We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel in Boulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Boulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Boulderado is located right in the center of town, you can walk anywhere from the hotel. The hotel makes a lot of it's heritage and understandably so. This makes for a nice ambiance, and stands out from most hotels. I stayed in the new wing which is still modeled to appear old. My room however had all the modern amenities. The hotel did a great huevos rancheros for breakfast, and you could eat in the bar or the restaurant for dinner, although with Boulder's many eateries just a short walk away there are lots of other choices. The only thing I don't like is that lack of a gym, you do get free membership at a local gym, but its about 5 mins walk away. Even so it's my favourite hotel in Boulder. The St Julien is nicer, but the Boulderado's much cheaper and has a great character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    286
    73
    28
    15
See reviews for
209
280
39
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although we did not stay here, we did want to see this Historic Property. We stopped in on a weekday afternoon and the staff was as nice as they could be. They shared a bit of history on the Hotel and we even were able to ride in the old elevator with the elevator operator and see several of the unoccupied rooms... It is quite a grand old hotel... We stopped for a glass of wine in the downstairs bar during Happy Hour. Fine Wines were 40% off....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I are in Boulder a couple of times a year, and we always stay here. Part of its attraction is its historic significance, and the lobby, with its stained-glass ceiling and dark old wood, is amazingly beautiful. The rooms are always comfortable, although not everyone will appreciate the dark wallpaper and old-fashioned aura, and the housekeeping staff do an outstanding job. The restaurant, Q, is usually excellent, especially for breakfast; they also provide good old-fashioned room service, perfect for when I come back to my room exhausted and my husband has a meeting. It would be impossible to beat the location, just off the fun Pearl Street pedestrian mall and within comfortable walking distance of Boulder's many excellent restaurants. In short, I love any chance I get to stay here!

The only drawback is that, because of the age of the hotel, access to your room is not always easy. The only elevator from the lobby to the upper levels is a tiny 1906 Otis "cage" that has to be operated by a hotel employee, and many rooms have to be accessed by walking across a "skyway" to the annex, where another elevator takes you to the upper levels. Many rooms are then down long halls - lots of walking, made harder if you are not acclimated to the elevation.

A stay at the Boulderado, with all its antique elegance and historic significance, is not one you will forget. I still jump at any chance I get to stay there!

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I needed a place to stay while dealing with the devastating loss of most of my belongings due to the September flooding. While other hotels I have stayed at in the past raised their rates, this hotel gave me a substantial break in the price. Very kind. I was having a difficult time and being home, in a familiar place (Boulder area), was very comforting.

The Hotel Boulderado is such a nice gathering place anyway, like a family home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazzColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richterswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had meetings in down town Boulder and was recommended the Boulderado for convenience. My room was in the newer part of the hotel and I am led to believe that these rooms are larger and better appointed. Really friendly and helpful staff and a couple, a good bar and restaurant onsite and I would happily go back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the older section, as the rooms are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

After our wedding in Estes was cancelled a week ago, the hotel boulderado did an outstanding job, planning our wedding reception and ceremony. I can't say enough about their friendly service and professionalism. We stayed in. The new wing. We had a 2 queen suite which was very spacious with a lovely mountain view and a king single. My daughter received a complimentary presidential suite on. Her wedding night. Beverly and her entire banquet staff were outstanding. The food was delicious too. Beautiful decor throughout the hotel. They were so accommodating with wedding room rates, early check-in, etc. location is the best. Walk one block and you are in downtown boulder. For hiking there is a trail called Encinitas a five minute drive away. I highly recommend the Boulderado

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DMKIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

With 1,000 year rains washing out all roads in and out of Estes Park we found that we had to replan a wedding we’d been working on for a year in 24 hours!!! Enter the Hotel Boulderado… From the initial phone call to inquire about availability to the final minutes of post wedding cleanup, the staff at the Boulderado was exceptional. Everyone from the sales Manager, Melissa, to the wait staff, A/V team and bartenders were professional, compassionate, detail oriented, efficient, helpful and amazingly easy to work with. The attentive staff made our quickly cobbled together wedding run flawlessly. Thanks to the Boulderado for an amazing plan B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Property: Hotel Boulderado
Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing