We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice flat hike in the woods”
Review of Peaks Trail

Ranked #24 of 73 things to do in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice flat hike in the woods”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Peaks Trail hugs the 10,000 foot line on a topo map. The trailhead is just east of Peak 7 base on Ski Hill road. It's popular, you may struggle to find parking. As you're below treeline you don't usually have a 'view', but that's not why I hike this trail--and it's one of my favorites. After a lot of hiking around Summit County, it's nice to have a flat trail with lots of beauty, and this trail has it. Flowers, creeks, bridges, gulches, views up and down the mountain. If you go far enough you will see a fairly steep descent into Frisco. If you want to stick to flat, turn around at that point. The descent takes you past a few very nice lakes and you can swim if you want. Remember that unless you dropped a second car in Frisco you'll need to turn around and hike all the way back. Which isn't that bad of a deal, especially if your last hike was a 14er.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank often_crabby-travele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Close and easy with the Gondola (secret tips)”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a wonderful trail. Leave your car at the base. Ride the Gondola up to Peak 7 (2nd to last stop) and walk two blocks to the other side of the Lodges at Peak 7 for the trail head. When the concrete stops and dirt road starts...there's the trail head.

It's mostly downhill from Breck to Frisco. 7.79 miles. Great hike or good for mountain bikers.

Secret Tip: just go one way. When you land in Frisco, ride the Free Summit Stage back to town. They'll even haul your bike back for you.

Or go half way and when you return, take the gondola back to the base. No need to park your car at the trail head with 50 other cars. SOOOOO easy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arlog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice local trail”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very accessible trail with good views of the town of Breckenridge and the surrounding mountains. It can be busy with mountain bikes in the summer, but it is a nice moderate trail that runs from Frisco to Breckenridge, with other access points along the way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaandSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to hike with a dog!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived Breckenridge Saturday afternoon. Since it was early afternoon we thought it was a little too late to hit the slopes. Instead we decided to go snow shoeing instead. Fortunately for us, our niece lives in Breck and we were able to borrow her golden retriever to hike with us. It was a great hike, were we met many people and dogs. The terrain, for the most part is flat and there were many pleasant winter views. The trail appears to be a meeting spots for locals and tourists alike.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowbliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great X-country ski trail”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have skied this trail numerous times and it is wise to make sure you do it after a good snow fall...start from the Breckenridge side and ski up a few miles and then down into Frisco..Best to be dropped off and picked up or two cars...Allow 4-5hours depending on your speed and snow conditions

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank estaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks Trail also viewed

 

Been to Peaks Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing