We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Standards”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Hotel Boulderado is the historic Queen of downtown Boulder,Colorado. They perfectly combine this 1909 building with modern amenities and great service.Also,the property is immaculate with each room in the historic section being unique in it's period furnishings. But inspite of that there's super comfy bedding, a flat screen TV, and free WIFI streaming throughout. There is flawless attention to detail with even the in room coffee service utilizing a special blend made exclusively for the Boulderado. Room service is available,but it's fun to try the Corner Bar with a nice patio and a friendly mix of local and traveling patrons.

Room Tip: No spa,but they have an arrangement with a one nearby. Try to stay in the historic section,but if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulder1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Spent a night at the boulderado last week and can't fault this hotel. Tons of history and a really homey feel. All the staff were eager to help especially the door guys who welcome you back each time you step in the door. Room was clean, beds comfortable and well sized the view from the room was nothing special given some of the scenery on offer so try and get something higher up if you want to spend time looking out the window. Location is superb one block back from Pearl street and about 4 blocks from the river trail so the heart of boulder and all it has to offer is just a short walk away. Like I say can't really fault this hotel other than to say it is a bit pricey but that's what you pay for a great location. When I'm next in town I will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Old style hotel, large old fashioned rooms, huge entrance area. Needs constant maintenance. The service is average though and, as everything else in this little Colorado town, incredibly overrated. For a bit more, afford the St Julien... ah, breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanixNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel over this past Labor Day weekend. My friend got married here and it was awesome! My husband and I were in the historic section- room 517. Apparently, this is the room that the suicide was committed in in the early 1900s. The story you read about on-line about the man who killed himself with chloroflor (sp?) while his wife was in the bathroom. When his wife got out of the tub, she found her husband dead and tried to kill herself- and failed. We did not see any ghosts or notice anyting strange- even though we were in the haunted room. Not sure if I believe all the hype, but it was a fun experience. The original Otis elevator was fun to ride in. I really felt like I was back in time- the hotel is VERY clean and nice. The wedding was magical and the staff is excellent. I would come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

1910 historic hotel with additional modern wing, and Victorian type furnishings more comfortable than the originals. Grand lobby with stained glass ceiling. Old elevator requires attendant to operate and the attentive staff makes that work fine for guests, while many seemed to enjoy using the wide wood stairs for a change. Try the great bars in the Corner Bar and Q Restaurant. Breakfast at Q at table on the porch was excellent. One short block to Pearl Street - This hotel is a comfortable classic in a great town. For breakfast try Snooze and Lucile's, for brunch Brassier 1010, Med for lunch. Salt Restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaconvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

From the second we showed up, we were swarmed by helpful employees. We were early, so our room wasn't ready, but the valet scooped up our luggage and whisked it away. The hotel called my cell about a half hour later to let us know the room was ready. Our luggage was in the room and, oh, the room was lovely. Beautifully appointed with period pieces, but updated so it was comfortable while not wrecking the 19th century ambience. The staff was first rate and everyone had been to smile school. Also really handy to the Pearl St. Mall. Everyone hit their marks!

Stayed: August 2012
Thank teeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Many yaers ago (more than 25) I found myself stuck in Boulder for several weeks on a work assignment. The best bit about that trip was the Boulderado hotel. Just recently I have had the opportunity to revisit for the first time since that long stay.

I have to admt to being a fan of this hotel, something about the combination of old and new that works for me. The lobby is a work of art and the owners have done a good job in mainataining some of the historical ambiance. We stayed in one of the rooms in the new wing, not a lot to say really, very pleasant but not exceptional modern hotel room with all the usual amenities done to a reasonably high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Address: 2115 13th St, Boulder, CO 80302-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: $191 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing