We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple but what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple but what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

boulder Twin Lakes Inn was clean, simple, cheap and just what we needed after 5 days backpacking. We did not attend the breakfast. Short drive over to Peal Street for dinner and entertainment. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01050897453001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    72
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
95
70
36
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed last summer and I have been meaning to write this review for sometime. This is a great place to stay; nice rooms, quiet location near walking/running path; good breakfast-love the scones; staff friendly. Looking forward to our stay in October.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a quirky hotel as another reviewer mentioned, but it is clean, quiet, with gererous sized rooms and a great value and location. Comfortable beds, updated bathroom - loved the water saving options on the toilet :) The staff is friendly and helpful, when you are able to find them.

We had a corner unit on the 1st floor - the flat screen TV provided great Olympics viewing at night, and we were less than 10 minutes from the Pearl Street Mall. Never used the hot tub. My husband and teenage son had great running from the hotel.

There was a large (10−15?) Japanese running group staying there, and when I went to put our ice block into the upstairs kitchen freezer, I was pretty surprised by the strong smells of the food being cooked for them: this might have been problematic if our room was upstairs as it permeated the whole hallway.

Breakfast was somewhat disappointing: coffee wasn't ready either morning at 7, there was no fresh fruit excpet bananas, the juice ran out by 7:10 AM and was not readily replaced. However they had great mini-oat/berry scones, some mini cinnamon rolls that our teenagers seemed to enjoy, as well as cereals, peanut butter, teas, and oatmeal. It was sufficient for our needs.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room on the lower level - spacious with 2 queens, a sofa, a table & chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I can't say enough about this cute little hotel. If you like to feel like you are in a home environment, this hotel is for you. We arrived quite early for check in, not expecting to be able to get into our room at all. To our surprise they accomodated us with out thinking twice. We were directed to our cool, (it had been 100 degrees that day) clean, nice size room. bonus was the refrigerator in the room.
I paid cash for the room and the credit card that I used to hold the room was credit back very quickly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisakatherine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Co
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had the oportunity to stay with these folks at Boulder Twin Lakes, a few months ago. I just wanted to say that the location, continental breakfast, the rooms and more importantly the front desk staff made this an amzing business trip for me. I would highly recommend this Hotel for a nice family atmosphere with great amenities, and at competitive prices as well.

-Robert Marsden

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32RobertM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pros:
spacious room -
comfortable furniture (excepting bed issue, see below)
safe/secure/quiet neighborhood
competent staff
inexpensive and very good value


Cons:
1. The beds in our room (208) had wood at the foot of the bed, at the level of the mattress. Depending on how tall you are or how this affects you, it can be uncomfortable and cause you to sleep diagonally, which may present issues for you and your bed partner. This will be an issue only for some people, and may not be relevant for all the rooms - you could ask. Not a dealbreaker - I'd stay here again - but worth knowing if you are 6'1" or taller.

2. The breakfast was one place where I missed being in a chain hotel. One morning there was no more coffee, and while I certainly could have found someone (no one is in attendance in the breakfast room) and had more coffee made, I was in a hurry and just did without. The bread is presented in the plastic bag it comes in from the supermarket, so when you reach in to take your slices to toast, you (or me, anyway) think about everybody's else's germy hands handling the bread.....I would have preferred the sterility of a Comfort Inn plastic holder with plastic tongs in this matter...

But overall, very good value , comfortable, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megamyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There's nothing fancy about Twin Lakes Inn. But the bed is terrific, and it has a kitchenette--vital for me since I don't want to go our for all my meals. There's also a generous cold breakfast every day that includes fresh fruit salad and boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, hot coffee, etc.

The walking is great--there's access to the Twin Lakes trails a block away. One of the lakes is fenced and dogs can play unleashed there. You can easily bike to Boulder, or drive there in ten minutes maximum.

It's a great place for anyone who wants an inexpensive place to stay in the Boulder area. I will recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Talk to them about your needs. I came here to work on a project and brought a portable table; they p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpj1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#16 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#4 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Property: Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#9 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing