We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulder University Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Salina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

1st trip ever to Boulder. Wanted something close to Pearl St. and still not pay through the nose. this motel is located just a few blocks away from Pearl and is just around the corner from a wonderful park with a stream running through it. This is a 2 story motel with approx 35 rooms. It is older but the room we had on the 2nd floor was nice. It was clean and the bathroom was adequate with a walk in shower and plenty of water pressure. They do use liquid soap and shampoo dispenser mounted to the shower wall. The bed was very comfortable and the a/c worked great. The fellow at the desk was very helpful and even went on to explain Boulder to us after he found out it was our first trip there. They even have free bikes you can take if you want to go riding around which seemed to be the preferred mode of transportation in Boulder. I would def stay here again with no apprehension.

Room Tip: I would try and get a room on the 2nd floor due to traffic going by the motel, busy street. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hainesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed our property, our guest service and our prime location! We are so glad you would choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you on your future trips to Boulder, Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    129
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
100
92
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I had planned a trip to visit Boulder, Colorado. We booked two nights at the hotel with plans to enjoy nature and the nightlife. The location of the hotel was great. It was close to restaurants and had a vibrant atmosphere. As for the accommodations, they are basic and the rooms are quite clean. Parking is available in the front of the building and the set up is reminiscent of a low key motel.

My only concern of the experience lies with the customer service. Upon checking in, the front desk staff did not properly process the payment of my friend’s card, asked for cash and then stated that we can pay per night. My friend and I were paid the amount requested and went along our way for a nice dinner. Within a mile radius of the hotel, there are a number of fantastic places to eat, drink and lounge.

The next morning, we get a call at 7:30 am from the Assistant General Manager stating that we “owed” University Inn money. My friend and I were taken aback. We paid the amount that we were quoted and did not see that there were any issues. Shortly after receiving the telephone call, we met with the Assistant General Manager to get clarity of his concerns and to explain the events that took place upon our arrival. However, the Assistant General Manager stated that he was agitated, accused us of fraud and threatened to call the police even though we paid the amount quoted to us. My friend and I were appalled by his behavior, as there was no dishonesty or disrespect on our part. Somehow, the mistake from the front desk staff the night before was placed on us. At that time, my friend called his bank and the Assistant General Manager had called his credit company. He then told us that we were not allowed to stay the second night we booked and must leave the hotel. The process took about 2 hours to resolve to the best of its ability. The Assistant General Manager was very unprofessional and condescending throughout the entire process. At the end of it all, we still had to leave the hotel and the money that we were supposedly to have “owed” them, ended up to be that the hotel owed my friend money, which was pended to his account.

Even though the location of the hotel is convenient, the lack of organization and poor customer service was unacceptable. Overall, my time in Boulder was memorable and outside of the hotel experience, I had a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fransois_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are pinching pennies in Boulder it is OK, but you get less than you pay for. Although this motel is ~$25 cheaper than the Quality Inn a couple blocks away, the savings are not worth it. The rooms are rundown, carpet old and worn, and bedding and towels of lower quality. The bathroom is tiny, no fridge or micro, and the tv low on channels. The free breakfast was bare bones and the room has tables/chairs for ~3 couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthesameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We've been staying at this hotel on and off for something like twenty years, it seems to go through cycles where it is renovated and then goes into decline. Currently, the hotel seems to be in a bit of a decline, as the rooms seemed a bit on the worn side and the exterior showed some need of maintenance (carpet worn on outside stairs, rust on handrails to stairs). It's not a fancy place but if you want fancy, just go to the Boulderado or one of Boulders other boutique hotels. The University Inn is a call back to the era when Boulder was a college town not the pretentious place it is today. Front desk staff are extremely helpful. Bicycles are available to use although you're close enough to downtown to walk to Pearl Street mall. Parking can be tight if you get in too late. Room had shower and the showerhead is inflexible - if you're the wrong height, it can be a bit of a challenge. There is a pool, but we always have so many other interesting things to do in Boulder we've never made it in, We continue to stay here because this hotel is a unique piece of old Boulder. I'd give this a 3.5 if I could, this hotel isn't in for everyone but for some of us it works ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRQsandnsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Decent, low cost, well located spot. Staff really accommodating. Free bikes to ride. AC didn't work well but open windows did the trick. Easy walk to Pearl Street. Great Thai Restaurant next door. Near UC Boulder.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here when I'm in Boulder because it fits the tight budget. Considering the price I'm satisfied. They have a simple, ample breakfast and location is good. A special supermarket is across the street and you can walk to the main tourist street. They even have bikes for you which is a nice offer. Biggest negative for me is the motel smell. I don't like it. Hopefully they will proceed with renovations. New carpeting and paint will take care of the problem. Helpful staff. Common computer to print out boarding passes. Pool, but I'm not there during the open months. Request 2nd floor room so you don't hear upstairs guests walking. Street noise worse up front.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a tired property, past due for updating. While the beds were reasonably comfortable, there were zero amenities (no microwave or refrigerator) and the toilet took several flushes to work. The person in the room next to ours played the radio loud all night. The price seemed high for 2 double beds - for a third that I could have stayed in a Motel 6 a bit outside Boulder. The breakfast was basic. There was an iMac in the office I was able to use to print some directions on a monochrome laser printer, which was handy. Had I not been so tired, I would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrankeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
979 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
0.5 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#14 of 23 in Boulder
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder University Inn

Property: Boulder University Inn
Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#7 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder University Inn’s prime location provides guests with convenient access to all beautiful Boulder, Colorado has to offer. Situated just blocks from the famous Pearl Street Mall, the University of Colorado and Naropa University. Their newly updated guest rooms feature complimentary WIFI, microwaves, refrigerators and much more! Enjoy this pet friendly hotel with a seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet and complimentary parking. The Boulder University Inn offers an exceptional value in the heart of Downtown Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boulder University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing