsite for reasonable prices, also I got exactly the ski I wanted (K2 Burnin' Luv, for anyone interested. Very, very friendly & competent staff, too). It was literally a walk out the door and across the parking lot before we were headed downhill. The gear lockers are on the ground floor next to the garage; free but you have to put down a $25 key deposit - refunded when you return the key.

There are ways to avoid the two-elevator jaunt. We were on the 7th floor of the Aspen side of the hotel (closer to the ski shop and the slope entrance.) As far as we could tell only those on higher floors had to take another elevator. Since our only real complaint about the place was the slowness of the one small elevator, we took the stairs most of the time anyway. I'd actually recommend this - try to get a lower floor so you're not standing there waiting around.

The rooms weren't nicest I've seen but it was far from a dump. Nice new carpet, very comfortable bed and pillows, nice furniture. I'm a Hilton Diamond member and eligible for upgrades, but no dice due to a big snowstorm drawing crowds. We wound up in the standard Hilton award room, but it was huge - more than enough room for our ten thousand pair of long underwear, boots etc.

The staff was very friendly; we thought the breakfast bar was great, quite a step up from the frozen fruit compote and (horrible, IMO) Lite 'n Fit or whatever it is they try to pass off for yogurt at most Hamptons (I'm a vegetarian so it means a lot to me to have real yogurt, not thin gruel flavored with chemicals. The DB had two kinds, both terrific.) As Diamonds we got free breakfast, a great Hilton perk.

The DB is also quite close to town. The DB has a free shuttle that will come pick you up but honestly we never used it, since everything is just a short walk away. If you are any kind of fan of Mexican food at all, do not miss Mi Casa - down the hill from the hotel, their corn chowder had me crying for my mother. It was an hourlong wait to get in on a Saturday night but worth every second.

The parking is $20 per night, but it's very convenient in a heated garage with elevator access direct from our floor (no two-elevator stop needed, and no long walk out to a snow-covered car in the freezing cold).

This is such a small deal I hesitate to mention it, but it's important to me: This is the only major chain hotel I've ever stayed in that provided a full size room fan. Ventilation is a big deal to me, I can't sleep in a hot stuffy room. The heating was on overdrive at the DB but cracking the window a tad and running the fan made it more than bearable. It's a nice quiet ski-flophouse - no crowds of loud drunks running through the halls, so we got a lot of needed rest between runs.

We will SO be back. ASAP!

Room Tip: Get on a low floor so you don't have to wait for the slow elevator. It's not THAT bad, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivemistressofthDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I can find many superlatives to shower onto this hotel, but I will give you also a few negatives - here we go. Primarly, good location, location, location. Just few steps away from the lifts (maybe a 3-4 minute walk), with an outside, heated ski storage lockers, garage parking ($20/night!!!!!! ouch!!!!!!, should be free!!!!!), and vallet parking for those loving more comforts. The lobby is clean and spacious.
The rooms are comfortably large (we had a double queen) with standard ameneties, including coffee maker (terrible coffee), and a small fridge, nice standard bath and a granite top sinks. Carpetting was clean. The room had an available humidifier, which in Colorado's mountains is an absolute must in the winter time.The matterace comfort is unfortunatelly 1/10!!! Terrible, soft and cushy, the back and butt fall in, no support - Hey, I am a Chiropractic Physician, believe me when I say this is no good. I could not fall asleep for half the night, every night due to this. Soft and flat pillows were no better. These were the least comfortable sleeping conditions I have encountered in a long time!!!!. My other two friends traveling with me were of the same opinion.
Restaurant - very good breakfast in the morning, limited buffet, but enough....great omletes! In the afternoon we had a homade pizza, very decent. My buddies had salads and soups, which were very good and tasty. The wait staff is lacking professionalism, but for a laid back Colorado, they will do.
Finally, the recreational facilities - BAD! Men's sauna door do not close away and the heat escapes, making the experience a total waste of time. There is only one shower cabin in the pool/workoutroom/sauna/whorlpool area, which for the hotel of this size is a complete and total joke! Outside three whirlpools are small and constantly occupied.
The hotel is old, and even though well appointed, gettind around is a hassle - elevators are small and very slow. To get to the top level, you may have to take two different lifts.
But overall experience for the purpose of skiing only was very good. If you are planning on staying longer than a few days, the matterace situation may make your stay uncomfortable to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a good time at Breckenridge, but I don't think I will stay again at this hotel. The hotel was dated and had peeling wallpaper and needed a face lift. For the money it was acceptable, but I am use to better accomodiations from the Hilton banner. The free shuttle pick up in town, took a lot of time I would recommend walking! The ski rental place in the hotel was OUTSTANDING, they were the nicest people and really aimed to please.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KwattsRIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My expectations were pretty high for this place, considering 2 weeks ago we stayed at Beaver Run and that place is seriously dated. We arrived around 9 pm on a Thursday, and things were pretty busy around the front lounge. The front desk person did offer me the cookies, which I only bring up because people on this thread feel the need to complain about warm, stale hotel cookies.

The parking is $20/night, which is reasonable, because the hotel is across the street from the lift. The elevator situation is quite bad, but there is nothing the hotel can do about it besides bulldoze and start over. Let's just say it pays to have the bellman help you with your bags.

The first night (Thursday) was okay. The bed is hard, but the hotel puts a dozen pillows on top to help you forget. The power didn't work on one side of our room, and when the engineer came to fix it, we found that there were probably 8 extension cords throughout the room. The cords made me a little nervous, as it is a 30+year old hotel and just seemed like a fire hazard.

Friday morning, housecleaning knocked and yelled through the door about 830am. I asked her to come back in 2 hours, and she came back in 20 minutes. I asked for 2 hours again. After being on the hill all day, we came back and she never returned to clean the room. We prepared for our dinner reservations that evening and noticed some black spots on the ceiling. I reached up to feel what looked like a wet spot that had dried. Instead I found 3 seams of drywall along the ceiling soaking wet. The black spots were mold. We stopped at the front desk to let them know there was mold growing in our room, and we will not be sleeping in that room again. The person at the front desk looked at me and said the hotel is fully booked, so probably not much they could do for us. On the free shuttle ride to the restaurant, I received a call from the same person that they were going to move us and needed permission to pack our stuff and move it. I wasn't really comfortable with that. The elevator situation is really bad when you have to move, and I would not suggest moving yourself as we did.

The new room was comparable, but had the original 60s heater, which never shuts off and didn't seem to adjust very well, so we woke up in pools of sweat. We would have opened the window, but they are all but stuck closed.

Saturday was a bit better, but the elevator broke for that end of the building. We are young and healthy, so the stairs were no problem. We decided to try the restaurant for breakfast, and it is absolute crap. They should have charged us for the cold buffet because the warm food was cold. The service was terrible, even though it seemed like there were an endless number of people wearing Doubletree shirts. I left a 10% tip, because I felt sorry for the busboys having to clean up all the horrible food being left behind. If you want slightly above average food, go across the street to Beaver Run and the little market. They have crappy, overpriced food as well, but at least they have a Starbucks.

The final night was uneventful, aside from the warmness of the room. The next morning I had to haul all our stuff down the stairs. I didn't feel like tipping the bellmen that were carrying the bags down, it somehow seemed like a reward for the broken elevator.

It seems as though the recession has hit this place pretty hard. They should be able to get $300/night for a room here, but the lack of amenities, poor service, and dated rooms makes it a 2 star resort rip off. I will say the bellmen are excellent and always willing to help. It almost seems like the GM of this place left and now there are a bunch of beatniks running the place. It really makes no sense that Hilton owns this property, as it leaves a terrible mark on their reputation.

Stay at Beaver Run, even though the rooms look like the set of a 70s porno. The parking is cheaper, the rooms are just as bad, but they don't charge nearly the same amount, and don't pretend that they could.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cologrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney T, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback. The concerns with the ceiling and electrical in your room has been addressed and you will be pleased to know that the one elevator that was inoperable for a few days has now received a new motor and is running. We continue to look to improve upon the service that we provide in our restaurant, housekeeping and front desk departments we are sorry that you had a disappointing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Knowing that the hotel just got converted from an old lodge, we were first skeptical about our stay. I am happy to report that we have a great time at Doubletree Breckenridge from the room to their friendly staffs. My rating would go 4.5 stars for its class.

Plus
- Our room is huge with 2 queen beds with sofa bed, balcany, and mountain view. I am a Hilton Diamond member and got upgrade to this mountain view room. This hotel does not have any suite per se.
- Some renovation was made during the ownership transition. Bedding was very comfortable. We stayed at the Park Hyatt in Beaver Creek couple times and this Doubletree's bedding is as good as Park Hyatt's. All towels are fluffy and super clean.
- Staffs are awesome! We ask them about a place to eat in town with some specific requirements and their recommendation is just right on the spot.
- Diamond complimentary breakfast was good. Their prices are actually reasonable as well. Be there early because the restaurant and its price seem to attract the crowd. Egg station chef was unbelievable and did his job quickly.
- Location is terrific! A short walk across the street will take you to either Beaver Run lift or you can ski down to Quicksilver lift.

Minus
- Bathroom size is VERY small, but has some nice retouches to it (i.e. countertop, tile shower wall)
- Wifi signal is weak. Our AT&T 3G worked much better.
- Elevator is the slowest one I've ever been in.

Summary.. We enjoyed our stay so much and will consider staying there again in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms on 8 floor up require another bank of elevator. Avoid those if you need some convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Address: 550 Village Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424 (Formerly Great Divide Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Breckenridge is a true mountain experience offering views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. Our full service hotel is directly across the street from Peak 9 of the world renowned Breckenridge ski resort. The chair lift is within walking distance from the hotel. We are also only a 10-minute walk to historical Main Street where you can find a variety of shops, dining options and exciting Gold Rush history! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Great Divide Hotel
Great Divide Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing