We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed here for a long wedding weekend in June. The hotel is beautiful and charming and the people are exceptionally nice and helpful. The room was charming with a nicely redone bathroom. It was in the old part and right on 13th, so it was noisy with the windows open--but fine if they were closed. Also--we were on the 4th floor and in the old wing, there is one (100 year old) elevator operated by a hotel employee, so sometimes there is a bit of a wait.
The location is extremely convenient and we could walk everywhere.

We enjoyed breakfast there very much and really enjoyed having a glass of wine at the bar---the bartender is very knowledgable. We had dinner one night at Frasca which was simply divine.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — elevator wait
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    297
    76
    31
    18
See reviews for
226
293
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Hotel Boulderado is a beautifully renovated historical hotel right in the center of Boulder. It is about one block away from the Pearl Street shopiing mall where young and old alike can find everything from old fashioned candy to the latest clothes trends.
The majority of the staff were students at one of the universities; they were helpful and fun.
The valet parking service was very nice and low key.
Everyone was genuinely pleasant and happy to welcome us.
Room service was on the dot each morning and again very low key.The breakfasts were so big they were hard to finish!
Rooms were spotless and very roomy - we were actually upgraded to a suite, which had a whole separate sitting room with frig, sink, etc. The old building is gorgeous, so be sure to stay in that part of the building. Weddings are often held here and once you come you will see why.
I have stayed in numerous spots in Colorado and this one does it right!

Helpful?
1 Thank tufengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2008

The location of the hotel was great. The room, however, was not so great. The carpet looks worn, and the room decor appears tired. There was a thick layer of dust under the entertainment armoire; obviously, the cleaning staff was not so thorough. The location of the room was adjacent to hotel generators, which kicked on around 2 AM. I had to turn on the room air conditioner to drown out the noise. The front desk staff was rude when I politely informed them of the generator issue. I was disappointed that the Boulderado did not supply bath robes. I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Landrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location in the center of downtown Boulder. The staff is one of the best we have ever experienced. Any concern was quickly addressed. The restaurant Q is one of the best in Boulder. This was our second stay at the Boulderado and we highly recommend.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ATravelingVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

I stayed in the new wing. The bathrooms were fine, all new fixtures etc, it just looked pretty generic. The room itself was large, had a mini fridge, etc..

The rooms are decorated I am sure to reflect the hotel's historic nature, but it looks like someone's grandmother decorated the rooms, with white bedspreads that look lacy with frings around the edges, all dark wood, victorian looking chairs, etc. Again, nothing wrong with the furnishings at all, they just weren't my style.

Hotel is right near the pedestrian shopping arcade and is convenient to pretty much everything. The restaurant served good food, and the banquet staff was very accommodating of our requests.

The valet parking lot fills fast, especially if they are hosting an event, so beware of that.

Also, in what I think is a nice touch, the business center allows you to print for free! It was nice to not be charged exhorbitant amounts per page.

Because it is a historic hotel with an addition, the layout is somewhat confusing the first time you try to make it to your room, but after that I had no problems whatsoever.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ConferenceMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We were in Boulder to attend a wedding and stayed at the Boulderado.
We had a queen room in the old part of the hotel. The room was very small, but nicely appointed. It had a large closet in which our luggage would fit in . Friends travelling with us stayed in a double queen room in the new part of the hotel and the room was very spacious.
We found the bed very comfortable - we ususally have a hard time sleeping in hotels due to the mattress, but this was not the case here. Of course this is personal preference, as another guest may not have found the beds comfy.
Every employee we encountered was great from the valet to the elevator operator. Everyone was always willing to help.
Had brunch at Qs, whichis in the hotel and was very good.
Location was excellent - just a block away from the Pearl St. Mall and walking distance to CU.
We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Location & the historic charm of the building
  • Disliked — Nothing - liked it all
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent four excellent nights here, using this gorgeous and conveniently-located charmer as our base to learn cross country skiing and then enjoying their classy and well-planned New Year's Eve Gala. All was perfect. Beverly Silva who's been with the hotel for a quarter century, and is now the sales director, was priceless in helping with reservations and coordinating our plans--not to mention with whom to put us in touch on the hotel's staff for equipment rental, ski locations, dining, etc. The staff is well-trained, VERY knowledgeable/friendly/helpful/motivated.
The property is a century old following a compulsive restoration that has left the historic elements in place while all the necessary modern 'stuff' is there, too: We had room #300 in period design with a comfy bed, sitting area, plenty of room---yet, the bath was renovated, bright with new modern fixtures and not at all a squeeze that plagues many historic inns. The pretty 1900's lobby is constantly subject to guests bringing in winter's snow and slush with them but you'd never know it--it was always as clean as could be.

We did not avail ourselves to the room service, but the service and food at the New Year's Eve Party was excellent. ( If you attend this big event--and you should!--the staff will seat you at a private table or a larger one with fellow revelers for a great opportunity to make new friends and enjoy the party together.)

  • Liked — Historic nature, true-to-period renovation
  • Disliked — There is nothing to not like.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WCoastFLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Property: Hotel Boulderado
Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing