We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Down Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Harvest House
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Going Down Hill”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here because it was the "official" hotel for a wedding. I had been here several years ago on business and had positive memories. It has gone down hill, or perhaps it is still the way it was a decade ago. The hotel could sure use some new paint and updated furniture. Our room was on the second floor and the air conditioning compressors would go on and off all night long. In an attempt to hide this, they had put up a wooden fence along the patios. All the fence did was destroy the view. One good thing is the location. The back of the Harvest house is right on Boulder Creek and the excellent walking trails that follow the creek. Just a few blocks on the path is a lovely park with a good play area for the little ones.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    131
    214
    228
    192
See reviews for
230
167
57
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We thought the hotel was very nice. The rooms were redone and the beds were great. All the staff was extremely helpful. We really enjoyed the grounds, as they were very beautiful. The hotel has had many additions, so getting to your room is a bit of a maze, but overall enjoyed it all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodmanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

It's puzzling why the Millennium doesn't simply update its carpeting and paint in the hallways of the West Wing. This hotels has nice rooms and good amenities in an excellent location. You can walk on the beautiful Boulder Creek Path right from here (and the place rents bikes too), the pool is nice, and it's right near CU. But the worn feeling of the West Wing hallways makes it feel a little creepy. I ended up here after booking two nights through Hotwire for $69 for a 3-star hotel for Sept. 19 and 20 during a non-CU football weekend. The rooms were going for $150. I stayed in Boulder on a night-by-night basis for four more nights, booking a 3-star $69 Boulder hotel via Hotwire each night and getting the MIllennium every time except the last night. The MIllennium had two large groups coming in on Thursday and took itself off the Hotwire rate and there were no more 3-star hotels on Hotwire (I got a 2 1/2 star hotel for $59 at the perfectly fine Days Inn for that night, not as good a location). I agree that the lack of free Wifi in all the rooms no matter the rate is ridiculous in 2009, though I encountered the same thing later in this trip at the 3 1/2 star Marriott in Fort Collins: internet was extra if you booked a cheap rate. The internet worked fine in the lobby, however, where plenty of guests were using it. I agree that this is not a 3-star hotel at this point, but I would stay here anytime for $69 for the location, the access to the creek path, and the comfy rooms (no fridge, but I loved the cushy comforters; it was odd that the bottom sheets weren't fitted and did tend to come off, as one reviewer said).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I ended up staying here for 5 days because I got a great rate through Priceline for what is supposedly a three star hotel. I'm not sure how it got that rating - I was extremely disappointed.

They did let me check-in early on the first day; however, the first room they put me in was probably rarely occupied anyway. It was on the top level of the hotel, was slightly bigger that a broom closet, and full of flies. Apparently there are no screens in any of the rooms and so if someone opens a window flies get in. When I got to this room the window was closed and the air was off, so it was extremely stuffy and all the flies that had gotten in were flying around the room. Additionally, this room was right next to the exit, which is a safety concern for women traveling alone. When I called down to tell them the room was full of flies, they did not apologize - they grudgingly gave me a better room on the second floor.

Let me also say that there was not a bell hop to be found and there was no offer to help me with luggage upon check-in.

The second room was not bad. However, it was apparent that the room had not been completely cleaned before I got up there. There was a dirty towel on the floor and a hairy bar of soap in the shower. This was extremely disgusting, but the sheets looked clean and I didn't want to lug all of my stuff to yet another room.

The only other issue I had with the room was the fact that it overlooks a parking lot that is used as a hangout. There were teenagers right beneath my room every night until about 10pm. Not a big issue, but something to be aware of.

On the other hand, the location is great. About a block from the University of Colorado, which is why I think it seems to be a pretty popular hotel. Aside from the location, I can't imagine there'd be any other reason to choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnVaca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boulder hotels

denver
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I wanted to personnally thank the entire staff for a tremendous stay!! My daughter was married this last Friday and I believe we had over 40 rooms. Every aspect of our stay was flawless,despite what others have said in their reviews this hotel gets a 5 thumbs up from all of us

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahappydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I was at the hotel for a nearby business meeting. The price was ok. Checkin was easy. The staff was friendly and helpful. I did not try the restaurant but the menu looked fine. Internet access was free and fast. Wireless works in the lower floors but in my room I needed a cable (which is provided).

For a business traveler, the location was good. There is a plaza right next door with a grocery store and a coffee shop and some nice restaurants a block away.

I had a good view facing west, especially nice in the morning when the mountains lit up in the early light. There is a great walking/running biking trail running alongside a beautiful little stream. I recommend you spend some time on that trail in the morning - very relaxing.

There is an indoor pool with nice places to sit inside and outside.

The bathrooms were clean but the fixtures need an update. For example, I had to crouch down to get under the shower head - and I am not a giant.

The only real complain I had was about the exercise room. Probably about 300 sq feet of space with about a dozen pieces of equipment - treadmills, elliptical, weights, etc. But it was stifling hot and the only ventilation seemed to be two large floor fans. And there were no towels. Instead of using this exercise room, use the running trail instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was one of the stranger experiences I've had with a hotel, although I was kind of expecting it after reading some of the other reviews. I booked through priceline and was first put in the "west wing", which is actually a completely separate building, and feels like a 1-star budget motel (the rooms aren't as bad, but the bldg itself, and the hallways, etc are). Low ceilings, stained carpet, etc. However, I asked at the desk if I could stay in the main building, and they were able to switch me for my second night, and after that it was much nicer...The beds were comfortable, with nice down comforters (one strange thing, though...in both buildings, the bottom sheets weren't fitted, and kept sliding off to reveal bare mattress).

So overall, very friendly staff, nice enough room, nice pool (I definitely disagree with the other reviews that said it was gross...there were a few leaves but overall very pretty and enjoyable, esp the huge hot tub), just be aware of the "west wing" phenomenon. Also the lack of reliable internet unless you pay $10, which seems ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prwnkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderManagement, Manager at Millennium Harvest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and we are very happy to hear that, overall, you had a positive experience with us. I would like to clear up one misconception in regards to our West Wing. This wing is not a separate building, as the whole property is connected. There are outdoor entrances, to help with ease of parking, but it is connected to the main building.
Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#14 of 23 in Boulder
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulder University Inn
Boulder University Inn
#8 of 23 in Boulder
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Harvest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Harvest House

Property: Millennium Harvest House
Address: 1345 28th St, Boulder, CO 80302-6899
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Harvest House 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort atmosphere featuring 16 acres of grounds, indoor/outdoor tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, and a fully-equipped business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Harvest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Harvest House Hotel Boulder
Millennium Harvest Hotel
Millennium Harvest Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing