We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but needs an update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boulder University Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The inn is on par with a standard chain hotel. But it felt like it hasn't been refurbished in quite sometime. It was clean though, and we had a nice stay as we weren't there to spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here just one night instead of two because we needed to be in Ft. Collins a day earlier but this was a well placed hotel with the Pearl Street mall just a couple of blocks walk away. Room was clean and pretty quiet; we were in the 2nd floor back, so there was a bit of noise from the bike path and school. No real problem though. The breakfast was truly continental and we went out for more breakfast later. Alfalfa's across the street is a good place for a quick breakfast snack. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mile262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The University Inn is well-located in Boulder - within convenient walking distance to the CU campus and Pearl Street Mall etc. The property is an older motel design but comfortable and well maintained. If you are a light sleeper request a second floor room since the floors creak when guests walk across them. The Alfalfa Market across the street is a Whole Foods type store and good source of hiking lunches, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and it was very comfortable. If you pre-pay online the already amazing price drops even further. The bed was comfortable and the room was a good size. I had a great view of the mountains, which were especially beautiful because it snowed while I was there. There is a free continental breakfast, and also free internet. The staff was both helpful and kind. When my Super Shuttle was two hours late the man at the front desk took it upon himself to help me call to see where my shuttle was and to keep me entertained while I was waiting. My only issue was that the heater made a funky noise when it came on, but it worked in the end.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view, and rooms the furthest from the street will be the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

In the first room it was very obvious that it was pet friendly. They moved us to a better room. Not bad for a budget hotel but nothing special. Convenient location, loaner bikes, off street parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Boulder University Inn. We are pleased you found our location and parking to be convenient- we pride ourselves on providing top-notch service in a superior location! We are proud to offer designated pet friendly accommodation to our guests. All of our pet friendly rooms offer the same amenities as our non-pet friendly room and our deep cleaned after our four-legged guest checks-out. Please note that The American with Disabilities Act (ADA) does welcome service animals in any guest room at any time. That would be the same in any hotel you were to stay at. We hope the next time you choose to visit Boulder, CO you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Sorry, but we have to disagree with the previous review.
It is well located to Pearl Street but we were disappointed with the condition of the room for the price paid. The room we stayed in was rather 'shabby' and is in need of updating.
We usually stay in fairly basic places, and stayed in several hotels and cabins during our trip, but unfortunately felt this one didn't provide value for money.
Yes, free breakfast and internet were an advantage.
We were at the end of a long day's drive so didn't shop around for other places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderCreek, General Manager at Boulder University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. Thank you for noting the complimentary amenities we offer such as free high speed internet, parking and breakfast. We are sincerely sorry you did not find the room up to your standards. We take guest comments very seriously and will review your comments with our staff and ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night October 7, 2011, and was chosen because of it's very close proximity to CU and Pearl Street Mall. We walked to Pearl Street in less than 5 minutes. It's a safe location all the time. The staff is very helpful, rooms are above average with hot showers and great beds and parking is free.The next morning the free breakfast was very good, hot coffee plentiful and staff right there to assist. I'd definitely stay here again upon my next return to Boulder.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patagonia779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
0.5 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#13 of 23 in Boulder
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,125 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder University Inn

Address: 1632 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80302 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boulder
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: $115 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder University Inn’s prime location provides guests with convenient access to all beautiful Boulder, Colorado has to offer. Situated just blocks from the famous Pearl Street Mall, the University of Colorado and Naropa University. Their newly updated guest rooms feature complimentary WIFI, microwaves, refrigerators and much more! Enjoy this pet friendly hotel with a seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet and complimentary parking. The Boulder University Inn offers an exceptional value in the heart of Downtown Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Boulder University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing