We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run-of-the-mill decent clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boulder
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Potomac, MD, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Run-of-the-mill decent clean hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I am trying to recall anything outstanding at this hotel, really it was clean, staff friendly, the rooms looked newer. The in-room temperature control could be better since I dislike these units where there isn't an automated temperature control, but you have to dial in heat/cold knobs with hi/low fans which are typically noisy, and keep guessing when you hit the right temp.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanD1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and I'm sorry your recent stay wasn't outstanding. We aim towards going above and beyond with our service and amenities. Please contact me directly for your next visit, and I will personally assist in offering the exceptional experience we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    81
    37
    10
    17
See reviews for
59
48
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Anytime I am in Boulder, I stay at The Holiday Inn Express. I have never been disappointed by any aspect of staying at this hotel. If there is ever an issue, no manner how minute, the staff will go out of their way to make sure it is taken care of. I have recommended this hotel many times, and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your loyalty! We love building relationships with our guests, getting to know their likes and dislikes, and focusing our services to better meet their needs.

So again, thank you for the opportunity to allow us to provide excellent costumer service and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was here for a science conference and had booked my travel at a different hotel, but they screwed it up and I was in Boulder with no place to sleep. Luckily, I called this hotel even though it was considerably farther away than where I had originally made reservations; however, the lady at the front desk was super helpful and helped me get the government per diem rate that I needed. The staff was very friendly, and helpful during the two nights that I stayed there. Lastly, the breakfast was really good and they had a pretty good variety of items that varied slightly per day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oompa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm so pleased that we were able to provide you with a great stay during your conference. I will make sure to share your review with our staff to let them see the outcome of their continual promise to provide costumer service.

Thank you again and we are excited about the opportunity to assist you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Most Holiday Inn Express chains are very nice as this one was. I used Booking.com to book this hotel not knowing that if I booked with them I wouldn't be able to use/gain my member points, I guess I understand that booking.com is a third party site but I wasn't asking for a discount or anything so it didn't really make sense to me. When I asked the front desk person about it he was vague about if I would get the points or not, it didn't seem like he really knew one way or the other.

As far as the room itself it was comfortable, with nice bedding & great free Wi-Fi that worked perfectly. The bathroom was spacious and I love the adjustable shower heads they have, I found a few small hairs in my tub but could tell that it was cleaned. We only stayed one night so we didn't use the pool or anything else they offer so I can't comment on them.

One thing they really need to improve is their Lost & found communications. I was traveling with my Sister who is Diabetic and she happened to leave her medical blood strips and a few other important items in a bag on the bed (she has never done that!) of course she didn't realize she left it until we were about 500 miles away! She called the hotel ASAP to ask if they had found it and the front desk said they didn't know and would have to ask a maid and call back...well a few days had gone by and no call back so she called again, the front desk staff said they still didn't know. Sounded like they didn't even check from the first call...this was medical stuff so you would think that they would care a little more and find out! My Sister left her address and numbers and asked for them to please find it and call back. She didn't get any call back but her bag arrived at her door as an overnight package that they charged her $70 bucks for, she never asked them to do that because by then she had already replaced the items in the bag! I think they need better training on communication with the housekeeping staff and should ask how something is to be sent back before assuming someone wants to pay $70 bucks for overnight when if they had cared in the first place they wouldn't have had to go that route.

Anyway, other than that it was a nice stay. Just don't leave anything behind and you should be fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I4Got
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your well thought out review. I'm happy that we were able to provide you with one of our spacious rooms and we are excited about the opportunity to continue to offer those large rooms and adjustable shower heads for your next stay.

It is common practice amongst all brand hotels that most rates booked through most third party web sites (complimentary hotel stays and any other rates not defined as a Qualifying Room Rate) are not eligible for points. This is becoming the standard practice within the hospitality industry, including airlines as well.

In regards to the lost and found, let me start by apologizing for the inconvenience and miscommunication. We will review our lost and found procedure and evaluate how to expedite the process more efficiently. I will say, however, that we can not mail a lost item without speaking to the guest prior and receiving their address and payment information.

Again, thank you for your review and please contact me directly on your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

out of the busy, crowded part of Boulder, but still close enough to North Boulder, quite, compared to other hotels in Boulder, will all ways stay there if needing a hotel in Boulder. bummer, windows did not open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are significantly the closest hotel to the Boulder Community Hospital, all the local shops, and breweries in North Boulder.

I'm interested in your window comment, and I'd love to talk more about it, so please don't hesitate to contact me so that we may resolve this issue. All of our guest room windows do open, so I was surprised to read that yours did not.

So again, please don't hesitate to contact me so we can riddle this out.

Thank you, and I look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here 5 nights while helping my son continue with the clean up from the 9/11 flood of his home. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, furnishings up to date, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker (with pretty good coffee for hotel coffee), never heard any sounds from surrounding rooms. The morning breakfast, however, was processed, heated up in a microwave food. The bananas were the only fresh food. The breakfast room was kept clean and again the staff was very friendly. For the location and comfort I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and never heard a sound from above or beside me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divetravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about your son's situation, but I'm happy that we were able to assist and offer our services and a warm, dry place to stay.
Our breakfast is made daily and we do offer several fresh food options, including the bananas and oranges. We are working to offer additional healthy options to our menu, so definitely keep an eye out.
Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This will not be at the top of your list for superb places to stay but I can keep agree with the other recent reviews. The staff was very polite, rooms were furnished nicely. My bathroom needed a little extra cleaning though. TV in exercise room wouldn't receive a signal. Location is convenient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtarmygriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boulder, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do aim to be on our guest's top 10 lists of places to stay, with our friendly staff and spacious rooms. I'm sorry we weren't able to do so for you during your previous stay.

Please contact me directly for your next stay, and I will make every effort to land on your list of top hotels. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#10 of 20 in Boulder
328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
916 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 20 in Boulder
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boulder

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boulder
Address: 4777 Broadway St, Boulder, CO 80304-0511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boulder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boulder hotel is an all non-smoking, beautifully appointed hotel in North Boulder 4.5 miles from the University of Colorado and 5 miles from IBM, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman and the Gunbarrell Business Park. The Boulder Holiday Inn Express is located within minutes of Boulder Reservoir and 1/4 mile from Wonderland Lake Hiking Trail and other great hiking trails for the outdoor adventurous. Featuring Express Start breakfast with exclusive hot cinnamon rolls, hot entrees. Free local phone calls, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center to fit your needs. Airport transportation is available through Boulder Super Shuttle. Free wireless high-speed Internet access, 2 two-line phones, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in all rooms. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located 3 miles from the Pearl Street Mall area and downtown Boulder. We are pet friendly with a fee. Visit Boulder, CO and Stay Smart at your home away from home the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boulder Hotel Boulder
Holiday Inn Boulder
Boulder Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing