We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Horrible housekeeping” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boulder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Boulder
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
lake oswego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Horrible housekeeping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are Marriott Reward Members. The main workers at this hotel are nice. The housekeeping service is beyond horrendous. I have been here 3 days. They didn't leave toilet paper and I had to call on two of the days. Today I was exhausted and laid down for a nap, but first put the Do Not Disturb magnet on the door, and the housekeeper pounded on the door then started coming in despite the sign. The room is not clean. Would absolutely not stay here again. The room itself is also awful, though the kitchen area is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
My sincere apologies for your bad experience with our housekeeping. Our 91.8% cleanliness of suite score on our Guest Satisfaction Surveys is more typcal of what our guests experience. There is simply no excuse to explain why you did not recieve exceptional service in every aspect of your stay. We did have a misunderstanding with a guest in building 11 this week, stating that he left the no service magnet on his door but told the housekeeper that he really did want service, so the housekeeper entered the suite. I believe that may have been your family and I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    109
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
109
53
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to stay at The Residence Inn during our one night in Boulder and were disappointed in this choice. While it garners above average ratings on this site, among others, I would describe the model and the specifics of what is offered as underwhelming and outdated. The rooms lack a freshness and are designed to emphasize the requirements of a long term occupant - the kitchen for example dominates the space while the balance of the quarters feel stingy and plain like a motel room that missed the last renovation cycle.
It's location is off the beaten track if that matters. The staff is pleasant and very helpful despite having little to work with.
All in all, an overvalued evening for what the Marriott is offering.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am sorry that your one night in Boulder was disappointing. You are correct in that the suite is designed to meet the unique needs of longer term stays who require a kitchen and more living space. I appreciate your comments on our pleasant staff and apologize that we were not able to provide you with a more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I are Gold Marriott Rewards members, so we have stayed in quite a variety of Marriott owned hotels. I want to begin by saying the people working here were very friendly and tried to help us as much as possible. Everything else was bad. The first room we were offered was a wooden fence away from a highway. As we went up the stairs (there are all individual buildings with approx. 8 rooms per building, all with outside entrances) we were met by cigarette butts and a cigar butt on the steps. We went in the room, closed the door, and could still hear the traffic, plus the room was a little musty. We went back to the office asking if there were any other rooms available, they informed us they were quite full because of an event at the local college. They offered us another room that was across from the pool and away from the highway, but this room had such a strong odor that my eyes were watering as soon as we opened the door. The front office people attributed the smell to the carpets just being deep cleaned; it smelled like they did a deep cleaning then sprayed the room with a strong floral air freshener. They offered us either of these 2 rooms and then said they could move us to another room the next day. We were staying in Boulder for 5 nights (planning to stay all 5 nights here) and we really did not want to stay here, in any room, after seeing the first 2 they offered. We made the reservations quite a few months in advance and we were using rewards points. I'm not sure if either of these things made a difference in our situation, I just thought it was a shame that there was not a nicer room for us. I was looking forward to the outdoor pool, on-site laundry, and free bike rentals. Instead we stayed at the Boulder Marriott which was quite convenient, very nice, very clean, awesome staff.
Be careful when selecting this Motel. Does not live up to the Marriott standards. Not sure how it got such a good rating; maybe I'm just a hotel snob, but this place just felt trashy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitiesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
My sincere apologies that we were not able to provide you with a suitable suite for your stay. Your experience is not at all representative of what our guests typically experience. I was shocked and embarrased by your photos and have used your feedback to improve our processes of room inspections. I can understand why you were disappointed with our hotel and am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. I would value the opportuntiy to regain your confidance in our hotel and invite you to call me personally to discuss how we can make that happen. Thank you!
Cathy Rothweiler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second stay here but it's definitely a mixed bag. It is convenient to our son's apartment and we needed a second bedroom, but that is one of the problems. The 2-bedroom "penthouse" is not really 2 bedrooms, but rather 1 bedroom and a loft. The person in the loft has no privacy and if folks are in the "living room" area with the lights on and talking, then the person who is trying to sleep in the loft can't. The Residence Inn in Longmont has 2 true bedrooms and is significantly less expensive than the Boulder location, but of course it's in Longmont, not Boulder. That hotel worked out better for us, except for the location.

Another problem is the loud plumbing. I was awakened every morning at 6am by the loud plumbing of the shower next door. Not fun.

We also requested a quiet room not on Foothills Pkwy. Well, they didn't put us on Foothill but they did put us on Valmont, facing a parking lot where there was loud construction going on for several days, all day long. Landscapers were cutting stones...very loud. When I asked why they put us there after I requested a quiet room over 2 months ago, they said that they can't and won't assign rooms when reservations are made, but only when the arrival date comes and they see what's available. So unfortunately there's no way to request a specific room in the buildings not on Valmont or Foothill--they are unable to do that. You definitely take your chances.

The breakfast room is also totally inadequate for the numbers of people who stay there. Best bet is to carry food to your room.

Finally, the staff is very friendly--even if they are unable to do anything about loud plumbing and loud room location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on Foothills Parkway and Valmont. But since they won't assign rooms until you check...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MRR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Was staying here for 3 nights. The room (studio) is big enough, outstanding kitchen and etc, although the bathroom is small. The price is a bit high, I think. BTW, you can check out bike freely from the hotel. That is one big plus. Oh, the breakfast is very good, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbocg, General Manager at Residence Inn Boulder, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your response and I am so glad to hear you were happy with your choice of hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had our semi-annual Peace Corps reunion here and it turned out to be a great decision. We wanted a location that gave everyone a variety of options to things to do during the day, and which had a good gathering spot in the evening. The room was clean and well-appointed; the kitchen had a full-size fridge, stove and dishwasher, so if you don't want to eat out, you have the option of cooking in. The hotel is about a 10-minute drive to the Pearl Street pedestrian mall, the Celestial Seasonings factory, and all the main hiking trails. The picnic area turned out to be perfect for our evening meals and when a thunderstorm came through on Saturday night, the hotel staff was gracious enough to let us move the party into the breakfast area.

The hotel staff is great and accommodating. My two (small) criticisms of the hotel are that the tub and toilet area of the bathroom are very small and the hotel street signage is not very big.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K8TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location to all the attractions of Boulder, without being in the middle of it.
We stayed 6 nights, and we like to have more space and a kitchen. The breakfasts there were great. The best oatmeal I have had.
The staff is super helpful and friendly. I asked for a quieter location away from the main road, and they were very accommodating.
The a/c is noisy. We had it on quite a bit because it was in the 90's.
On Wed. evening during the summer, they have a cookout by the pool. It was perfect, because we had just done a 10 mile hike in the heat, and we didn't feel like going out.
Good burgers and veggie burgers, plus sides with wine and beer.

They also have a good fitness room.

Their hospitality is terrific! They really do everything to make your stay as nice as possible.
If you want more room, without the frills, but still close to everything, it is a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxdog317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boulder
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#10 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boulder

Property: Residence Inn Boulder
Address: 3030 Center Green Dr, Boulder, CO 80301
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boulder
#6 Business Hotel in Boulder
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boulder 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Boulder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boulder Hotel Boulder
Boulder Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing