We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for the un-fastidious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent value for the un-fastidious”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Located in a residential area, a bit far from the center, we were happy our GPS has been able to take us there in the dark. The hotel is seemingly converted office building. The price was right and hotels closer to the city center were all booked. It is most definitely not Super8 even. The room was quite large with the sink in the room. There was a desk, a fridge, all in the room like a studio apartment in New York. It was clean, and we have no complaints, but somehow unusual. Since we arrived late, the key was waiting for us in an envelope, and in the morning we have deposited signed bill in an envelope and dropped on the desk. We have not encountered a receptionist throughout our 1 night stay. Overall, we were satisfied but a bit mystified.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    82
    39
    9
    15
See reviews for
107
80
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

i reached at midnight and the keys were kept in the front desk. what i like: the service is prompt and good. The inn keepers are always there whenever you need to call 'em. They provide complementary breakfast and it was also nice. the rooms are clean. They have a kitchen which the guests can use. And there are two bookshelves, and a computer with internet connection which the guests can use.Wifi was also there. Overall it was a nice experience staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid October while on vacation. It was reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. The room was designed as if I were staying at someone's home. My husband and I loved it.It was definitely a more unique experience than when I have stayed at a chain hotel and I liked the coziness of the room alot. It is in a residential area with a beautiful walking trail in either direction and quiet at night because you arent on a main road listening to cars drive by.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This place was hard to find at night. The room had a crazy set-up. There was a kitchen counter and cabinets. A kitchen sink and right beside it on the counter was a small bathroom sink because there wasn’t one in the bathroom. The breakfast was mediocre. The hot water for tea was lukewarm and had to be warmed in the microwave. No one was attending the breakfast room and there was a kitchen sink piled high with dirty dishes. Thank goodness we were only going to stay there one night before going on our tour of Colorado.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juniemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed here in late September for a business trip. I was encouraged by the positive reviews on trip advisor, and I was not disappointed. Hotel staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and hotel is quiet. A few minor complaints: 1) Don't be fooled by the bucolic pics on the website homepage; this hotel is not in the most scenic area. It's basically a renovated office building in a residential area. That being said, there's a lovely park and jogging trail nearby. 2) The front desk is almost never manned. There is a phone number you can call, however, and staff are always in the building and very responsive. 3) It's a bit of a schlep to downtown boulder (~10 minute drive), so if you want to be in the center of the action, this probably isn't the place for you.

That being said, I had a lovely 2-night stay here, and would stay here again, especially for the price.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank skyvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This motel is a converted subdivision office building. Park and trail nearby.
Room was clean, though one of the in-room coffee cups had dried coffee in the bottom. The in-room coffee service had decaf only, regular not replenished.
The young host couple very friendly.
The breakfast was disappointing. At 9 (served to 10), coffee out, juice out, fruit salad out. In the 15 or so minutes we were there, no staff came by to check. (copied from my hotels.com review)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je_stcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed there 1 night over Labor Day weekend, no minimum stay required. Nice residential location, comfortable room & breakfast was good. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
5.0 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
4.8 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
941 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#10 of 20 in Boulder
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Twin Lakes Inn

Property: Boulder Twin Lakes Inn
Address: 6485 Twin Lakes Rd, Boulder, CO 80301-3185 (Formerly Sandy Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#9 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, very quiet, modern country Inn, located in the heart of Boulder high tech companies, adjacent to a park and lots of trails. Complimentary breakfast buffet, local newspaper, high speed internet, business center, hot tub and athletic club are just few of the amenities. We offer great rates for extended stays and have a communal kitchen for guests and all rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, plus all utensils and dishes. A great place to stay in Boulder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boulder Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Twin Lakes Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing