We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Room??”
Review of Hotel Boulderado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boulderado
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ladera Ranch, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haunted Room??”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel over this past Labor Day weekend. My friend got married here and it was awesome! My husband and I were in the historic section- room 517. Apparently, this is the room that the suicide was committed in in the early 1900s. The story you read about on-line about the man who killed himself with chloroflor (sp?) while his wife was in the bathroom. When his wife got out of the tub, she found her husband dead and tried to kill herself- and failed. We did not see any ghosts or notice anyting strange- even though we were in the haunted room. Not sure if I believe all the hype, but it was a fun experience. The original Otis elevator was fun to ride in. I really felt like I was back in time- the hotel is VERY clean and nice. The wedding was magical and the staff is excellent. I would come back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    306
    81
    37
    19
See reviews for
249
315
44
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

1910 historic hotel with additional modern wing, and Victorian type furnishings more comfortable than the originals. Grand lobby with stained glass ceiling. Old elevator requires attendant to operate and the attentive staff makes that work fine for guests, while many seemed to enjoy using the wide wood stairs for a change. Try the great bars in the Corner Bar and Q Restaurant. Breakfast at Q at table on the porch was excellent. One short block to Pearl Street - This hotel is a comfortable classic in a great town. For breakfast try Snooze and Lucile's, for brunch Brassier 1010, Med for lunch. Salt Restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaconvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

From the second we showed up, we were swarmed by helpful employees. We were early, so our room wasn't ready, but the valet scooped up our luggage and whisked it away. The hotel called my cell about a half hour later to let us know the room was ready. Our luggage was in the room and, oh, the room was lovely. Beautifully appointed with period pieces, but updated so it was comfortable while not wrecking the 19th century ambience. The staff was first rate and everyone had been to smile school. Also really handy to the Pearl St. Mall. Everyone hit their marks!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank teeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Many yaers ago (more than 25) I found myself stuck in Boulder for several weeks on a work assignment. The best bit about that trip was the Boulderado hotel. Just recently I have had the opportunity to revisit for the first time since that long stay.

I have to admt to being a fan of this hotel, something about the combination of old and new that works for me. The lobby is a work of art and the owners have done a good job in mainataining some of the historical ambiance. We stayed in one of the rooms in the new wing, not a lot to say really, very pleasant but not exceptional modern hotel room with all the usual amenities done to a reasonably high standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We chose Hotel Boulderado for it's location, but we were pleasantly surprised by the old world charm.
The location is really excellent - just 1-2 blocks from Pearl Street and only 4-5 blocks from the 3 restaurants everyone seemed to recommend. Service was excellent - all the valet/reception suggestions were top notch, and staff always seemed proactive to help.
We enjoyed our quaint room in the old wing. It is a little dated, but also had some nice old furniture and a small terrace overlooking the mountains. There was only one room left when we booked, but I would definitely try to stay on the 4th floor as we did.
If you stay, it is certainly worth snooping around as they have some interesting old relics on show to share a bit of the hotel's history. The ceiling in the lobby is stunning, and the spirit of the old world is beautifully preserved despite (I imagine) several renovations since it was built!
If you stay, definitely go to Lucille's for breakfast (Southern, creole, grits & gravy - delicious!!) and for lunch or dinner - Kitchen, Kitchen upstairs, Kitchen next Door, & Salt, all great food.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of the hotel (4) in the old wing. Was really nice - rooms are a little da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, but the rooms are a bit fussy. Victorian style wallpaper and furniture. The rooms are large. No flat screen tv. The bathroom is pretty dated, but clean. The soap provided was small and did not seem to lather. Whether that was the soap or water I don't know.

Also had a room that I had to walk up stairs, through a sky bridge, and then down a very long hall to get to. If you have any type of disability it would be hard.

Parking is valet and free. However sometimes it is hard to find a spot out front to load and unload.

My feeling is that the hotel was okay, but had a lot of little hassles. That said, it probably is the best one near pearl street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you're looking for an authentic place to stay, you'll certainly want to consider this hotel. Plus, if you like a bit of history and a whole lot of rustic, old world charm, you'll certainly enjoy the Boulderado. It was like no place we've ever stayed before. In a good way. My mother and I were in town for my cousin's wedding and we were happy to not only be there for the wonderful occasion, but to get the chance to stay in such a distinctive hotel at such a decent, special event discount rate. Even though we were a little tired from the 4-ish hour flight from Miami and a 45-minite ride from the Denver airport, we were very intrigued and excited by what we discovered. The lobby is chock full of rustic elegance with an elevator originating from the hotel's grand opening in 1909. It needed an operator for us to ride it, but this was more of an amusement than a hassle. It only goes to the second floor, anyhow. We had the fortune of staying in the old wing of the hotel, which is just as lovingly preserved as the aforementioned elevator. We loved the rustic, antique chic look and feel of our room, but it took us a little while to actually get to it as it was literally at the end of a slew of corridors, twists, and turns. It was like staying inside of a vintage maze. We got used to the "commute", however, and the attentive staff had no qualms about running up and down the halls again and again to bring us anything we needed, even something as simple and trivial as a box of tissues. Definitely stay here if you're lucky enough to have the chance. This is a charming hotel in a charming city and this lovely establishment puts your right smack dab in the center of beautiful Boulder.
Oh, and if you're one of the paranormally paranoid folk worried about the hotel being "haunted", I didn't have the pleasure of mingling with or feeling the presence of any spirits.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulderado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulderado

Property: Hotel Boulderado
Address: 2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boulder
#4 Family Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#4 Green Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boulderado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, Hotel Boulderado is an award-winning hotel perfect for all vacations and business trips. The hotel features 160 rooms and suites, plus meeting and event space while the three bars and two restaurants are local favorites. Hotel Boulderado is a Silver Level Green Leader. · P.A.C.E. certified · Electric car charging stations · Award winning recycle program · Towel/linen reuse program · LED light bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boulderado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulderado Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing