We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIGHTMARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
358 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Over the past ten years I have visited Boulder at least three times per year, but the weekend of October 11-15 at Boulder Twin Lakes Inn was the first time I have had an unpleasant experience. The young host/owner has an explosive temper & is arrogant, rude, impertinent & threatening.

Soon after I checked in & gave my name, Mrs. Jones, altho young enough to be my grandson, he informed me - speaking in a foreign accent - that "In America we don't use 'Mr. or Mrs..' Here we use first names instead."

From there the situation deteriorated, culminating in a frightening scene in my room, when - after two requests - he finally showed up to open a stuck window & demanded to know to whom I was speaking on the phone (Mr. Jones). When I refused to answer him, he called me "psycho."

Invited to leave the hotel, only a nearby family medical emergency precluded me from departing (Unfortunatley in the area there is no other hotel, which is in the middle of nowhere.) and/or calling the police.

The giant roach that crawled across me and my (dirty?) blankets the last night of my difficult weekend was a fitting finale to a thoroughly dreadful experience.
M. Jones

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Herstory_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BineshPrasad, Owner at Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
This guest came in very dissatisfied from her plane trip and immediately started affecting the tranquility of the Inn. She started banging the doors, wanted us to get off our reservation phone to open her room window, there and then, or else she would call the police. She said she has not slept the night before. She only calmed down when advised that she will have to check out if she behaves like this. After a good nights sleep she was a great guest to have at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    79
    38
    9
    14
See reviews for
102
79
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Outside of the hotel was extremely dirty - bathroom was small with no sink - room was clean, except for bedspread - owner was friendly - Internet worked well - located in residential area with nice walking/jogging trails - far from downtown Boulder (about eight miles) - room needed some repairs (hole in closet door, bathroom around the toilet needed painting)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank casadblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BineshPrasad, Owner at Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
In fall, the leaves keep coming down and are blown in our parking lot from all the open space around us. We do try to keep up in collecting the leaves as much as the weather allows us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Boulder Twin Lakes Inn is located a short drive out of expensive Boulder. It is in a quiet location. Our keys were waiting for us in an envelope at reception as we arrived late. The room was comfortable with refrigerator and micro wave. Breakfast was included. Prasad, the manager, was welcoming and was helpful in every way. He lent us a car scrapper as it snowed overnight. We will definitely return to Twin Lakes Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLoveJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the best place in Boulder! I have been all over the states and Europe and can honestly say that I have never stayed in a more peaceful place! The owners are very friendly and helpful. You get the most for your money! I called seven different places that were charging at least double of what Twin Lakes Inn does!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just minutes from Boulder, this hotel is a welcoming and relaxing alternative (aka "respite") to "usual" hotels The setting is serene. The management is exceptionally welcoming and accommodating. Their utmost goal is that guests have a positive experience. While this hotel attracts athletes (the owners are former Olympians),it is equally comfortable the "non athletically inclined" , The rooms have great beds, a couch, microwave and mini frig. Additionally the facility is very clean, If, however,you are into luxury, this might not your place (see website for photos) Overall I think this is a GREAT find. You will be well taken care of during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I saw several good reviews for this place and took a chance. I arrived late 8:30pm at this apartment/dorm style hotel and as expected there was no staff at front desk. I called contact # on the outside phone to gain access and obtained the "old fashioned key" from an envelope in the basket on the lobby desk. The room ( 201 ) was a mess; dirty carpet, bathtub ring, toenail clippings on the floor next to bed, broken kitchenette cabinets, and worst of all stains and hair on the sheets!
My kids refused to step into the room, my wife cried, and we left after I phoned the desk/contact to inform them I would not be checking in and would not be staying. The hotel person said I would have to contact EXPEDIA for a refund. Which I did. EXPEDIA did refund the full price after I called them (before midnight on the day of check-in )

The hotel person on the phone told me there had been a "cleaning staff problem that day" and to his credit he did offer to come and clean the room, but I refused since it was 9pm.

In general the hotel was old/shoddy looking ( reminded me of my dorm in college 25+ years ago, minus the beer cans! ) The hotel seems to cater to "runners and athletes" since there many pictures of runners on every hallway wall, and I believe the "owners" are themselves former Olympic runners (from NEW Zealand?)

If the price had been closer to $40 instead of the $110 ( and if I was not with my family) I might have been able to overlook the old worn carpet and furniture. But the bed sheet stains (drool?) and uncleaned room bathtub and carpet were a deal breaker.

If you are a runner and want to stay with other like minded runners for a "place to crash" and don't care about cleanliness then this might suit you, but otherwise do as I did and
...RUN RUN RUN AWAY.

I ended up staying at the BOULDER HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS for $120 (only $10 more than this disaster of a hotel )

Room Tip: choose other accommodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlacerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BineshPrasad, Owner at Boulder Twin Lakes Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I checked the room personally and there was nothing wrong with the room. The rates are always different on various websites. This was a very busy weekend and I could not offer any other choice of rooms for this night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

boulder Twin Lakes Inn was clean, simple, cheap and just what we needed after 5 days backpacking. We did not attend the breakfast. Short drive over to Peal Street for dinner and entertainment. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01050897453001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
4.8 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
852 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
283 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boulder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Property: Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301-3185 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#9 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing